• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Mind Games and a No Bake Cookie Recipe

Hi guys! I hope you guys are enjoying your weekend so far. I know I am. Smile

Yesterday, I had a 7 mile run on my schedule that I wanted to get out of the way first thing (aka 10am). I fueled up with a banana topped with 1 tbsp reduced fat peanut butter (2 pts+) before heading out.

006

I was actually pretty excited for yesterday’s run because its been too long since I’ve run outside in the cold weather and I really enjoyed it the last time I did. I got all geared up, headed outside, and started zoning out to my music. As soon as I got to the start of the Mount Vernon Trail where I was planning on running, I saw this:

mount vernon trail

Yeah, no thank you. I am clumsy enough on my own without the assistance of ice, so I immediately turned around and headed back to my apartment for the treadmill to pound out the 7 miles.

Mentally, it was rough. The treadmills only go up to 60 minutes, so I had to break it into two cycles since it takes me 70 minutes to run 7 miles. To keep myself entertained, I kept changing my mind about when I would stop the first cycle and start the second one. Originally I was going to pound out 2 miles and reset it for 50 minutes to finish the last 5, but by tricking myself I somehow ended up waiting until the 57.5 minute mark (5.75 miles) to start the second cycle, and then I only I had to run 1.25 miles on the second one. I understand that this makes me sound totally crazy, but somehow that made the run feel more tolerable and go by relatively fast. When it was over and my clothes were so wet it looked like I jumped in a pool, I stretched for more than 10 minutes – a new record.

008

I’ve never seen 1000+ calories on here before! An exciting moment.

I wanted something to refuel with a good amount of protein, and then I remembered these cookies I came up with the other day that are super simple, quick and delicious. I tweeted about them and was asked for the recipe. Ask and I shall deliver. Smile

No Bake Mini Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (4 pts+ for entire recipe)

I’ve seen several recipes for no bake cookies before using just a few ingredients, and I’ve been wanting to experiment with using peanut flour for things other than just oatmeal or on toast, so I realized this could be the perfect solution for a cookie that would deliver on both taste and on the nutrition front. These cookies are also great because the whole recipe makes 4 small cookies, and you can easily half it to make just 2 little cookies, or multiply it to make a larger batch. I personally don’t do that well having a whole batch of cookies in my house, so for me the small yield is perfect.

Ingredients:

010

  • 2 tbsp peanut flour (15 grams)
  • 2 tbsp rolled oats
  • 2 tsp mini chocolate chips
  • 1 packet truvia
  • dash salt
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp water

To start, combine the peanut flour, salt, and water, and mix it until it forms a peanut butter paste.

012

To that same bowl, add the rest of the ingredients (oats, truvia, chocolate chips)

014

Mix everything together to form your dough.

015

Form into 4 evenly sized dough balls, and place them on a piece of wax paper.

016

For a size reference, here’s my beautifully manicured hand holding one.

018

Now, place them in the freezer for at least 10 minutes and they are ready!

021

That’s it! These babies have 4 pts+ for the whole recipe, so 1 pt+ per cookie if you make them this size. Because of the peanut flour, they have a good amount of protein (8 grams in all 4) so they are actually quite filling as well as totally delicious. You could also use regular PB instead of the peanut flour, but that would affect the points+ value, and you could also try mixing in different things (shredded coconut, raisins, nuts, etc) to change it up a bit.

Do you play mind games with yourself on gym equipment to make it go by faster? Also, what’s your favorite kind of cookie? I love white chocolate chip macadamia nut cookies plus peanut butter kisses, both pretty equally. mmmm.

32 Responses

  1. I definitely play mind games! On my run yesterday, it was telling myself I *only* had to make it to the halfway point, which really makes no sense because it was an out-and-back run. But for some reason thinking of the whole 7 miles seemed overwhelming.

  2. Congrats on the run! 😀 I sometimes have to play mind games with myself on the treadmill. Makes it go by a little faster. 😉

    Those cookies look great and so creative! 😀

  3. Those cookies look delicious! I make something similar with oats and peanut butter, but I’ll have to try and find some peanut flour to try it like this!

    Also, I always try and ‘trick myself’ when I’m working out to make the time go faster!

  4. I hate the 60-minute time limit! What is that?!?! They need to make treadmills for marathoners. lol

    Then again, I don’t think we’re in the average when it comes to mileage per week… ha ha

  5. thanks for posting the recipe! they do look as yummy as they sound! Now I really need to go get some peanut flour!

  6. Yes! I have to play mind games when on the treadmill. The ones at our apartment gym only go up to 30 minutes which drives me insane!

  7. Sweet cookies! I am having fun with peanut flour.

    Here is a link to my peanut flour waffles if you want to give them a try:
    http://findingradiance.com/2011/01/19/recipe-peanut-flour-waffles/

  8. Fantastic job on the run – over 1000 calories! Woot!

  9. I just finished 8 miles on the treadmill. I ran for an hour, which was 5.25 miles for me, then restarted it on the 5K setting, instead of time, to finish the final 2.75 (plus some walking to cool down). I increased my pace each mile for the first 6. Usually for shorter distances (anything less than an hour), I do a lot of intervals to keep from being bored, but I didn’t want to burn out on my long run today.

    Those cookies look yummy! I might sub in some agave for the truvia.

  10. Your photos of food always look so good. I now want bananas with peanut butter. Thanks for sharing! Cheers, Rick

  11. Those look so yummy! I am trying to get some peanut flour but no one ships to PO Boxes (APO)…grrr! I wanted to mention/ask, what kind of reduced fat peanut butter do you use?? I was using the same kind (Skippy Natural and then Smart Balance Natural) I was counting it as 2 pts+ THEN I got a wake-up call and saw it is 3pts+ for 1 Tbsp!!!!! I want to get 1tbsp for 2 pts+ again!!!!!

  12. I play “mind games” too. Often it’s fantasizing about vacations! When I swim I pretend I’m Michael Phelps in the Olympics. That’s pretty motivating!

  13. i love how you got your run in even though you had to do it on the treadmill. sounds like you are doing so good with your diet and exercise-very motivatiing!

  14. ohhhh man i really could go for one of those cookies right now! just showed them to my sister and we’re drooling over them now.

    icey paths = no good! definitely slipped quite a bit the past few weeks with the snow everywhere.

  15. LOVE how you tackled that 7 miles on the treadmill! I know exactly where you were going with the whole, “hey, now I only have 1.25 miles left” towards the end, it makes things so much easier when you play mind games!! and those cookies look so delicious, I would love to buy some peanut flour but I don’t know if I’d have enough control with it, it might cause some peanut overdoses in my household…

    PS: you’re so wise for staying off of the ice, super scary imagining anyone running on that stuff!

  16. This cookie recipe looks great, Beth! I love making “mini” recipes because, as you mentioned, having a full-size batch in my house is never a good idea!

    Do brownies count as cookies? Because if so, Ina Garten’s Outrageous Brownies are definitely my favorite 🙂

    Way to go with the 7 mile run! That’s an awesome start to the week!

  17. Shut up, over 1000 calories?? I’ve never seen that before awesome good for you!!!

  18. […] Mind Games and a No Bake Cookie Recipe […]

  19. I always play mind games with myself on the treadmill, it’s the only way to get through it because the treadmill SUCKS.

    I love the white macadamia cookies too, but my overall all time favorite is oatmeal raisin. It’s my standby and I always go back to it. Yum.

  20. Great job on the indoor run! You don’t sound crazy at all, it is so hard to not get bored on a treadmill and your thought train was completely normal.

    Yummy looking cookies, my favorite flavor is chocolate chip with walnuts or pecans.

  21. Beth,
    I just made these cookies and they are SOOO good! I’m off to make more. 4 was not enough:). Thanks for the recipe!

  22. These look awesome. I’m in love with anything bite sized!

  23. […] was inspired by this recipe from a really neat blog and decided to make my own version. I haven’t tried oats yet, so I’m not ready to add those in, […]

  24. No baked cookies are so perfect here since our oven is not yet fixed. Thanks for posting the recipe. I will surely try this one tomorrow.

  25. […] Mind Games and a No Bake Cookie Recipe […]

  26. Yummy! No bake cookies are the most very easy recipe of cookies. You will not have problems if it turned over bake in the oven. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  27. Nice cookies. I always play mind games otherwise I don’t know how to survive on the treadmills. LOL

  28. […] bake chocolate chip cookies (recipe here) – 1 pt+ […]

  29. […] bake chocolate chip cookies (recipe here) – 1 pt+ […]

  30. Just found your no bake cookie recipe. Love that it has the WW points! Just wanted to share that I always add some vanilla to my no bake cookies. I think it’s the missing link to tasting like actual cookies. 🙂

  31. […] No bake chocolate chip cookies (recipe here) […]

  32. I have to try this!! I am going to have to hunt to find where I can buy me some peanut flour!! I actually have never heard of this product.

Leave a Reply

