• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Holding Harper and February Goals

Hiya!

(Warning: You’ve heard this before…) I cannot BELIEVE it’s February. Where did January go? I’m still having trouble accepting that its 2011, much less than we’re already a month in…Crazy.

Yesterday was an incredible day. Over 4 months after he was born, I finally got to hold my little nephew Harper. I didn’t want to scare him with a flash, so unfortunately the picture itself isn’t that great, but the moment was incredible. 🙂

a 167

A little background for newer readers – Harper was born at 23 weeks, so about 4 months early. It was very devastating because he had a twin, Tristan, who didn’t make it, and the future for Harper was very uncertain. With thoughts and prayers from all over the country, Harper has been a little miracle and just went home the week before last, after 130 long days in the ICN. When he was born, he weighed just 1 pound 3 ounces, and now he is up to 7lbs 3oz, so the size of a newborn. He is thriving at home, and yesterday was the first time I’ve gotten to hold him since his birth, so it was an amazing day for me. I can’t wait to go back and spend more time with him (and my sister). I appreciate all the thoughts and prayers, emails, tweets, comments, and support more than I can express – thank you guys. 🙂

Moving along, now that January is over, let’s look back at what I set out to do last month, and how I measured up on each one. Here were my goals:

  1. Follow Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half-Marathon training plan. I developed my own plan and have been really great about keeping up with it, so I give myself a check plus on this one! I did the 7 mile run this past weekend, have been doing speed training 1-2 times a week, and only missed one run (a 5k pace run) when I was traveling for work for a week.
  2. Stretch. Check! I tried to stretch after every single run and was really good about it. I feel like its now become a habit!
  3. The Shred. I did The Shred 3 times during the month, which isn’t SO bad.
  4. Go back to Bikram at least once. Yup! And it felt GREAT.
  5. Get back in the 160s. I think this goal was a little lofty – I did make a lot of progress with my weight, getting from 181.6 when I joined in December to 170.4 the last time I weighed in, but am not quite in the 160s.
  6. Menu Planning. I was a lot better about this this month, and did cook at home quite a bit.
  7. Recipes. Check! I did 3 new recipes during the 3 weeks I was cooking at home. They are a WW Friendly Lentil Loaf, Homemade Caramelized Red Onion Calzones, and No Bake Cookies,
  8. Read at least one book. I read Almost Single, and am on the market for a new book! Recommendations welcome.

So all in all, I think I did really well with my goals for the month, despite being on the west coast for a week. February Goals are very similar to the ones for January,  with a few additions/adjustments. Here they are:

  1. Continue to following my training plan, building up to a 10 mile run and continuing with speed training.
  2. Continue to stretch after every run for injury prevention.
  3. Try to do The Shred each week on Mondays or Thursdays.
  4. Go back to Bikram at least once.
  5. Get down to 168. Easier said than done now that the longer runs are starting.
  6. Keep up with menu planning, and post 1 new recipe each week since I’m not traveling at all during February.
  7. Read another book.
  8. Focus on going to bed earlier. I’ve been going to bed around midnight or later, and can feel my body rebelling. I need to try to get in bed by 11 the latest so I get 8 hours of sleep whenever possible.
  9. Cash Only Spending Policy. I am going to try to take cash out and spend only cash each week rather than using my debit to control spending.

Whew that feels like a lot to accomplish but February should be a lot calmer than January since I don’t have too much going on.

How was January for you?

29 Responses

  1. Awww, such a cute picture! I’m so glad that Harper is home and healthy =)

    Wow, way to go on following your goals! That’s awesome. I also take out cash as opposed to using my card (on occasion) and I’ve noticed that it makes me more aware of how small purchases can quickly add up!

  2. aww what a cutie! that must have been a great moment for you.

  3. I’m so glad you got to hold Harper. He looks so tiny! I hope your sister is doing well. It must be really hard being at home–and really good too.

  4. Oh Beth, SO happy to hear Harper is home and doing well. I definitely teared up when I read the update & saw the picture. He’s such a cute little peanut!

    Congrats on meeting your goals – it’s one thing to make goals…whole matter altogether to actually accomplish them month after month! go you!

  5. #1. Harper is adorable.
    #2. I can’t wait to try the calzones next week for me and The Boy!!
    #3. I would highly suggest reading any/everything by Jen Lancaster. She has a series of memoirs that are beyond hilarious. I read them during my commute on the train to and from work, and I have had laugh out loud moments that make me look like That Crazy Train Girl. Seriously– for fun, quick reads, these are the best!

  6. January has been kind of a bust so far, but February is a new month!

    Harper is adorable, I’m so glad he is flourishing, he truly is a miracle. Congratulations to you and your family 🙂

  7. Awwww! I’m so glad you got to enjoy time with the nephew! And am SO HAPPY he is doing well!

  8. Harper is SUCH a cutie!! I am so glad he is doing well and gets to go home!

  9. Awww how adorable! 😀

    January was pretty good for me! Have a great February!

  10. Go you for your January goals.

    For me, January seemed to drag and I felt like I was in a rut because of it. I didn’t set any goals for Jan but I am going to for Feb. Look for a post later tonight!

  11. I am so happy for you beautiful little nephew!! I know how hard a loss is, and I am so glad this little trooper pulled through!!! He’ll be running with his Auntie in no time 😉 I set goals each week and have been doing amazing, it feels great to accomplish them!! I feel more motivated than ever and look forward to trying new things and pushing myself to be confident! I get so much motivation reading about your running since I know you started out like I am right now!! Gregory MaGuire has amazing books (Wicked, Son of a Witch), I have read them all-more than twice 🙂

  12. Harper is absolutely adorable! 🙂

  13. Yay, love the picture of you and your nephew!

    Great work on your January, and your goals for February look great!

    January was a good month for me, just a very chaotic one. 🙂

  14. Such a great moment! I’m glad to hear that Harper is doing well at home. 🙂

  15. Ohhhh what a cutie! January was a great month and it is CRAZY that it went by so fast! ahhh! Hello February!

  16. […] rest is here: Holding Harper and February Goals « Beth's Journey ← The Keys to Upper Body Injury Prevention and […]

  17. oh my – Harper is so very precious 🙂

  18. Harper is so adorable and precious! So happy you were finally able to hold him. January was definitely a crazy month, but I think February might be a little quieter!

  19. Yay for Harper being healthy and at home!! You must have been over the moon.

  20. How wonderful that you got to hold your nephew! I like how you set out your goals for the month! That is a great idea that I may incorporate into my own weight loss journey!

  21. So happy for Harper and everyone in your family 🙂

    Books i’ve loved:

    -the kite runner
    – the curious incident of the dog in the nighttime
    – the twilight series 🙂
    -the notebook

  22. So happy to hear that Harper is home and you were able to hold him. My nephew was two months early so I understand what it’s like to wait to hold him.

  23. Hi! So happy to hear that Harper is safe and sound. As for what I did in January, I basically read and shopped online because it was too cold to shop in stores! 🙂

  24. Thats so great you finally got to hold him!

    I did pretty good this month.. re-joined WW online and have lost 6 pounds in two weeks!

    I will be getting peanut flour this weekend!

    I have been thinking about your breakfast cookie, and I was wondering if you think the peanut flour would be a good substitute for protein flour?

    • Ohh that’s a great idea. I’ll have to experiment with that because it calls for peanut butter in addition to the protein powder, so I bet there’s a way to use the peanut flour for both!

  25. […] Holding Harper and February Goals […]

  26. Good luck on your goals this month! Just a quick question… Why do you say it will be harder to get down to 168 now that your longer runs have started?

    • Hi Sarah! I say that because I get really hungry when I run long distances, and I know I’m going to have to eat more to properly refuel. A lot of people actually gain weight when training for a full or half marathon, so I am setting the bar low to try to lose just 2 pounds this month!

  27. The cash only spending policy is so hard! It’s one I try to keep to as well…but I’m not so great on it. I’m also trying to do a half marathon training program and I’m not keeping up with it as well as you. I really hate running inside, but it’s too dark to go outside on my own after work and my running partner was recently injured. Hoping to get in longer runs during daylight hours on weekends and then suck it up and run inside on weekdays. Glad to see you’re keeping up with the schedule!

Leave a Reply

