• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Cranked

Morning and happy hump day to you. Smile

Last night, I got home from work and was in a baaad mood. I walked into my house and everything seemed out of order. Dirty clothes everywhere, things on the floor begging to be vacuumed, mirrors that needed cleaning to even be able to see a reflection – it was just a mess. Whenever I walk into my apartment and its messy like that, I get SO cranky and have a “minor” temper tantrum. It’s best for myself and everyone else if no one is around when that happens… I need to clean everything that’s bothering me immediately or else I can’t relax or do anything else, really.

My solution last night was to run around like a crazy woman cleaning, vacuuming, and maybe a little cursing, and then I went to the gym. I had a 4 miler on my schedule, but for some reason was more interested in doing the intervals on my schedule for tonight, so I switched it up. I did 7-.25 mile intervals at 7.0 mph (8:34 pace), with 5.8 mph recovery (10:20) in between each. I was feeling GOOD during the run, and I even ran the last interval at 7.2 mph (8:19 pace), which is super fast for me. I covered 3.5 miles in 33:04, walked for 5 minutes, and then stretched.

002

Afterwards, I made a batch of quinoa burgers, this time with chickpeas, and they turned out awesome. If you haven’t tried this one yet, do it. So good. Then we watched Grown-Ups (which was really funny but cheesy at the end), and I went to sleep in a much better mood than I was when I first walked in the door after work.

So even though I had a chance to clean the apartment and then work out to get rid of the cranks, there’s not always time to do all that to snap yourself out of a bad mood. Here’s a few ideas to help improve your mood:

  1. Get enough sleep. Being tired is definitely a major source of the cranks for me, which is part of why I put go to bed earlier on my list of February Goals!
  2. Don’t let yourself get too hungry. Tired and hungry are the #1 and #2 reasons I get cranky. Sometimes when I am starting to get a little snippy, Wil will ask me if I’m hungry. It makes me really angry at the time and I always say NO!, but as soon as I have something to eat and my blood sugar regulates I start to feel better almost immediately. And then I normally apologize for snapping.
  3. Write down what is bothering you. Sometimes I’ll even write a “draft” email and just let it all out. Even though I rarely send the email, just getting everything out of my head and into a place where I can read it makes me feel better.
  4. Call someone to vent. A lot of times just saying out loud what is bothering me makes me feel so much better. Similar to writing it down, but if I can step outside and call someone who will pretend to care, it feels good to have let someone else know what’s on my mind.
  5. Go for a 10 minute walk. Fresh air and a change of scenery usually helps me snap out of it pretty quickly.
  6. Give yourself a reality check. Is it really THAT bad? Probably not.
  7. Read or watch something that makes you laugh. As soon as DontEvenReply.com pops up on my screen I cannot stay mad for more than 30 seconds (this one is awesome even if you are feeling great). The Onion or DamnYouAutoCorrect.com are two others that make me laugh every time. Just clicking over for a few minutes makes me forget what was even wrong.

What about you – do you get cranky sometimes? What do you do to snap yourself out of a bad mood?

15 Responses

  1. Haha, Beth! I totally could have written this post =)

    Yeah, I’m the same way. And I get realllly cranky too when I’m hungry or sleepy (or both, ha!). I love this, “My solution last night was to run around like a crazy woman cleaning, vacuuming, and maybe a little cursing…” That’s awesome.

    On the bright side, it looks like you still managed to have a productive day, despite being cranky =)

  2. a glass of wine and a run. works every time.

  3. Whining (usually on Twitter) and beer make me feel better when I’m cranky. Haha.

    I have been meaning to make those quinoa burgers – thanks for refreshing my memory!

  4. I get cranky when my place is in a messy state as well! Cooking/baking, working out, glasses of wine, and long, hot showers always help me get out of my bad mood!

  5. Working out ALWAYS snaps me out of a cranky mood! So does tidying up and calling or texting a friend.

  6. i’m cranky right now and damnyouautocorrect should do the trick 😉 Reading a good book usually helps me too…

  7. I am identical- Nothings sends me into a rage faster than walking in to mess- especially when hubby has been home for several hours…LOL nice to not be the only one!!

  8. I’ve never heard of dontevenreply.com. Just checked it would. hilarious!! the one at the top right now is about running too, so kind of appropriate.

  9. Ooooh cleaning and exercise is a great way to beat a bad mood. Unfortunately I solved mine last night with too much sugar…

    Hope you are feeling better today! Congrats on your fast paces!

  10. Thank you for dontevenreply.com. I have never heard of it and I have been laughing ALL morning! 😀

  11. Yes, I get cranky very easily, especially when I am stressed, tired and hungry, which is a typical combo for me at the end of the day.

    Taking a deep breath and closing my eyes and counting down from ten helps me a lot from freaking over minor things, especially from blowing up at Dan.

    But when that doesn’t help, I know it is time to workout or clean. Those are my zen activities.

  12. An evenning walk is my ‘go to’ when the crankiness hits!!! hehe or a glass of wine 😉

  13. Don’t you hate that feeling? Like there’s no REAL reason to be a Cranky Pants but you just are. Funny I’ve been that way all week!

    Yay for exercising out the crankiness!

  14. I do the exact same thing!! I seriously throw a FIT sometimes out of no where if I come home and am not happy with how clean my house is. Thanks for the great mood boosting tips too – I need them sometimes, especially with all of this snow we have.

  15. Ahhh you got me, I do get cranky sometimes. I think everyone does though. My boyfriend can ALWAYS tell when I’m in a grumpy mood and it’s weird, but usually when he points it out, I snap out of it. Sometimes I just don’t realize I’m cranky till it’s obviously lol

Leave a Reply

