• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

All Good Things

I’m glad you guys enjoyed yesterday’s breakfast ideas post! In case you want to reference it in the future, I’ve put it under the Top Posts tab at the top of the page under Food Related section.  I’ll be putting together a similar list for lunch/dinner and snack ideas, so stay tuned.

Good things are happening up in these parts! I have a lot of random things to share today, so I’m reverting to my (not-so) old ways of putting things in a list form. Here goes!

1.) Check out my baby nephew Harper. Almost 8 pounds, and the cutest baby in the world. My brother-in-law Dan has quite an eye for photography…

Can you believe how amazing he looks? To think he was just over a pound when he was born…

2.) My Beth’s Journey Business Cards arrived yesterday and I could not be happier with how they turned out!

businesscard

What do you think?

3.) I ordered a new camera on Friday and it already arrived!! I had a Canon Powershot SD650, and I loved it, but I’ve had it for over 3 years. It recently started defaulting to the Video Camera setting, so I had to push it violently into regular camera mode, often causing pain in my finger, and often to no avail. I knew it was time for a new one, so randomly on Friday I googled Cannon Powershot, and it linked to the Cannon SD 1300 IS model. I got it for $98 with free shipping, and it arrived on Monday! Can’t beat that! I’ve started messing around with it and so far its taking great pictures and its definitely an upgrade from my last one.

4.) I already accomplished one of my February goals by finishing a book yesterday – Service Included. If you’ve ever worked in the restaurant industry or are interested in it, the book is awesome and a really quick read. I just started it last week and read it to and from work on my metro commute and it went by too quick! So good and makes me want to go back to waitressing! I loved it so.

5.) I made my Lentil Loaf recipe into muffins, and they are so cute and turned out great!! I halved the recipe, and baked them in 4 muffin tins for 25 minutes, and they made 4 pt+ lentil mini muffin loaves. So tasty!


6.) And last, but certainly not least…

Do you see that writing on my shirt?

Polar USA has asked me to be an Ambassador for them for 2011!! I’m so excited to promote a company who’s mission and products I already love and believe in. To boot, they sent me an incredible Welcome Kit including that shirt, plus…

A ton of other Polar Gear! A windbreaker, duffel bag, water bottle, sports towel, wireless transmitter… plus what’s that in the middle?

A red FT7 Polar HRM!! I’m sooooo excited I could scream!

What’s something making you happy today??

43 Responses

  1. Wow, I am SOOO jealous!!!! A new camera plus all that polar gear, wow. Looks like your day is off to a good start so far =)

    Also, I’m glad to see Harper’s doing so well–he’s an adorable baby!

  2. The polar ambassador news is awesome – congrats!

  3. Harper is adorbs! And growing quickly!

  4. Congrats, Beth! That’s awesome!!!

  5. Wow love all that new gear that Polar sent you! Also, Harper is looking great! What an adorable baby!!!

  6. I got new Kitchen Bitch business cards yesterday! So exciting! Looks like we’re making similar strides, although Polar ain’t asking me to be their ambassador 😉 Congrats!

  7. Wow congrats! That’s super exciting.

  8. That is awesome! Congrats! Can’t wait to hear more!

  9. Harper is adorable! Glad he’s doing great.

    Awesome about the Polar Ambassador. I love my Polar F6.

    You look really great, too, and are doing great with your weight loss. I can see it in your face (hopefully that didn’t sound too creepy, LOL).

  10. Nice work on the Polar ambassadorship! I bet you are excited.

  11. I’m going to Pilates tonight! After 2 weeks of cancellation’s due to the bad weather we were having in New York I’m glad tonight’s class is on. Congrat’s on becoming the Polar Ambassador for 2011. You look great in the gear.

  12. Congratulations on the Polar ambassador! I just ordered a FT7 HRM from them and I can not wait to get it!

  13. Baby Harper is BEAUTIFUL! I’m gad he is doing so well!

    Congrats on the polar gig, that is pretty sweet!!

  14. Woo hoo! Congrats on the Polar ambassadorship! (I may have just made up that word?…)

    Harper is SO cute – babies are simply amazing!

  15. What a beautiful baby!! And congrats on the ambassador title. Pretty impressive!

    My new haircut is making me happy today! 🙂

  16. He was only a pound? wow he looks fabulous and oh so cute.

  17. Congrats on the Polar ambassador title. You deserve it! Great pics of your nephew, he’s acutie.

  18. Your nephew is so adorable, so glad to see him doing so well.

  19. I’ll use your list mode to reply 😉

    1. Harper’s looking GREAT! Love the photo!
    2. You got an amazing deal on the camera, way to go!
    3. Congrats on the Polar ambassadorship and new toy…hey, does this mean your old HRM needs a new home? 😉

  20. So much good stuff! I actually got that same camera a few weeks ago and really love it so far!

  21. Congratulations on the ambassadorship! 🙂 How exciting!

  22. Your nephew is sooo cute!! Congrats on the PolarUSA ambassador! They gave you lots of cool stuff. Something that is making me happy today is I had yogurt with granola in it for breakfast and I’m full and feel satisfied. Never thought yogurt would do that!!

  23. Wow — congrats Beth!! I am so jealous of all your Polar gear. I was just talking to Jason about looking at heart rate monitors — I’d love to have one when we really get into marathon training.

    Your nephew is so adorable 🙂

  24. hey Beth! I’m a Polar Ambassador too! I haven’t got my kit yet but I’m excited to see a red FT7. I love red. Congrats!

    I love your business cards too!

  25. re: everything: CONGRATULATIONS!

    Plus, those business cards are sweet 🙂

  26. Shut up! That is the exact HRM I ordered this morning!!!!!! I can’t wait to get it!

  27. Congrats on everything! Your nephew is adorable! I’m glad he’s doing better!

  28. aww your nephew is so cute!!! And what exciting news re Polar!!

  29. Harper is looking great! So adorable! 🙂

    Congratulations on the Polar ambassador! I love my Polar HRM. I use it daily!

    I have the same camera! I’m pretty happy with it! 🙂

  30. Wow! That’s so cool! I’m a teeny bit jealous about the Polar thing because I LOVE my HRM….but I’m 99% happy for you. 🙂 You desire it!

  31. Now THAT is what I call good news! How exciting Beth!!!

  32. Harper’s looking great! I’m so glad you put the breakfast ideas for weight watchers up, can’t wait until you do lunch and dinner, i’ve been bored with my meals lately!

  33. Beth!!!! That is AMAZING!!! I can only hope to acheive such wonderful things through my hard work, determination and persistance!! I am not joking when I say I thought of you yesterday. I was running with some serious lead legs and was seriously on the verge of tears with frustration because I was running along a gorgeous beach board walk and it felt like I was going to collapse. I thought about how you started like me and now you are doing 8 mile days and races, it helped me suck it up to finish my 2 miles. I hope today will be better!! Love the new Polar gear, you are a great rep with a great attitude!!! So glad to see such wonderful things coming your way!!

  34. Love this post!! Your nephew is adorable, you look awesome, and I am going to try your lentil loaves!
    Congrats on your new Polar stuff, I am VERY envious!!!

    Great job!!!!

  35. Congrats on becoming a Polar ambassador! That sounds awesome, and I love the goodies that come with it!

    Unfortunately my 6+ year old Cannon is doing the same thing. Maybe its time for an upgrade?

  36. Cool I like that business card!!! I need a new camera as well.

  37. Congrats Congrats Congrats! That is awesome!

    Harper is adorable and i’m so excited for you!

  38. Hey Beth!! I just got my RED Polar FT7 and I love it! Thanks for all those posts recommending yours I went and got one. LOVE IT!

  39. Congrats on the Polar Ambassadorship! It seems like a perfect fit for you!

  40. Congrats on becoming an ambassador! and now you have two Polars- that means you burn double the calories, right?

  41. that is so awesome… congrats on the Polar gig! 🙂

    love your biz cards, they turned out great!

  42. That is so awesome that you are an ambassador for Polar! Their products are absolutely amazing. My husband and I use no other products. 🙂

    Love your business cards and that sweet picture of Harper!

Leave a Reply

