• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

10k PR and an SGM

Hey guys! Happy weekend to you. Hope you’re enjoying it so far – I know I am. Smile

Yesterday ended up being a super stressful day at work, so afterwards I went out for a drink with Emily, which turned into many more than usual. Over the course of the night, I managed to consume the following:

  • Several glass of cabernet
  • Several vodka sodas (white grape vodka soda was my fav)
  • tuna sashimi appetizer
  • 1/2 a wild mushroom pizza
  • 1/2 an order of sweet potato fries
  • queso dip and chips
  • some strange concoction of oats, peanut butter, and chocolate chips I found traces of this morning.

It’s a good thing I don’t do that too often anymore, but it was a fun night. The good part is that I was home before midnight, which is what happens if you start at 5pm. Here’s a photo of Wil and I towards the end of the evening at the last stop before home.

005

After sleeping it off, I woke up to a gorgeous day and started it with some coffee and Modern Family. How have I never seen this show before? I ordered the first season on Netflix and it is HYSTERICAL. Perfect way to start the day. Not long after, I made a simple breakfast of an omelet with toast.

An egg plus 1/4 cup egg whites, filled with onions, peppers, and mushrooms, and some goat cheese. Plus a slice of Ezekial toast on the side, and an unpictured pear. 6 pts+ total and perfect.

Afterwards, I set out on a run. On my training schedule, I had a 10k down for this weekend, and even though I wasn’t signed up for an official one, I wanted to do the distance race-style by myself and hopefully finish in under an hour. I have tried to finish an official 10k in under an hour before, and I finished in 1hour 1 second, no joke.

Anyways, I started off on the run geared up with my garmin and ipod, and started off a little too fast. I think when I put too much pressure on myself to go a certain speed, I end up screwing myself over and the run becomes a lot less enjoyable. After the first mile, I tried to slow down a bit and was still shooting for under an hour, but just told myself to have fun and enjoy the run.

  • Mile 1: 8:59
  • Mile 2: 9:13
  • Mile 3: 9:25
  • Mile 4: 9:15
  • Mile 5: 9:12
  • Mile 6: 9:28
  • Last .2: 2:02

!!! Not only did I finish in under an hour, I finished in 57:32 with an average pace of 9:16. This is by far the fastest 10k I’ve ever run, and a super fast pace for me. Though sweaty and red, I was beaming when I got home from the run.

Once I took the pressure off myself, I ended up really enjoying the run and still finishing way faster than my goal time. I have to remember to not put pressure on myself on race day for my half marathon and just get out there and have fun. I need to trust that putting in the time training is enough to PR in the half, and realize that nothing good will come off putting too much pressure on myself!

I was craving one thing when I got in… a green monster.

This had 1 cup skim milk, 1 frozen banana, a handful of frozen mixed berries, vanilla extract, and some frozen spinach. It didn’t turn too green though…

So I guess it’s an SGM – semi-green monster? Smile

Is it nice outside where you are? What are you doing to enjoy yourself this weekend? It’s supposed to be 51º and sunny tomorrow and its almost that warm today too! I’m going to try to be outside as much as possible tomorrow, and maybe go play catch with Wil before our Valentine’s day dinner.

16 Responses

  1. What a great run Beth! Way to go getting out there and doing it.

    I tend to do that to myself. If I tell myself I have to “run this fast” or “ride this far” its a lot harder and I usually don’t enjoy my workout. I’m coming to the realization that enjoying the workout is so much more important than putting the pressure on myself and I don’t do it.

    Have a great weekend too! I’m psyched about the weather change!

  2. Way to go!!! I am so proud of you!!

  3. That is awesome!!! Way to go!! I will have to try a green monster one of these days!!! You look so refreshed and healthy in that post run photo, nothing like a good run to bring out the glow :). Looking gooooood, girl!!!! PS. Props for the outstanding run after having drinkies… You are on the ball!

  4. Great job on your run–that is AWESOME!! And you look great too!!!! I had football practice today, complete with full-on tackling for the first time–it was AWESOME!!! Though, I jammed my finger and have several scrapes and bruises–it still rocked!!!!! Now, time for a NAP!!!

  5. You are a speed demon – great run!

    It is 72 in coastal LA, and all the city dwellers are flocking to our beaches and parks. So after having to work this morning, I am chilling and getting caught up on some computer work so that I can spend all day tomorrow outside. 🙂

    Have a great rest of your weekend!

  6. Sounds like you had quite a night of drinks, too! :p And yet we still kicked ass on our runs! Yay us!!!

  7. So glad you found Modern Family! I love that show. Have you seen The Middle? It’s funny too.

  8. Proof that alcohol is the best fuel. 😉 I’m kidding!!!!

    Way to kick that 10K’s butt! 😀 Rock it!

  9. Congrats on your PR! That is awesome!

  10. Glad you had a fun night! We spent the day shopping and eating out with family. I went out hardcore last night too, and now that I’m 29, the hangovers are nasty!

  11. YAY for your 10K PR! Congrats girl! Can I express my deep love for the fact that we run almost the exact same speed during a 10K? Makes me feel so happy haha 😀 and my hubby saw your green monster and now can’t stop thinking about a DQ Blizzard, said it looks like his favorite childhood dream: oreo blizz. I told him I could make a homemade fella, but he doesn’t believe me I guess.

    have a happy weekend, runner!

  12. Nice job on the 10K PR.

    Also, you take the most awesome food photos ever…That omelette looks nothing short of yummy delicious.

    I remember when I used to drink like that….those were the days. (OK, not really) 😉

  13. sometimes it is nice to just go out and eat and drink and relax. i so love modern family! so funny……great run too 🙂

  14. Great work speedy! I love “fun” nights that can still end with an early bedtime!

  15. Great job on the speedy 10k!! And way to go, beating your goal by so much time! I’m running my first 10k in two weeks, and my goal is also to do it in under an hour.

    It’s been beautiful here this weekend. I did a 5k race and a long run yesterday.

  16. Beth, if u remember me (I was as a guest in your family) . U look great!!! But I think yoga is best of all diets. I practise it too.

Leave a Reply

