• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Valentine’s Day: Take Two

Happy Valentine’s Day!! If you’re catching up from the weekend, don’t miss:

As I mentioned yesterday, Wil and I celebrated Valentine’s Day early since he has to work tonight. It’s funny because it was actually our second time celebrating, since we took the girls out for Valentine’s Day this past Thursday. I made that souffle for brunch, relaxed for most of the day, and then we went out to an awesome dinner at Columbia Firehouse, a cute little restaurant in Old Town Alexandria. As we were driving to the restaurant, I couldn’t get over how cute the town is. It’s so close to my house – about 10 minutes – but we rarely, if ever, venture out there for some reason. The whole street was lined with trees with lights still on them.

Adorable!

Wil had picked the restaurant because its an American Brasserie in the same restaurant group as a few other restaurants we really like in the area. We actually had to ask to move tables shortly after we were sat, because they sat us right near the bus station and it was really loud and literally the worst table in the restaurant. After we finally decided to ask them to move us, things got a lot better. Don’t let them sit you in Table 110 if you go. Smile

My date at the new table.

To start, I ordered a glass of Viognier.

Which I sipped on throughout the meal. I volunteered to drive home so it was easy to stick to just one glass.

We started with a sampler of oysters on the half shell and chilled shrimp cocktail.

And they were out of this world. There were two kinds from the East Coast and two kinds from the West Coast, and I have to say I liked both of the west coast oysters better. They were bigger and had a sweeter taste. So good.

Then I had a salad – butter lettuce wedge salad with toasted almonds, craisins, and the goat cheese ranch dressing on the side.

The dressing was too good – I ended up eating almost that whole container of it by dipping my salad in there and couldn’t stop!

For my main course, I went with the scallops, which were supposed to be served over a couscous risotto, which I almost wanted to order just to see what it was like, but I asked for it over the roasted mushrooms instead because for some reason, risotto is not my favorite.

It was garnished with an arugula pesto and was phenomenal. I just love scallops, and these were no expection. Seared to perfection so they were soft and sweet on the inside and basically melted in my mouth.

And what is Valentine’s Day without dessert?

They were out of the Hostess Cupcake, so we ended up ordering an extra Snickers Bar per the waiter’s recommendation – out of this world.

From left to right, a freshly fried doughnut, homemade snickers bar, oatmeal crème pie with passion fruit filling, mint chocolate chip ice cream over an oreo crumble, another snickers bar, and then the Pudding Pop in the back.

I only ended up eating a bite of each, but my favorite, hands down, was the Snickers. I was lucky to have a date who picked up the slack…

Man, so good. I left feeling totally satisfied but NOT stuffed – the perfect way to leave a restaurant in my opinion (and not how I usually leave, but I’m working on it!).

I made Wil take my picture when we got home because I realized I didn’t get one of me at the restaurant.

(Side note: It’s hard to see the detail on that dress, but it has subtle polka dots and a really cute neckline. It was originally $40 at Target, and was marked down to $27. I was debating on whether to get it or not but then decided I can wear it to work too, and when I got up to the register it was on clearance for $9.99!! I was glad I decided to get it!)

Afterwards, we came home and exchanged presents!

The ones wrapped in heart wrapping paper were my gifts for Wil, and the red ones were mine. We decided to set a $50 limit for each other, which made it fun because we got a little creative. I ended up getting him a bottle of nice Bourbon (Knob Creek), a set of cocktail glasses from Crate and Barrel, and two really nice chocolate bars.

I was SUPER impressed with his gifts for me. To start, these adorable bowls – one for each season.

077

So cute, right?

And then, he got me this silicone steamer, which I’m super excited about (I know, I know).

It’s heat resistant so it won’t melt, and also stays cool to the touch. You just put it in any pot/pan that it fits in and then when your veggies/fish/meat are finished steaming, you just grab the handles and pull it out. Also, unpictured, he got me cute black running capris and a matching hoodie. Food and fitness themed gifts – my two favorite things. And, of course, the flowers. Good job, Wil!

I love doing the $50 limit because it means we didn’t break the bank, but it also forced us to be creative with our gift giveage and we both got some great stuff.

Are you big into celebrating Valentine’s Day? Do you have any special traditions or fun things you like to do to celebrate?

17 Responses

  1. Awww..what a cute Valentine’s Day!! I love the dress and I can’t believe it was less than $10!! Wow, you are really good at bargains.

    I love Old Town too, especially the lights on all the trees =)

  2. Super cute dress!
    Ryan and I actually don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day at all – we never really have. We do wish each other a “Happy Valentine’s Day” in the morning and i’m admittedly probably a bit more mushy than usual during the day, but we don’t do gifts or anything. Instead we try to surprise each other randomly throughout the year – we’re pretty much the same with birthdays and anniversaries!

  3. We don’t do gifts or anything, but just enjoy spending time together. He’s actually cooking dinner for me tonight, which is a really nice “gift” !

  4. Wow he found all those gifts for $50? That is awesome!

    I am super jealous of the snickers bar for dessert. I love them so much and I bet a homemade one was out of this world.

    I love your dress and you can’t beat a $9.99 pricetag!

  5. It looks like you two had such a fun romantic date! I HATE getting stuck in bad tables at restaurants… I’m glad you guys asked to be moved 🙂

    And I’m obsessed with oysters… those look amazing!

    Congrats on the PR, Beth! ~I’m totally making the egg souffle tonight!

  6. Oh… and you look phenomenal in that dress! I can totally tell a difference in your pictures since November! Ya just keep getting better and better! So inspiring!

  7. That steamer is a great gift! Love the dress too. I’m a Target girl.

    I don’t really do Valentine’s Day. We exchange cards and thats about it. I like keeping it simple.

  8. Those desserts look amazing!

    I like imposing a limit also, for saving money purposes but also because then you don’t have one person spending a lot more than the other.

  9. Don’t really celebrate V-day. But since it took a few years to get the bf trained to give me cards on B-days and anniversaries I’m not telling him not to get me a V-day Card. 🙂

  10. Happy Valentines day!! Great picture of you and that dress is very cute!! I really liked that steamer, I’ve tried steaming veggies and they just turn into mush!! My husband and I don’t really do anything for Valentines Day just enjoy each others company!!

  11. Valentine’s Day is my daughter’s birthday so we usually celebrate by going out to dinner or something either a day before or after and then we exchange gifts. Today we will have a b-day dinner and cake with the family.

  12. First – those desserts looks scrumptious 🙂

    Second – I LOVE that dress and cant believe it was only $9.99! BARGAIN!

  13. Very cute dress! Don’t you love it when things ring up cheaper at the register?

    My fiance and I celebrated Valentine’s Day on Saturday. We just spent the day together shopping, running errands and then had a wonderful Italian dinner that night, with a huge piece of chocolate mousse cake to finish everything off!

  14. Awww what a lovely dinner! Those desserts look too cute!

    And you look so good in that dress! Rock it girl!

  15. How cute! We had a $5 limit because my husband gets really out of control if I don’t, and I suck at getting gifts, so I feel terrible if we don’t have a low amount. So glad you had fun! We’re heading out in the next hour…

  16. You look super cute in that dress! And Wil did an awesome job with those presents, wow!

  17. those oysters look delish! and loveee the steamer 🙂

Leave a Reply

