• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Wordy Wednesday

Hi guys! Happy Wednesday to you. Smile

As I’ve gotten into the habit of doing on Wednesdays, I have a bunch of random things to share, so here goes!

  1. I lost 1.4 yesterday at my weigh in, making my total 13.8 down since I rejoined Weight Watchers in December! This means I’m only 7.8 pounds from my goal weight, and passed my February goal of hitting 168!! So close I can taste it.
  2. I had a healthy date with my friend Amber last night, and it was SO fun. We hadn’t seen each other in over a month, so she came over for dinner, wine and lots of catching up. We talked for hours!!

     3. Tempeh Tacos – I had been envisioning making tempeh into tacos, and I finally took the plunge last night and they turned out AMAZING. I bought this package the last time I was at Trader Joe’s:

And I literally grated the whole block on a cheese grater until it was all crumbled.

For the taco filling, I heated 1 tbsp of olive oil then added in 1 chopped onion and cooked it for 3-4 minutes. After it was soft and a little translucent, I added in the grated tempeh and a packet of low sodium taco sauce. I let it cook over low heat for 15 minutes and it turned out SO good.

Adding the taco seasoning and onions took the bitterness completely away from the tempeh and the texture of this mixture was out of this world.

The entire pan was 15 pts+, and I divided into three servings (one for each of us and one for lunch) for 5 pts+ per serving. We had it stuffed in corn tortillas, with lettuce, salsa, sour cream, and a huge salad on the side.

4. Exercise wise, this week is going great. I took Sunday as a complete rest day, did Bikram Monday night, and woke up before work Tuesday for a 4.5 mile run. It was a little tough because I was low on fuel from Bikram the night before, but I was so glad to get it over with before work. I also woke up this morning and did my interval training before work, and now I have the night free! (In case you want to keep up with my training, I’ve been updating this spreadsheet daily, and added a second tab with calorie burn on it)

5. I have been digging eating fruit straight out of the freezer lately. Last night I munched on pineapple tidbits and sliced strawberries, and the day before half a banana and some grapes. It takes longer to eat plus it just tastes so good!

6. While Amber was watching me whip around the kitchen last night, she said she really thinks I should start making some YouTube videos with cooking tips and quick meals, because as good as words/pictures are to describe techniques, videos can be even better. Plus, she thinks it’ll make it easier to get my spastic (but awesome) (and modest) personality across.

What are your thoughts on this? Would cooking tips/tricks on video be something you’d be interested in seeing from me?

40 Responses

  1. I think videos are a great idea! They can really be more helpful than photos/ words, because you can actually see/ hear the process.

    Way to go on following through with all your goals! You’re doing so awesome with your exercise plan and you’re so close to your goal weight =) That’s awesome!

  2. I think videos with cooking tips are useful when you are demonstrating something that is hard to explain in print. For example, I like videos demonstrating cake decorating techniques. A video on making drop cookies…not so much.

  3. What a great idea to freeze the fruit. I’m gonna try that.
    Congrats on the lost – that is awesome!
    Great pictures

  4. I agree with Victoria — videos would be awesome as long as you’re really showing something that would be hard to demonstrate in words/pictures alone. Otherwise, you do such a great job of showing your recipes on the blog already!

    And congrats on the loss, too! 🙂

  5. I think you’d be fun on youtube! The personality that you have alone makes me say DO IT.

    I’d probably watch if you heated up a frozen meal in the microwave… lol

  6. I love getting my workouts done in the morning so that I have free time in the evenings! I always feel so much better and have so much more energy for the rest of the day. Wish I could get my lazy butt up to do it every day, but I usually only am motivated enough to do it once a week at most.

  7. Fruit straight out of the freezer is one of my favorite things! I try to freeze fresh but sometimes I just don;t have the time to and buy giant bags at Aldi for supercheap.

  8. I like the way you do recipes now, with words and pics so I can print it out. Videos would be awesome though. Would love to see those too.

  9. Congrats on the loss and making that goal. You’re doing awesome! Cheers, Rick

  10. What a great idea! Maybe next time I’m at the grocery store I’ll pick up some Tempeh and try this!

  11. I love the way you post your recipes now… I think maybe a video chock full of cool tips/tricks would be amazing, but keep in mind that a lot of people can’t watch videos at work (I would assume most readers have some sort of day job).

    My vote is to keep posting the amazing recipes blog style… and maybe do a video every week of some interesting tricks!

    • That was my thought.. just do little tips and tricks but keep the recipes as is. I know I explained the separating the egg trick, but that might be a cute easy little video to do and I can make a separate video tab up top with links to some techniques.

    • I agree with Jessica, love things like they are but a once-a-week vid would be great!

  12. I personally love videos and think this would be a great idea!

  13. congrats on the weight loss! I love healthy dates. I used to be so good about doing them at least once a week with my girlfriends but lately we’ve been slacking. You are inspiring me to get these going again!

  14. Congrats on losing 1.4 lbs! Looks like u had fun with your healthy date too!!

  15. Tempeh Tacos are one of my favorites!

    You will be at your goal in no time!

  16. Fantastic job on your goals – you are almost there.
    I love reading you blog, keep it up!

  17. Hey,
    I love seeing cooking videos with tips and tricks on youtube. When I still lived at home I even had my own cooking channel on youtube (in German though) but since living alone I don’t have a camera anymore.
    You should really do that! I’d love to watch and I bet you’d have fun too! I always did!

  18. What an AMAZING idea! Never thought to use tempeh in taco salad but that sounds SO GOOD!!! I am totally going to try this! 🙂

    I’d love to watch your videos. You are so inspiring so I’m sure they’d be a hit 😉

  19. I like the way you do recipes on the blog now, but videos would totally help too!

    I love the idea of tempeh tacos — maybe I’ll pick some up at TJs tonight!

  20. You go girl!! That is awesome over 13 lbs since December!!

  21. Sounds like the video idea is a hit! Let’s try one for our next “healthy date”. P.S. I just ordered the scale you recommended. Do-it-myself “weight watchers” here I come!

  22. I’m dying to try Tempeh, I never have. I actually have some in the closet at home!

  23. I just cant seem to get a taste for tempeh….

  24. I am sooooo excited for you on your WW success. You are doing so great!

    Would you be open to sharing your points usage breakdown? I have weeks/days where sticking to the 29 is pretty easy, and sometimes even hitting the 29 can be a challenge. But other days, especially when I have really been working out hard, I want to use more points and am always curious about how others use their bonus and/or exercise points.

    If you wouldn’t mind sharing, do you use your exercise points ever? Are you flexible with your daily points, or do you pick a day or two to go over and leave it at that? What have you adopted that has led to your success? 🙂

    • Hey Monica! I don’t mind breaking it down at all. I usually do 5-7 pts+ for breakfast, 6-10 pts+ for lunch, 3-4pts+ for an afternoon snack, and then 10-12ish for dinner/snack depending on how many I have left. Most days I try to stick to the 29 pts+, and then I let myself have a free day or free night and assume I use all my WPs, but I don’t usually actually track it. I’ve gone back and tracked it before and its been way over my WPs, so I just assume they’re all gone. With my training, I’m usually earning 35-45 APs a week, and I only eat them if I need them which is not usually. I eat mostly unprocessed foods, tons of fruits and veggies (usually 6-9+ servings a day) and drink lots of water. Meal planning has helped me a lot to stay on track because i plan things I’m pretty excited to eat, which helps me stick with my eating plan and not feel deprived. Feel free to ask any other questions if you have them – i’m happy to share!

  25. I would love to see some youtube videos! I think the tempeh tacos should be your first because they look GOOD. 🙂

  26. I haven’t had tempeh in ages but this is a great use for it. I think it goes best with saucy or very well seasoned type things – I don’t really like it on it’s own.

  27. I am on Team Youtube Video. Been following you for a few months now and think your awesomely (modest) personality would be a big hit! I would even like to see an exercise video if you are interested in posting. I can be intimidated with exercising, and always worried I am “doing it wrong”. Keep up the great inspiration Beth! 🙂

  28. That is a GREAT idea for tempeh! I have that exact kind sitting in my fridge at home… looks like I know what i’m having for dinner 😉 Thanks!

  29. […] if this is a tempeh thing or a recipe thing, so I will be experimenting with other tempeh recipes (like this one) to see if I can get him to like […]

  30. […] Keep up with menu planning. I’ve done pretty good with this one! New meals included Tempeh Tacos, Skillet Souffle, and Peanut Sauce with Summer […]

  31. […] Tempeh Tacos – Grate a block of tempeh on a cheese grater, and combine with a sautéed onion and a packet of taco seasoning (I love Trader Joe’s brand!). Let cook for about 10 minutes and serve over a salad or with tortillas and all the fixings. (11 pts+ for entire filling recipe) […]

  32. […] Tempeh Tacos – Grate a block of tempeh on a cheese grater, and combine with a sautéed onion and a packet of taco seasoning (I love Trader Joe’s brand!). Let cook for about 10 minutes and serve over a salad or with tortillas and all the fixings. (11 pts+ for entire filling recipe) […]

  33. […] with a serving of tempeh taco filling (which coincidentally takes 15 minutes to make – aka the exact amount of time the bowl bakes […]

  34. […] made Beth’s tempeh taco filling (not exactly, but with what I had on hand) and they were delicious.  This is a great recipe […]

  35. Totally try the taco’s tonight. Have NEVER had tempeh before so am a little nervous! Also I’m going to put them in a lettuce wrap instead of a tortilla wrap. Trying to stay away from starch!

Leave a Reply

