• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Me – 1, Wind – 0

Today I ran the windiest 9 miles of my life. The wind came and went during the run, but there were definitely times where I felt like I was running in place, and then the gust would pass and I would almost fall over. Luckily, I didn’t fall once, but it was a little tougher than a normal long run!

I started off the day with an amazing breakfast, despite the fact that it came out differently than planned. The plan was to make an omelet stuffed with spinach, artichoke, and goat cheese, but the omelet fell apart as I was trying to close it so I just scrambled everything together.

1 egg + 1/4 cup egg whites, scrambled with a handful of frozen artichokes and organic chopped spinach (defrosted in the microwave first), topped with 1/2 oz crumbled goat cheese. On the side I had a piece of Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Sesame toast (my favorite bread) and an orange. 6 pts+ total for the plate – not bad!

After letting that digest a bit, I headed out on the run, a little unsure of how it would go because of the wind. I tried to set realistic expectations – mostly just to finish rather than to have a specific time goal in mind, though underneath it all I was hoping to still keep the pace under 10:00 if at all possible. It’s funny because for my long runs, since I’m doing out and back most of the time, the first half of the run is harder than the second half. I think once I’m past the halfway mark, I’m confident I can finish, and already heading back to the start rather than approaching the turnaround point. I know that seems counterintuitive – its just how my brain works!

I ate my favorite running fuel between mile 5 and 6:

I love these so much that I actually look forward to eating them on my runs and try to space them out a bit so that I have more to look forward to.

When I got home, I felt like a million bucks.

This is the first run I’ve used my Camelbak for in a loooooong time, and I always forget how much I love that thing. It doesn’t move at all during the run and holds my keys, phone, and fuel. Plus its easy to drink from while I’m running, so its perfect. I only put water in it rather than Gatorade or sports drinks so I don’t have to worry about cleaning it often (slash ever…).

When all was said and done, I finished in 1:28:49, or a 9:52 pace! I was so happy to finish with under a 10 minute pace because the wind definitely slowed me down a bit. I finished feeling strong and confident, though I was definitely ready to stop when I hit the 9 mile mark.

Is it windy where you are? Have you ever run, walked, or biked when it was really windy? How’d it turn out?

27 Responses

  1. OMG its soo windy here since last night! we’ve had like 60 mph winds. I live in upstate NY. I cannot wait for it to be over because ive been home all day and have cabin fever and want to get out but I wont go out in this crappy weather. Congrats on your run, you did great! Im going to see if i can find them sports beans for my son for football. Do they sell them everywhere?

    • Hi Missy! Those sports beans can be found at most running/sports stores. I’ve also found them on clearance randomly at TJ Maxx before but that’s hit or miss!

  2. Great run Beth! I ran 8 today…on the treadmill 😦

    Seriously that is a great pace!!! And I love sport beans too — who doesn’t want candy in the middle of a workout?

    By the way I made your egg souffle last night — awesome! I’ll post about it soon. But I wanted you to know it tasted amazing!

  3. Congrats on still getting a kick-ass run in! Yeah- it’s super windy here. Which is really sucking because it wouldn’t be *so* bad temperature-wise if the wind wasn’t an issue.

  4. Good for you! Running in windy conditions is so hard.

    I live really close to the ocean and I feel like it is always windy. I have grown somewhat use to it, but boy does it kill. Plus, I feel like it robs me of my sweat-trophy on cool days. Yes, I am a weirdo that wears my sweaty clothes with pride. 😉

  5. great job on the run!! 🙂

    the wind was killer out today. mad props for running in it!

  6. Since I live a few miles from you, it *is* windy where I am, and I’m super impressed that you ran outside today. Way to go!

  7. whohoo great run; that’s amazing

  8. Yes, it’s sooo windy here in NY!!

    Love the goat cheese on your eggies. YUM!

  9. Running into the wind is HARD! like running through water. Last year when I was training for Reach the Beach we biked on Marine Drive-which was just one big wind tunnel and it was soooo hard.

  10. WOW 9 miles in the wind! We had serious wind here the other day and I ran in it and it was tough!

    You are so inspiring I love to read your posts!

  11. Congrats girl! 🙂 It was sooooo windy in DC the last few days before I left for SC. I was nearly blown over! haha

  12. wow what a great run! that is a rockin pace girl 🙂

  13. I really really want a camelbak!! I think that will have to be my next big fitness purchase. Good job on your run though girl! You rocked it 🙂

  14. hahaha oh my goooshhh I just experienced this madness that is running + wind! Isn’t it awful? I decided there is nothing worse, truly. But you’re amazing for pushing through with such an awesome pace! And artichoke hearts for bfast? I need to try that soon!

  15. I love reading your blog. It makes me look forward to being able to do more active things as my weight comes off. Oh my gosh, 9 miles seems like such a long way to run. You rock!

  16. I almost got blown off my feet more than once this weekend! Waita rock it out on the run!!!

  17. Wait, are you doing the National Half, too??

  18. Omg I heard about the crazy wind, you should be so proud of yourself for running in that!

  19. I had to do my 18 mile long run in that wind too, it was nuts!

    Where do you stash your cell phone in the Camelbak? I have the same Camelbak, but it has a super small pouch. Or maybe my “free with rebate” cell phone is just too big? 🙂

Leave a Reply

