• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Your Questions, Answered

You guys certainly like Chobani as much as I do, huh? Keep those entries coming until 12am EST tomorrow night. And, since there’s been so much interest in the giveaway, the people at Chobani have agreed to let me give TWO sampler packs of the new flavors away instead of just one. Exciting stuff!

One of my favorite parts of giveaways, besides giving things away to my readers of course, is hearing from people who read my blog who are usually just quiet readers. I want to let you guys know that I appreciate each and every one of you – yes, you! If you guys ever have questions, concerns, or are curious about my opinions about anything – PLEASE don’t hesitate to email me (bethklein at gmail dot com) or leave a comment and I’ll be happy to give my opinion/advice/answer to your question (within reason, of course).

So, I thought to kick off this President’s Day holiday (which unfortunately I don’t have off and am working – boo!), I’d answer the first 10 of your questions that were asked during the giveaway. I have a few full posts planned to address some of the bigger questions that were asked – how I stay motivated, how I deal with social situations, meal planning/my approach to weekly meals, getting back on track after falling off the wagon, and advice for other bloggers – but for the straight forward, easier to answer questions, I figured I’d take the time to address some of them here. If there’s something you’re dying to know that I haven’t addressed, feel free to ask again in the comments. Here goes!

  1. Do you see yourself running any marathons in the near future?
    • To be honest, no. Right now I’m focusing on running my half next month, and then we’ll see where it goes from there. The thing I love about training for a half marathon is that none of the weekday runs are more than 5 miles, which means I can do them all in under an hour and it makes it very compatible with working full time and easy to squeeze in before work if I have things going on afterwards. I mean I’d never say never, but for now, no marathons in the near future.
  2. How do you mentally tackle running on the treadmill? Do u have an awesome playlist or do u just get into the zone?
    • This is a hard one. I always run with music (on or off the treadmill), but have a hard time running on the treadmill without getting bored, especially for long runs. My mental strategy is to try to break them up as much as possible – like focusing on 15 minute increments if I’m going at the same pace the whole time. The easiest treadmill runs for me are ones involving speed work because I find it easy to stick with the treadmill when I’m frequently changing up the pace and it makes it easier to stick with. And for long runs – I really can’t do more than 6 miles on a treadmill and do everything I can to run them outdoors if possible. If its not possible, I focus on breaking them up into increments, but it’s still hard.
  3. Are you looking to get back into cycling? Would you ever consider a cycling event or a triathlon?
    • I am definitely going to get back into cycling once the weather warms up and would LOVE to do a triathlon in the future. I don’t have one on my schedule, but it’s definitely a goal of mine down the road. I only have a hybrid bike though, not a road bike, so I will probably have to invest in a nicer bike before I enter/start training for a competition involving biking.
  4. Do you own a Vitamix?
    • I don’t have a Vitamix, though I would LOVE one. The blender I use is this one, and it works great for smoothies/soups/anything I’ve tried it for.
  5. Have you tried Kombucha yet?
    • I also haven’t had kombucha yet and from what I’ve heard about its flavor I’m not sure it’s something I would love, but I’ll try anything once!
  6. How did you pick your goal weight? Do you think that when you reach it you will be happy or reevaluate?
    • Because I’m 5’8, the highest healthy weight for my height is 164 pounds. I’ve never been at that weight before, but my lowest was 166 around New Years last year. Currently I’m at 167.8, and I picked 160 for my goal weight because I think that’s a good, solid number. I’m not sure if I will be happy or want to go lower than 160 because I’ve never been there, and while I may not fully be happy with my body at that point, I want to pick a realistic goal weight that is maintainable so that I can get to a weight and stick with it, rather than fluctuating like I have all my life.
  7. Have you tried making the breakfast cookie with the peanut flour instead of the protein powder yet?
    • I haven’t yet tried this, but gave it a little more thought and really think it would work. If you are looking to do this, my advice would be to mix the peanut flour with the water and a pinch of salt first to get it to a peanut butter like consistency, and then mix in the other ingredients for the breakfast cookie.
  8. What is your absolute favorite quick yet healthy meal?
    • I have two answers for this one. If I’m bringing lunch to work, my favorite quick meal to throw into a bag for on the go is an uncooked sweet potato, 1/2 a cup canned, rinsed black beans, and some goat cheese, mozzarella cheese, or salsa. I also like to bring a salad on the side for a complete meal, and will just poke holes in and then nuke the sweet potato in the microwave, pour over the warmed black beans and cheese or salsa, and then serve it with the salad. If I’m not on the go, my favorite quick meal is an egg scramble with lots of veggies (usually frozen and just heated through first), cheese, and hot sauce, with some toast and fruit on the side. I also love to make regular stir fries with frozen veggies, tofu or beans, and some sort of rice or grain on the side.
  9. What are you most looking forward to this summer?
    • I’ll tell you what I’m NOT looking forward to this summer – the DC humidity. But what I’m looking forward to the most? Longer days, and my pool that opens Memorial Day through Labor Day! My apartment building has a super nice pool that is huge and has tons of seating plus outdoor grills, and I can’t wait to have a nice place to spend some time outside.
  10. What are your favorite museums in DC?
    • My favorite museum in DC is the Natural History Museum. I love all the huge larger-than-life animals and the exhibits in there, and a close second would be the Air & Space Museum, but that’s mostly for the astronaut ice cream.

Everything you never wanted to know about me. You’re welcome. 😉

Are you working today or do you have the day off because of the holiday? If you have the day off, let me vicariously live through you and tell me what you are doing to celebrate. If you’re working, allow me to feel less bitter and let me know that you too, are at your job and not out enjoying a 3 day weekend.

23 Responses

  1. I am definitely working today, even though I work with people that work in school districts, so all my people are off today! Booooo

    I was surprised at how much I liked the Kombucha flavor I tried. It is something to get used to but it was really good! I have another flavor waiting in my fridge to try out.

    I like your quick lunch meal idea. I’ve never even thought about rinsing some black beans and taking them to work with cheese or salsa (both)! Awesome idea, thanks!

    I started my Chobani giveaway last night and it goes til Wednesday at midnight, so whoever doesn’t win yours can come enter mine! haha

  2. Thanks for answering my question Beth!!! I do have today off, but will be driving back down to DC and hopefully relaxing tonight!

  3. I’m working today. In my job we never get holidays off unless it happens to fall on our actual day off or I take off.

  4. I’m with you on the marathon thing. I don’t think at this point I could mentally wrap my head around it, and I don’t have the time to do almost twice the amount of training! My social life would suffer and I’m not down with that…

  5. Im off today, and spending half the day shoveling my driveway, and sidewalk…… WOOT WOOT theres my workout since i cant drive anywhere!!

  6. I did a triathlon with a hybrid bike and was fine, so go for it!

  7. i loved reading the Q and A! yes i am off today and i am happy! though i have some chores to do…….

  8. Beth not only am I working today (boo!) but we got 12+ inches of snow last night so the commute to work sucked! I thought for sure my car would get stuck on one of the sidestreets but thankfully that didn’t happen!

    I totally agree with you RE: boredom on the treadmill. After 2 minutes of running I think I’m almost done and then I peek at the timer and I feel like it will take forever. I try to zone out with music or the tv — and make little goals like “run until this song is over or until the next commercial break and if you feel terrible, get off the treadmill” I always make it through to the end!

  9. fun post! I used to drink kombucha, even before it was popular in the hard to find days! i think it’s refreshing, but expensive, in glass bottles that take up a lot of space and are heavy, and didn’t see any noticeable changes from the benefits it says it has.

  10. I’m definitely working too … and I have school tonight! But I am going back to Kentucky this coming weekend on Thursday night to cater my second event, and Doug is coming to be my kitchen bitch! 🙂

  11. Just thought I’d introduce myself. I’m a relatively new reader. I’m off from school as it’s my reading week but I’m behind in everything and need to catch up on my paying job, volunteer work, reading for school and have a couple of assignments to work through. So well I’m on my couch in my comfy clothes, I’ve still got a busy work.

  12. Thanks for answering my Vitamix and Kombucha question.

    Unfortunately, I’m at work too. I work at a law firm and evidently, we don’t believe in holidays LOL.

  13. Thanks for answering my Vitamix and Kombucha question.

    Unfortunately, I’m at work too. I work at a law firm and evidently, we don’t believe in holidays LOL.

  14. It is most definitely a work day in Australia lol

  15. Sadly no 3 day weekend for me either. I’m feeling a tad under the weather so I would have enjoyed another day at home for sure!

    I like kombucha despite it’s fizziness (I typically don’t enjoy fizz). I think because it’s got a sort of odd/tart taste that I like. I can’t see I’ve seen any amazing health benefits from drinking it though.

    I wish I lived somewhere with a pool. I remember when I was little I would look at the big apartment buildings when we were driving places thinking I’d probably live in one when I grew up. I’m a little sad that I don’t! I guess rural areas have their own set of benefits though. No traffic!

  16. I love how your choosing a weight that is realistic! 🙂

  17. Sorry you don’t have the day off! 😦 That’s a bummer.

    I had today off. I went to the gym (which was insanely packed) and then lunch with a friend. It’s been nice and low-key.

  18. I’m excited for the rest of your answers posts, this one was great. I had the day off but had to work on a report for a few hours if that makes u feel any better

  19. Was totally working while the rest of my family was home relaxing. I even woke up early to bust out 2 miles on the dreadful, hilly loop by my house! I reached my goal weight yesterday at WW and thought of you and the advice you gave me…thank you!! I am going to go for another 4-6 pounds because that is what will make me less top heavy and it will feel better 🙂 Love your replies and how well you interact with all of us faithful followers 🙂

  20. Hahaha, the astronaut ice cream is my absolute favorite too! I always got bummed out when my family wanted to go look at other exhibits because I really wanted my darn freeze-dried ice cream! 😉

    Loved the fun list of updates!

    And yes, I am off work today, but have been really lazy. Outside of a conference call for my volunteer position and a 5 mile run – the day has been very lazy, which is really what I needed.

  21. I am hoping to get back into cycling this spring/summer! I bought a road bike last summer but since I was so consumed with training for my marathon I barely used it. I definitely want to train for and complete a sprint triathlon at some point this summer!

  22. Love this post! Hmm…the Natural Museum, you say…Well my favorite is the National Museum of American history. Do you think we can still be friends? Haha 😉

Leave a Reply

