• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

An Announcement, The Winners, and Dinner(s)

Hi guys! It sounds like you guys enjoyed Wil’s post from yesterday with the carrot soup recipe – that’s a soup that will be on three different restaurant menus in the next month or so and you guys get access to it first. Talk about VIP! 😉

Announcement

A few housekeeping things before we get down to business. If you follow me on twitter you may already be aware of this, but you know how earlier this week I said I didn’t have plans to run a marathon anytime soon? Well, there’s been a slight (read: major) change of plans. I do not know WHAT came over me, but yesterday I registered for the Marine Corps Marathon after succumbing to minimal peer pressure (ahem Emily and Vera)!!! I’m still getting my head wrapped around the whole thing because before I knew what was going on, I was blinking to make sure my eyes weren’t fooling me as the Registration Confirmation Page appeared on the screen, but I’m pretty sure my plans for 2011 now include a full marathon. Talk about impulsive. Ahhh!!

The Winners

Also, I forgot to announce the winners of the giveaway for Chobani – Sorry! This had the largest number of entries of any giveaway I’ve ever done – 396! That may or may not have had something to do with Chobani posting it on their facebook page. Mostly may.

So here goes…

Winner 1 Winner 2

#86 – Todd, who said “I like Chobani on Facebook and I love Chobani in my belly!”

and

#159 – Michelle, who said “I already “like” Chobani – man, their yogurt rocks! Can’t wait to try the lemon flavor, right now Pineapple is my all-time fave! Just checking out your blog; thanks for the great info. packed in here!!”

Congratulations you two!! Please email me your shipping information to bethklein at gmail dot com so Chobani can get your sampler packs in the mail!!

Dinner(s)

Hey, it rhymes with winners. Moving along, yesterday I had to go to the dentist to get THREE cavities drilled. Three. You see, I hadn’t been to the dentist in two years for no reason at all besides sheer laziness and it really bit me in the ass. That, and not consistently flossing. My mouth is still so sore – never again! When I got home, I wanted something quick because I was hungry and soft because my jaw was sore. I’d been toying with the idea of making peanut sauce, and last night came up with the perfect recipe!

Peanut Sauce (2 pts+ for entire recipe. Could easily be divided between two servings if you like to share.)

  • 20 grams peanut flour (or a little more than 2 tbsp)
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • sprinkle of garlic powder
  • sprinkle of powdered ginger

To start, mix the peanut flour with the water. The mixture will be kind of crumbly, not creamy like peanut butter. This is perfect.

Next, add in the rest of the ingredients.

Stir to combine and you’re done!

The sauce is a little thick like normal peanut sauce, so it would coat noodles really well. If you want to thin it out a bit, add more water, but this was perfect for my purposes. You can also (and probably should) use fresh ginger and garlic rather than powdered, but I was cutting every corner I could to get it done quickly. It is A LOT of sauce for 2 pts+. A lot. And totally delicious.

I decided to make some summer rolls to go with the peanut sauce (I realize it should be the other way around). Have you ever used rice paper before?

It sort of feels like those thin plastic cutting boards right out of the package.

And you get 5 of these guys for just 3 pts+!

You soak them in warm water for about 15-30 seconds.

It’s in there – I promise. After they soak, they get super flimsy and pliable.

You can put whatever you want in them – I used what I had in the fridge.

047

Red bell pepper, bean sprouts, cilantro, and tofu. You can easily do this with shrimp, chicken, pork, or any other kind of protein, plus whatever veggies or noodles you want to use – just slice the veggies thin!

Carefully lay the soaked rice paper on a surface, and get to work quickly.

Add your ingredients to be stuffed in the middle. Less is more here. Don’t go crazy or it will be too hard to roll up!

Next, fold down the top and up the bottom over the contents of the roll.

Roll one side over everything.

And then carefully fold the last part over. The rice paper will kind of stick to itself to keep everything together. Repeat for all of your rolls and you’re done!

Wil would call these “rustic,” which is a euphemism for imperfect and handmade, but I’ll take it. Especially with the peanut sauce.

The bean sprouts are a nice alternative to noodles if you’re interested in a light dinner because they add a nice crunch and you don’t even miss the noodles! Plus, they require no cooking, which helped with the “fast” part of my dinner requirement.

Dinner was being eaten within 10 minutes of walking in the door. And, all 5 of those rolls PLUS the entire thing of peanut sauce = 6 pts+. Good thing I like wine.

What’s your favorite Asian-esque appetizer? Have you ever worked with rice paper at home? I loooooove crab rangoon, but I almost always order summer rolls if I see them on the menu.

Are you impulsive or do you tend to really think things through? I think you can venture to guess my answer on this one based on today’s announcement.

41 Responses

  1. Hahaha, I love this post! 5 pts for dinner doesn’t sound bad AT ALL. Sorry about the fillings–I got one filled about a month ago and it really sucked. I can’t imagine getting three!

    And super congrats on the marathon. You can definitely do it and just think of what an enormous accomplishment that will be =)

    And hahaha, I especially liked the wine comment =)

  2. Peanut sauce really is one of the most awesome things I’ve tried as of late…

    And congrats on the marathon! I’m sure you can rock it! 🙂 It’s gonna be a HUGE victory!

  3. We made these over Christmas and I loved them! They’re so easy too. I’ll have to pick up some wrappers so we can do it again.

    Congrats to the Chobani winners! I’m announcing mine today too 🙂

  4. Just so you know, I have been to the dentist in about 5 years (!!!!) I haven’t had the money/insurance to go. In about another month or two I will be going because I will have dental for the first time in my adult life…I’m scared of all the cavities I know they will find.

    Also that dinner looks awesome, I am definitely going to try it soon. Quick question though. Was there no points+ for the tofu? Did you just not use enough for it to have any? Just curious.

    Thanks!

  5. I’d have to say my faveorite asian appetizer are the gyoza dumplings. Not quite as point friendly as your wraps, though. 😉

    • ohh i love gyoza too! There’s a place in DC that does them for $3 during happy hour and you can get them steamed so they’re quite point friendly!

  6. These look so good Beth! Our neighbors make spring rolls quite often and they usually give us a plate — they are delicious! I’ve never made my own though. I love peanut sauce — we just had some a few days ago!

    Good for you for registering for the marathon! How exciting!

  7. yum! homemade spring rolls are one of my favorite things to make!

  8. I’m so excited you are doing MCM!! It’s funny when u posted the other day that you didn’t want to run one I was thinking you would in the not-so-distant future.
    Also those look amazing. I’ve never made those kind of rolls but they are my favorite.

  9. Wow, that looks really delicious!

  10. A marathon??!! I can’t wait to hear about your training!

    Those summer rolls look so easy! I wonder though, what is the difference between spring rolls & summer rolls? Also, the rice paper – the package you bought/showed looked like it had a lot of sheets. Do they expire quickly or can they sit in the fridge for awhile?

    • Training will start at the end of June, so I have a lot of time to mentally prepare…

      And yeah, there are a TON of sheets in that package (which was 1.99 by the way) and they have a really long shelf life. I don’t even think there is an expiration date on there! I keep them in a large ziplock so they are airtight. And I think spring rolls are usually fried, and summer rolls are usually cold. Different places call them whatever they want, though!

      • For some reason I thought it was more than $2/package so maybe it is worth it, even if I only consume half.

        I’m so confused on the spring/summer roll – I though egg rolls were fried! HA, we’ll just call them whatever we want.

        I’m excited for FitBloggin’ and will start looking at flights in the next month – will keep you in the loop!

  11. I can’t wait to try this peanut sauce. YUM

    Wow, good luck on the Marathon! I’m sure you will do great.

  12. I like to use a lettuce leaf on the rice paper, it really helps hold the filling & the entire rolling process

  13. I impulsively signed up for my second MCM yesterday too! WOO HOO!

    • ahhhhhhh!!! so exciting! it’s funny because most people do things like buy shoes or clothes or food impulsively. Me? sign up for a marathon.

  14. OMG CONGRATS on the marathon! That is exactly how I signed up for my first marathon last year and I had pretty much the same reaction! You will totally rock it. I highly highly recommend the book “The Nonrunners Guide to Marathon Training”. Even though you and I are both runners, it is extremely helpful training guide and even though I adjusted the training plan to better fit me, the most helpful part of the book is helping you prepare mentally for the marathon. It helped me so much!
    Also, I LOVE summer rolls but have never thought to make them myself! Thanks for the tips!

  15. I am VERY impulsive, I get ideas and then just go for them! I like that about myself though.

    I have never worked with rice paper but would love to give it a try. Did you find it at a regular supermarket or did you got to a speciality store for it?

    • sounds like we are similar in that respect! 🙂

      I got this at an Asian grocery store, but most places with an ethnic section will have them. Whole Foods does, as does my regular grocery store – Harris Teeter.

  16. I have been looking all over for rice paper. I live in the DC area also. Where did you find these?

    • I got these particular ones at the Asian grocery store attached to Bankok 54 in Arlington, VA, but they sell them at Whole Foods, Shoppers, and most other grocery stores that have an ethnic section. I’ve also found them at my regular grocery store – Harris Teeter. I hope you find them!

  17. That feeling of clicking “Register” is contagious, watch out!! Enjoy that adrenaline, you have plenty of time to let it soak in 🙂

    On another note, I’ve used Rice paper and was surprised by how difficult it is to make those rolls look presentable! Im impressed, haha

  18. Your peanut sauce and rice paper wraps look incredible! For me, they are so difficult to use and never look right. at. all.

    But something may look atrocious but taste delicious too!!! 😉

  19. Oh those look yummy! Love rolls like that. And exciting on the marathon front. I get impulsive like that too. But it usually ends up being a good thing.

  20. rice paper rolls AND peanut sauce?? I am in love !! 🙂

  21. Your dinner looks awesome! I don’t think I’ve ever made something so fancy looking!

  22. those rolls look awesome. I always tear that rice paper apart when working with it.

  23. Where do you get your defatted peanut flour? Do you mail order it or get it local? I have not checked my local Natural living Center…but I will. I am new to your blog, but a lifetime member and leader with Weight Watchers in Maine. I am really enjoying your blog. I have gotten lots of great new ideas. And its all about keeping things fresh and mixing it up at times. Thanks for inspiring me…

  24. AWESOME dinner!

    I love me some peanut sauce 😉

  25. Hooray for signing up for MCM!

    Those wraps look amazing, too!

  26. […] An Announcement, The Winners, and Dinner(s) […]

  27. […] defrost asian veggie mix in the microwave. While the veggies and noodles are cooking, make my peanut sauce and toss everything together. The peanut sauce and noodles pack enough protein to make this a […]

  28. […] defrost asian veggie mix in the microwave. While the veggies and noodles are cooking, make my peanut sauce and toss everything together. The peanut sauce and noodles pack enough protein to make this a […]

Leave a Reply

