• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Marvelous March?

I cannot believe it’s already March… but in hopes of not sounding like a broken record on the first of every month, that’s all I’ll say on that subject.

Since its a new month, its time to see how I did on the goals for last month and set some new ones for this one! March is a big month for me because its the month of my half marathon, but first…

For February:

1. Continue to following my training plan, building up to a 10 mile run and continuing with speed training. Check! I only missed one or two weekly runs, and none of the long runs or the speed training. I also went from 7 miles to 10 miles on the long run!

2. Continue to stretch after every run for injury prevention. I’m happy to report that this now feels like it’s become a habit and I don’t even think about NOT stretching. So weird for me considering it was SO hard at the beginning to get myself to do it!

3. Try to do The Shred each week on Mondays or Thursdays. FAIL. I only did The Shred once during the whole month… I have to be more consistent about strength training because I know it will only make me a better runner.

4. Go back to Bikram at least once. I did this one!

5. Get down to 168. Yes! I weighed in at 167.8! I didn’t weigh in last week but am going this week so hopefully it’ll be the same or lower.

6. Keep up with menu planning. I’ve done pretty good with this one! New meals included Tempeh Tacos, Skillet Souffle, and Peanut Sauce with Summer Rolls.

7. Read another book. Check – I read Service Included.

8. Focus on going to bed earlier. Fail. I’ve been staying up until midnight still during the week and it makes getting up in the morning a lot less fun than it could be.

9. Cash Only Spending Policy. I didn’t do this, BUT, I did come up with a great system that works for me. I opened a second checking account that I’m using strictly for spending money, and every Monday I’m transferring in $150 to use for the week. This includes groceries, gas, drinks/dinner/happy hours. All my bills are coming out of the other account, and this system seems to be working really well so far.

So all in all, I did pretty well with my goals but definitely have some areas for improvement. I’m especially proud of being so dedicated to my training plan and keeping up with the speed work and long runs. I’m also proud that it feels like I’ve made stretching into a habit rather than a reach goal like it was before.

And now…

For (a hopefully) Marvelous March:

1. Kill the half marathon on March 26th!! My goal is to PR in the half, which should be doable based on my current pace with long runs and the training.2011 National Half Marathon Logo

2. Follow my half marathon training plan, continuing to focus on speed work and long runs!

3. Focus on strength training at least once a week, hopefully twice. I’m going to count The Shred, free weights, and/or Bikram all as strength training.

4. Post one new step-by-step recipe on here each week.

5. Stick to under $75 per week in groceries and post the shopping trip goods on here to show how to eat well on a budget! You can see the first trip that I posted yesterday here.

6. Get below 166 pounds – even 165.8 will be great. I weighed in at 166 in January 2010, and haven’t seen the weight since. I think it stuck for all of 30 seconds. Getting to 165 will be my lowest weight of all time, and put me under 6 pounds from my goal weight.

7. Start researching marathon training plans to get excited about the full marathon at the end of October. We’ll see if this one works.

So those are pretty lofty goals but I think taking things one at a time will really help. I’m actually getting super excited about the half marathon and am looking forward to crushing my time in my first (2:16:18).

How was February for you? Any big plans for March?

34 Responses

  1. Great February! I’m so excited for the National Half, too! Good luck with the rest of your training. I’m looking forward to watching your marathon progress, too 🙂

  2. You have great goals. I was hoping to see a goal of posting your first video though. Will you be doing that soon?

    • You know it’s funny you should ask that today. I JUST got a FlipHD video thing yesterday, so the plan is to do something in the next week or so hopefully. I just have to figure out how to use it… 🙂

  3. For March goal #3, strength training rules. I’d gotten out of the habit for about two years, but have been back to 3 days per week for three months now. Go for it! It makes me feel and look so much better with only about 1.5 hours of dedicated time per week.

  4. You are going to rock the national half! I’m trying to get back into consistent strength training too.

  5. Great job on your goals Beth! I’m so excited for you to start marathon training 🙂 Is anyone training with you?

  6. Hello,

    This past weekend I went to the Trader Joe’s in Minnesota and they are now not selling the Peanut Flour. Do you know of other stores that carry that product?

    Thank you

    • Hi Gina! You know, I heard unfortunately that Trader Joe’s discontinued peanut flour – very sad story!!

      You can buy PB2 online, which is very similar: (here’s a link to it on Amazon.com) *http://tinyurl.com/6jo5kxa*

  7. First of all, great job for following your goals for February! I think it’s amazing the way you stick to (and remember!!) your goals…hahaha…that’s one of my problems…

    I think your goals for March sound great!!

  8. Go Beth Go! It WILL be a marvelous March!

    I REALLY like Hal Higdon’s plans. I trained with Team in Training for my first MCM, but I’m using Hal for this year. It will be a different experience not running with a team for sure.

    xoxox

  9. Thank’s Beth!

    Great job on your goals…because of your blogs I joined weight watchers 3 months ago and have lost 13lb. Thanks for all the advice!

  10. The 2 checking account idea is a good one! I may have to give that a try.

    Good luck with your race!

  11. I feel like consistent strength training is the plight of all runners! That’s also on my goal list along with continuing to train for my half on 3/1 and I’m ditching the alcohol. It never fails to make me want to eat more and feel groggy the next day.

  12. I’ve slowed down on The Shred, too. Along with workout burnout in general, I think I was suffering Jillian burnout.

  13. I really love the cash only spending habit. I REALLY need to implement that in my household.

  14. I’m going to pay off all my credit card debt! Wohoo! And I should probably get back on the exercise bandwagon .. I have a a Groupon for Bikram and I just need to get my ass back in gear!

  15. You’re going to do so great at the National Half!

    February was a bit slow for me because I had IT band problems. I’m doing the National Half Relay, so I only have to worry about 5 miles. I am so excited 🙂

  16. Great job! I love the idea of a seperate bank account. I do something similar and it really works for me.

  17. Awesome! I talk about menu planning on my blog (it’s mainly all about food) – i like to check out other people’s menu just to switch things up. It looks like you’re a vegetarian? I’m a pescatarian! But I’d say 90% of meals at home are vegetarian, even vegan. Love your blog! forgot how i found out about it.. i’ve got you in my reader – looking forward to your posts!! And I run too, hopefully you’ll keep me motivated 🙂

  18. February was good to me. My March goal will be to exercise more! at least 5 times a week. I’ve started out March nada because i’m sick 😦

    will try again tomorrow

  19. Great job with the goals!

    I think you can surpass losing 2 pounds this month. I bet it will be 3!

  20. Congrats on your goals! I fell behind on mine – mileage sucked bec of winter in Ohio and car troubles interferred with getting to gym. Did well with strength training but not much yoga. That is big on list for March – do at least 30 minutes of yoga 2 x wkk and p90x upper/lower body 1x week. Thanks for th elink on peanut flour – I went to TJ last week to no avail.

  21. I love your goal-planning and reviewing the same after each month! I have to February was just okay for me – nothing great. But, March is a new month so picking it back up! 🙂

  22. Those look like great march goals. I failed at doing strength training in Feb too. I am shooting for 2 days a week again in March (I am also including a workout dvd and certain strength focused yogas into that too). Let’s both have that goal met in March! I’m going to look at you like my virtual strength training buddy. 🙂

  23. Sounds like your March will be awesome!!!

  24. good luck on all of your goals this month! i know you can do it!!!

  25. Feb was good for me!

    March is just the same old same old 😉

  26. Good luck on your half marathon! Is bikram the “hot” yoga? Where the temp is turned way up?

  27. the extra bank account is an AWESOME idea- I think I’ll try it out during the spring. My weekly food budget is a little less- about $60- but that will help keep me in check. Maybe I’ll eat out a little less often.

  28. I need to get back to monthly goal planning!

    I tired a year long approach of goals with Operation Athlete, but it is not working sadly and I need to get back to working on basic monthly efforts.

    You inspire me on so many level! 🙂

  29. […] One of my goals for March is to keep grocery spending under $75 a week (and post my groceries on here to show you guys). Last week, I spent $68.97 at Trader Joe’s, and this week I did even better at Whole Foods! Check out what I got and then I’ll tell you how much I spent. […]

  30. […] One of my goals for March is to keep grocery spending under $75 a week (and post my groceries on here to show you guys). Last week, I spent $68.97 at Trader Joe’s, and this week I did even better at Whole Foods! Check out what I got and then I’ll tell you how much I spent. […]

  31. […] take a look at last month’s goals and how I did with each of […]

Leave a Reply

