• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Philly for the Weekend

Friday during work, I spontaneously decided to take off early and go up to Philly to visit my sister and nephew. I still had a little comp time left from my trip to San Diego, and though Wil and I had plans to go up on Sunday just for the day, I really had nothing else going on during the weekend. I found a bus that goes from DC to Philly for $15  (!) with free wifi, so I ended up being on that bus within 2 hours of deciding to go up!

I was SO glad I did that. The bus allowed me to read and nap and was pretty painless overall, and I made it to Philly by 6pm on Friday. I spent as much time as possible during the weekend like this:

And had such a nice, relaxing time! We cooked, ordered Vietnamese food, and just tried to lay low a lot of the weekend.

Harper is doing great, by the way. He still has oxygen and getting off of it is his next big hurdle, but given the miracle that he is I have faith. He’s up to almost 9 lbs and doing a lot of eating, sleeping, farting, and burping like any other baby. Smile

Though I did get a lot of relaxation in, I also go in a nice long run in absolutely gorgeous running weather. My sister is also into running, so we took her dog Sadie out first thing on Saturday. I ended up doing just over 10 miles, but my darn Garmin wouldn’t pick up satellite for the first 1.6 miles of the run and it was making me crazy. I ended up stopping for a bit at the separation point (where Wendy was turning to make a shorter loop home) and it finally picked up signal and kept it for the rest of the run.

8.63 + 1.6 miles = 10.23 total

I was really happy that the 8.63 that the Garmin picked up were at a 9:30 pace – very fast for me! That’s my stretch goal pace for my half marathon, so fingers crossed I can stick with that pace on race day.

Sunday, my parents ended up coming to meet us for brunch, before I got on the bus home. Brunch was great, but the bus ride home was not nearly as pleasant as the ride up. I had the most ridiculously obnoxious person sharing my bus seat, and he would not leave me alone. I would close my eyes to try to sleep and he would just keep talking to me. I put my headphones in – same story. I had to literally say “I am going to read now” about 3 times before he’d let me read my book/stop talking to me. During one point I was passed out, and I had to say “I’m sleeping!” because he was just talking to me constantly. He then said he was just talking to himself, nto to me. Ok…

Towards the end of the trip, he finally let me finish a really awesome book called I’m With Fatty (full review coming soon because it was amazing and deserves it’s own post) and the SECOND I closed the book I closed my eyes. I always like to stop and take a few minutes to think about a book after I read it, especially if it really resonates with me like this one did. This time though, that was not an option. “So what is that? A diet book? It can’t just be a diet book. I need to lose weight, I should be the one reading that.” It would not end. As soon as the bus pulled in I practically trampled over him to get off the bus and power walk towards the metro. Argh!

Besides the rocky bus ride home though, the weekend was really great and I was glad to get some quality time with my sister and little nephew.

How was your weekend? Did you travel somewhere or stay put? Have you ever had an annoying companion on a bus or train ride?

22 Responses

  1. Beth, your weekend sounds awesome, despite getting stuck next to the obnoxious person on your ride home. Eh, the Chinatown buses can be a bit risky. I had some really great experiences with them, and then I once got stuck for 4 hours on the way back to DC from NY, which was really awful.

    Glad to hear Harper’s doing so well! He’s such an adorable baby =)

  2. So what you do with a seatmate like that is give them a puzzled look and say “Do I know you?”
    and when they inevitably say “no,” say “then why are you under the impression that I care what you think?”

  3. Harper looks great! That’s wonderful that you got to spend the weekend with him. Sorry the ride home sucked so bad.

  4. Ugh an annoying person sharing your seat is the WORST. Once he started interrupting my sleep, I would’ve moved!

  5. ew. i would have been much meaner to that seatmate. one of my bffs just moved to philly and am totally planning on taking advantage of the cheap wifi bus! sound slike you had a great weekend out of town, glad to hear your nephew is doing so well!

  6. Harper is so adorable!!
    That bus person sounds terrible. I used to take the bus to NYC all the time and I don’t think my seat neighbors ever bothered me.

  7. I am terrified of being THAT seatmate, so I ALWAYS keep to myself and try to remain as unobtrusive as possible. I know that sometimes people take that as I am not friendly, but I don’t want to bother anyone, AND I don’t want anyone to bother me. Traveling can be a stressor for many people, and I’d rather not contribute to someone else’s pain! I’m glad that you at least got some awesome auntie time!!

  8. What a cutie pie! My brother and his wife had their first baby on Feb. 20th, but he was 7 weeks early so he is still in the NICU, I can’t wait for him to come home and snuggle with him 🙂

  9. I’m so glad your nephew is doing so well! He’s a cutie!

  10. He is adorable!!! And you look fantastic. 😀 😀

  11. Beth, you totally should use this next time to get rid of that crazyyy..it’s hysterical 🙂

  12. Very low-key weekend for me. Picked out tuxes with my fiance for the wedding, did a little fishing, took the dog to the dog park and doggy wash place, got pedicures, did laundry.

    It sounds nice but I feel really anxious and stressed out when I don’t have anything to do. Nice huh?!

  13. I think taking the bus was a great idea!!! 🙂 And great job on teh run 🙂

  14. I haven’t heard of that book but I look forward to your review!

    I love public transportation but I wish people just leave me alone — especially when I’m reading.

    Harper is so adorable!

  15. Your nephew is adorable!!

    No major weekend travel for me, in fact, I didn’t even leave my house on Sunday. It was wonderful! 🙂

  16. Your nephew is such an angel baby! What a blessing to have him in your life 🙂 Praying for him, girl.

    You’re insanely amazing for pushing through 10 miles at that pace! seriously, such a huge inspiration for me!

  17. He is adorable! He looks great. 🙂 Glad you had a wonderful weekend.

  18. Great job on your run. I have had so many crazy people encounters. I had one guy convinced that I was his wife…sorry sir..i am defiantly not your wife.

  19. Oh my goodness – Real Simple just did an article in their latest issue on how to politetly get people to pipe down when sitting next to them on a bus/plane/train. But it sounds like that guy couldn’t get a clue for the life of him.

    Glad you had a great weekend and that baby Harper is doing so well! It has been great following his progress in your posts!

  20. Slightly random but I want your opinion…

    I’m thinking of asking for a Garmin forerunner for my b’day and I see you have the 305. Do you like it? Do you wish it did more? If you could have gotten a different one, would you have?

    I just want to be sure I ask for the right one for me. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

