• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Whole Foods Loot with a Plan

For once, I followed my own advice and consulted my top tips for Bargain Shopping at Whole Foods for last night’s trip to the store. I went in with a plan, a list, and some printed coupons, and came out with a whole lot of food for a good price! Just the way I like it.

I started out by doing my meal plan for the week, which looks like this (for now):

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner Workout
Sunday Tempeh Chili Rest
Monday steel cuts w/ pb flour + banana Leftover tempeh chili w/salad – greek yogurt w/pineapple
– apple
Salmon Burger w/veggies The Shred
Tuesday wheat berries w/yogurt + fruit salmon burger salad – tempeh chili
– grapes 

 

Lasagna Roll-Ups w salad 5 miles
Wednesday steel cuts w/ pb flour + banana Lasagna Roll-Ups w Salad – cottage cheese w/mango
– grapes
Leftover tempeh chili 45 minute tempo run
Thursday wheat berries w/yogurt + fruit Frozen sobas w/tofu and peanut sauce – cottage cheese w/mango
– apple
quinoa burgers (make video) The Shred
Friday steel cuts w/ pb flour + banana leftover quinoa burgers w yogurt sauce greek yogurt w/berries
– apple
TBD Rest

Since I start training for Weight Watchers tomorrow night (yay!), I wanted to make sure to have something quick for dinner when I get home (leftovers) and also something for lunch Thursday (frozen leftovers from last week).  Besides that, this menu is pretty standard since I like to try 1-2 new dinners a week and work in mostly leftovers for lunch. I also decided to jot down my workouts for the week too just to make myself that much more accountable.

Now onto the Whole Foods loot! OrganicDeals.com and the printable coupons from Whole Foods were my two sources for coupons. Checking out the weekly specials from the WF website and thinking about what I needed for the dinners on my meal plan helped me make my list, and off I went. I knew some things on this list were essential, and others were optional if I could find a good deal.

aaa 148

I was seriously a little too excited about my impending trip to Whole Foods. I couldn’t wait to leave my desk.

Perhaps because of the clutter. But that’s another post for another day.

One of my goals for March is to keep grocery spending under $75 a week (and post my groceries on here to show you guys). Last week, I spent $68.97 at Trader Joe’s, and this week I did even better at Whole Foods! Check out what I got and then I’ll tell you how much I spent.

First up, the produce:

  • Organic Red Grapes (just under 2 lbs – $1.99/lb)
  • Organic Bananas
  • Baby Arugula
  • 2 White Grapefruits
  • 4 Organic Braeburn Apples
  • Organic Cucumber
  • Organic Scallions

  • Frozen Pineapple
  • Frozen Strawberries


  • Organic Lasagna Noodles
  • Organic Pinto Beans
  • Organic Garbanzo Beans
  • Oikos Vanilla 4-pack (On sale for $4 – $1 WF Coupon – $1 Brand Coupon = $2 total)
  • Bulk Quinoa (just under 1 lb)
  • Bulk Wheat Berries (1.5 lbs)
  • Smart Dogs – $1 off Whole Foods Coupon
  • Organic Cottage Cheese ($1 WF Coupon + $.75 Brand Coupon)
  • SO Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk (On sale for $3 – $1 Brand Coupon = $2)

A good amount of stuff, right? I used $5.75 in coupons total (and even had someone in line ask me where I got my coupons and was all excited when I told her!) plus shopped the sales, and ended up getting all of that stuff for:

$38.84!! Not bad, eh?

I was so proud of myself I walked out BEAMING (even happier than that photo above of me ready to leave work). Bargain shopping makes me more giddy than it should, especially at places that don’t traditionally lend themselves to saving money.

Do you have any dinners on your plan for this week that you’re excited about? I am most looking forward to last night’s dinner – Lasagna Roll Ups. I got the saw the concept in Clean Eating magazine and have been dying to make my own version ever since. Recipe coming soon!

52 Responses

  1. Nice job! I went to WF yesterday and didn’t plan as well as usual with the coupons (just too busy at work! boo) and spent about $56. I did buy $15 worth of meat though, so it wasn’t bad, but I only used $2 worth of coupons 😦 You did a great job!

    I tweeted you this, but we have some good dinners this week. Last night we had grass-fed beef burgers with an “onion jam” on top and mustard mixed greens on the side. Tonight we’re having shredded chicken tacos from the crockpot. Tomorrow is honey-marinated pork and sometime before Sunday is veggie lasagna.

  2. Wow, I can’t believe you bought all of that for less than 40 bucks!!! That’s really impressive. I feel like it’s impossible to leave the grocery store (and I’m talking Food Lion, not Whole Foods) without at the very least spending $75. I’m gonna have to take some of your tips =)

    By the way, you look super cute in your photo! Your curly hair is so pretty!

  3. I’m excited to make eggplant manicotti later this week…I have never cooked with eggplant before! I have eaten it of course but never cooked it myself.

  4. I love this meal plan organization – do you do this every week?

    • More or less, but I change it around a lot. Last night I was originally going to have the lasagna roll ups but got home and didn’t feel like making them, so i switched it around. I do that quite often, but I love having a semi game plan in place!

  5. Beth, how are smart dogs? I’ve seen them in the grocery store, but I’ve never tried them. Are they good?

    I just got some Quorn (I can’t remember if that’s how you spell it) chicken substitute and beef substitute. It’s pricy (1 bag of it cost about as much as a pound of lean beef), but I’ve heard it’s delicious. And since I’m trying to reduce my meat consumption, well… it seemed like a good thing to try! Have you had it before?

    Also, you inspire me. I need to start shopping with a plan! Usually I just go in, buy what I want and spend WAY too much money.

    • Hey Emily! I really like Smart Dogs. I try not to eat the processed stuff TOO much but those are great in a pinch. Quorn products are really good, too – the best I’ve tried overall (though definitely more expensive). I’ve never tried the beef but the chicken is almost scary how similar it is to the real thing. It’s a lot lower pts+ than real meat too so it’s good for WW!

      I love grocery shopping so much that if I went as often as I’d like without a plan I’d be in even more debt than I already am. 🙂

    • I believe Quorn is more $$ b/c it’s all natural. Most meat subs are full of chemicals!

  6. Wow, all that food from WF for less than $40?? You may have just inspired me to try them again. I’m always scared of blowing my budget there, but… maybe I can do it! Thanks for the tips and the coupon advice.

  7. Wow, that is an amazing shopping trip!
    Also I love your plan for the week. It’s really smart to even include the exercise for the day in the schedule so you can make sure you fuel accordingly. Nice!

    • I don’t usually include exercise with my meal plan, i just mostly put it there so that it’s out there and now I have to stick to it! I already did 5 miles this morning and the Shred yesterday, so I’m two for two! I also made sure to rest a lot on Sunday… 😉

  8. Nice work on meal planning 🙂 I have to figure out how to convince myself to do the same thing!

  9. Great job at WF Beth! And I am totally jealous of your meals/workouts spreadsheet at the top 🙂

  10. Beth! That was ME who asked you where you got your coupons! 🙂 Yay! I’m famous now, hehe.
    Seriously though, thank you so much for giving me great advice on where to find prinable coupons for organic food AND congratulations on your weight loss – you are incredible.
    Keep it up girl!

    • Paige!! I’m so glad you found the post – and yes, you’re famous now! =)

      It’s funny because a lot of people do not think about using coupons at places like WF, but I don’t mind being the crazy coupon lady!!

  11. I’m quite impressed with the <$40 Whole Foods bill!! And you left with quite a stash. I think I tend to blow my budget b/c I get crazy with the bulk bins and too many IDEAS, without plans! 🙂

  12. Do you ever buy Quorn faux chicken products in the frozen case? I have become addicted to the “chicken” breast stuffed with cranberries and goat cheese. It’s a little high in the calorie count, but I just make sure my side dishes are extra low at that dinner. They are really good and couldn’t be easier.

  13. I made Lasagne Rolls ups (I think off of Gina’s SkinnyTaste site) and loved them! I thought it was less messy than regular lasagna and liked they had built in portion control. 🙂

  14. Did you just find the coupons on the WF website?!

    • Half were from the site, and half were manufacturer’s coupons. Check out the post on saving money at WF that I wrote with lots of tips and tricks! (I link to it at the top of the post)

  15. I do have a recipe I’m looking forward to! I found a recipe for shrimp and curry rice. It sounds so yummy and I can’t wait to try it.

    I don’t shop at Whole Foods much. It’s pretty expensive and I don’t find that their products are any better than what I buy at Trader Joe’s…in fact I bought their light, organic sour cream last weekend and it was SOOO vile I threw it away. Wasted $4! I was so grossed out. Yuck.

  16. Yay! A grocery store post. I’m living vicariously through you right now since I’m on a no grocery shopping phase.

    Good deals too!

  17. Good job!

    I noticed on your menu you had wheat berries w/yogurt. Question: you just eat them raw on top of the yogurt (like granola)? Never had them but I want to try.

    Thanks!

    • I try to cook a big batch of wheatberries on Sundays and then just eat them cooked cold with yogurt. They are a little chewy/nutty and I absolutely love them. I don’t think you can eat them raw – they are hard sort of like popcorn kernels! I’ll do a post on them soon because they are really versatile and have only 2 pt+ per 1/2 cup cooked.

  18. Hi Beth, I just found your site via Laurie’s blogroll and wanted to say how much I love it, I’ve bookmarked and will visit often. Thanks for all the great reicpes, tips and info. All the best.

  19. I also get pumped for WF runs! I have a few spectacular dishes in mind for this week. Stay tuned!

  20. Great shopping trip! That is a bargain! 🙂

    This week I’m excited about a pork and mango stir-fry I saw in Clean Eating.

  21. Great job shopping! i must get better at organizing my ocupons – does no good to cut them and then forget where they are… 🙂 Thanks for the tip about wheat berries. They sound like a good breakfast option. Looking forward to your recipe.

  22. Glad I’m not the only one that loves coups! They really can save you an incredible amount of money over time. I just treat my meal planning, grocery list, and coupon hunting as a game…how can I get the best deal!

  23. I love grocery shopping too! Esp for organic goodies. That is an amazing price for Whole Foods. There aren’t any in my area but there is a local organic supermarket (and by local I mean 45 min away SIGH) that I need to get my bootay over to at some point.

  24. I LOVE organicdeals! I get the emails everyday! Saves me a boatload!

  25. That is AWESOME!! Man, everytime I read these TJ or Whole Foods posts I get so bummed that I don’t have access. Life would be easier if I could go to these places, espeically since the items I can get (many which you have) are SO much more expensive here!!! My teeny little package of quinoa is $8, my apples are $8 for 5, the list goes on! I am hoping we get better deals in Germany!! I have a peanut flour question (you were the first person I thought of!!) I got peanut flour (raw just plain ground peanuts) from Nutsonline. They taste almost, fruity (does that make sense) and I am really not sure how to mix to to a butter, what to add, etc. Is what I have different from the peanut flour you use???? Just not sure how to use it!!

  26. Just discovered your blog! What a great deal at Whole Foods. I love when I get coupons I can use there, especially during the winter when there isn’t much at the farmers markets.

  27. Nice job with the grocery shopping! I love getting wonderful bargains. I was at WF this past weekend and I remembered you talking about how cheap Baby Bell cheeses are there, so I got some for $2.99. Great price considering they’re so much more expensive at other stores.

  28. Ok, you finally have me convinced that using coupons really isn’t that much extra work and is a great way to save. I just bookmarked those 2 pages, thanks for flagging! 🙂

    I was most excited for my Chipotle remake last night and it did not disappoint.

  29. […] Whole Foods Loot with a Plan Posted on March 8, 2011 by Beth […]

  30. I cannot believe I stumbled across these rollups. Perfect! New to your blog, love it.

  31. Beth I absolutely LOVE your blog and have been a follower for a while! Your blog was one of the first I ever discovered and helped me make my commitment to a healthy lifestyle. Your WW point counts on the foods you eat are AWESOME and i love that you share tons of tips! I have made these lasagna rolls and i think they are delicious! And that feeling of getting excited to go to a healthy grocery store- I can totally relate!!! Thanks for the coupon tip!

  32. I’m so excited about this post – I’ve been trying to figure out what I wanted to do with the half box of lasagna noodles I had left over but I hadn’t quite decided – I love your ideas!

  33. I do almost all my grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s and a small neighborhood grocery store (for Mexican stuff, cheaper produce). It’s easy for me to keep the weekly total pretty low shopping for one. It’s tougher now that my boyfriend is (temporarily) living with me. Do you shop just for yourself?

  34. […] We’re halfway into March and I’m still going relatively strong with the Grocery Budget Challenge of keeping spending to $75 max and doing a better job with meal planning.You can see weeks one and two here and here. […]

  35. […] We’re halfway into March and I’m still going relatively strong with the Grocery Budget Challenge of keeping spending to $75 max and doing a better job with meal planning.You can see weeks one and two here and here. […]

  36. […] what I buy/meal ideas once a week for the month on March. You can see the first three weeks here, here, and […]

  37. […] Week 2 – Whole Foods – $38.84 […]

  38. […] Week 2 – Whole Foods – $38.84 […]

  39. […] post the shopping trip goods on here to show how to eat well on a budget! Yup! You can see Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, and Week […]

Leave a Reply

