• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Thursday Thoughts and A Lie

Hi guys! I’m so glad you enjoyed yesterday’s guest post about making risotto in the microwave. Emily is quite a character. She does a killer velociraptor impression that I can’t even begin to articulate if you needed any more evidence of her cool factor.

But today, you’re stuck with me and my crazy ramblings so let’s get started, shall we?

1. Yesterday morning I completed the hardest day of training run of my whole half marathon – 5 miles of intervals. I started with .25 miles at 5.8mph (10:20 pace) and then did .25 miles at 7.0mph (8:34 pace). Times ten. TEN! I remember seeing that at the beginning of the training and thinking there was no way on earth I could possibly do it, but slowly and surely I built up to it over the last 11 weeks and felt like a million bucks when it was over.

5 mile intervals

2. I have to say I’m feeling a lot better about the half now than I was after the terrible long run last weekend and am actually getting pretty excited for it to be here – a week from Saturday! I decided I’m definitely NOT running 12 miles this weekend, and will instead do between 6 and 8 on Saturday as my last long run prior to the race. I’m also going to try to incorporate Bikram as much as possible between now and then, hopefully 2-3 times.

2011 National Half Marathon Logo

3. I had my second day of training for Weight Watchers Tuesday night and I still feel as great about it I did after day one. It’s kind of crazy how much I love it and look forward to it each week. I can’t wait to figure out which meeting I’ll be working at permanently once I’m fully trained!

weight-watchers

4. I made my lentil loaf again on Monday and I can’t get over how awesome and moist it is. This time, I added 2 servings of Annie’s Organic BBQ sauce to the top before baking and it made the whole loaf 30 pts+, or 5 pts+ for each serving since I made 6 large slices. I’ve been excited to have leftovers for lunch almost all week and have been looking forward to it each day because it’s so tasty. I have been loving make a big batch of something on Monday so I have access to quick meals during the week!

lentil loaf

4. I am super excited because I got an email about the Fitness and Health Bloggers Conference, a new healthy living conference this year, saying they were giving out scholarships. I applied for one and got it, so they comped my registration! I still have to get out to Boulder, CO (never been and can’t wait!) as well as get a hotel, but I’m so excited to have something else to look forward to on my schedule! Is anyone else attending this conference??

Fitness Health-LOGO-date

5. Last thing. I saw this going around the blog world a while back and wanted to do it myself – better late than never, right? Below are five things about me – four are true, and one is not.

  1. A police officer once asked me, “What’s your deal, Ms. Klein?”
  2. When I was little, my sisters convinced me to eat cat food because they told me it was people food, too.
  3. I pierced my own belly button when I was 16.
  4. I am the only member of my immediate family who has not been arrested.
  5. In high school, a cop told my parents that I was the “procurer of alcohol” for my town’s youth.

Can you guess which is the lie? Do you have any surprising truths?

32 Responses

  1. You are a machine! I love reading about your workouts…so motivating!

    Can’t wait to try the Lentil Loaf… I need to change up my lunches for work & this would fit perfect!

  2. I’m going to guess #3 is the lie

  3. I don’t know which one to guess! I’m going to go with #3 being the lie. I have no reasoning as to why! 🙂

    5 miles of intervals –wow!!! And I do think you are being smart for doing 6-8 miles on Saturday — you want fresh legs for your race!

    I would love to go to that conference — I’m looking at the info right now!

  4. HAHA wow, let me guess which one is a lie: #1…Those are crazy if some of them are true…can’t wait to find out!

  5. Either way, it seems a lot of your “facts” are law-related… look at you, Little Miss Troublemaker! lol

    I applaud anyone who does interval training for that long… nice work!

  6. Wow, your training sounds so intense! 5 miles of intervals is no joke =) Way to go! You are such an athlete!!!

    And congrats on that scholarship! That’s so awesome! I’ve never been to Colorado but I’ve always wanted to go as well.

  7. congrats on that scholarship!!! that’s awesome. i have no idea which one is a lie…but i’m hoping the belly button one because that hurts to think about!

  8. I hope #3 is a lie because that sounds painful!

  9. I am so making that loaf….I would never have thought to use lentils in a loaf…I wonder if you could use red lentils??

  10. LOL… I am going to guess #4.

    Also, very impressive workout! Good luck with the race… and can’t wait to see what you’re wearing! 😉

  11. I’m guessing #5 because you should have been too young…
    Congrats on the intervals – that is beyond my training plan. And, it’s smart to cut back the long run the week before the race. Good luck!

    • Thanks! Trust me, I’ve been building up for almost 3 months consistently to get here! Intervals are killer, but I always feel like a million bucks afterwards.

  12. Boulder is a nice city. I went to CU for my master’s degree. It has changed a lot, though!

  13. Beth- I live in Denver, CO. It is about an hour from Boulder. Boulder is a really cool place and I think you’ll love it. I wonder how the altitude will affect your running? It is pretty high!

    • I’ve heard that! I actually will be flying into Denver and am planning on staying for a little extra before/after the conference. Maybe we can do lunch or coffee or something cool in Denver! =)

  14. You have a lot of police related ones. I am going to guess that you have never actually been arrested? I can’t wait to find out which one isn’t the true one.

  15. Yummmmmm im going to cook that lentil loaf tomorrow it sounds right up my street!

  16. I’m going for #3!

  17. Beth, where do you get your training ideas and routines from? (I apologize if you have posted about this before…I am a relatively new reader!) You seem to have such good strategies and I was curious what resources you use that I could also possibly reference (good websites, etc). I’m still debating whether or not to run my first half marathon so I keep wandering over here for inspiration!

  18. I got the scholarship tooooooooooooo!

    See you at the conference, fellow DC-er! (and if you’re looking for a roommate…)

  19. I just got the FT7 for a gift…. why the heck doesnt it show distance!! GRRRR

  20. Wow! Awesome job on that workout. Definitely sounds like a tough tough tough one.

    I’m really not sure..but I’m going to go with cat food.

  21. I think #4 is the lie.

  22. so glad that training is going well!! it’s crazy what a change you can see from the day you start a plan 🙂

    congrats on the scholarship!!

  23. I loved WW training too. I did mine in one weekend, 2 full days and I felt like I was in a weekend long meeting and felt so recharged. I love leading meeting. It is so much. I need to try the lentil loaf on a night my husband is not home, not a fan of veggie night. I will let you know when I try it.
    Keep inspiring me….

  24. i’m gonna guess # 4

  25. Hi, Beth! I was actually in your Tuesday WW meeting but didn’t say hello because 1) you were busy and 2) I didn’t want to be a stalker blog nerd. Maybe next time!

    Chelsea

    P.S: I am from CT, too!

Leave a Reply

