• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fun Fact Friday

Happy Friday! While I’m glad the days in the office are over today for the week, I actually have a conference this weekend so will be working both tomorrow and Sunday. The conference is local so I don’t have to travel for it, but that still means no break until the day of my half marathon which is kind of scary!

Last night I went to Bikram for the first time in a few weeks and had a particularly hard class. I think it was because it was so warm outside yesterday so the room was hotter than usual. I was getting a little light headed even though I drank a ton of water throughout the day and had plenty of gatorade and water during the class itself. Whatever the case, I had to sit through a few of the postures and take it a little easier than I like to. I still felt amazing when I left though, and was happy to stretch and strengthen my body even though it wasn’t my best class.

Fun Fact Friday

So it’s kind of sad how hard of a time I had coming up with something NOT true to add to the list of ridiculous things about my past that are true. All I could think of that wasn’t obvious was things like “I’ve never been on a hike” (true) and “I don’t like to dance” (also true).  I guess I was pretty outrageous way back when.

I thought it would be fun to give you a little more info about each of the things so you can know how I used to be much cooler than I am now. 😉

#1 – A police officer once asked me, “What’s your deal, Ms. Klein?” True.

I was driving back to DC from my parents house and for some reason I was using my mom’s car. She had taken the registration and insurance info out of the glove compartment, which I didn’t realize until after I was well on my way. I was being extremely responsible and breaking every rule related to driving – speeding, not wearing a seatbelt, didn’t have my license on me, and no insurance/registration info. Then, my phone rang and I went to pick it up and swerved. Very safe, I know.

Needless to say, I got pulled over and when the cop asked for my license and registration, and I had neither, he went over every rule I was breaking and said, “What’s your deal, Ms. Klein?” I think he was just so taken aback by how many things I was doing wrong that he didn’t know what to do, and somehow I got away without a ticket and with a great story..

#2 – When I was little, my sisters convinced me to eat cat food because they told me it was people food, too. True.

Not too much to say about this one. I am the youngest of three and just wanted them to like me! Still working on that… 🙂

#3 – I pierced my own belly button when I was 16. True.

It seemed like a good idea at the time, but it turned out that it was not in fact a good idea. It hurt A LOT, got infected, and I still have scarring from that great decision.

#4 – I am the only member of my immediate family who has not been arrested. LIE.

I know I look really innocent, but I was in fact arrested when I was 18. I grew up in a really small town in Connecticut where everyone knew everyone. Knowing that, I still decided it was a good idea to buy alcohol for a prom party at a liquor store in my town, using my older sister’s ID. The fact that I purchased a case of Smirnoff Ice should have given it away right then and there, but when I walked out of the store with said alcohol and was recognized by another owner of the liquor store, it quickly went downhill.

I left the scene and actually didn’t hear anything for a few months, thinking I was in the clear. Then, literally as I was packing my car up to leave for DC to come to college, the call came. They had a warrant for my arrest and I had to go turn myself in. So, with the car fully loaded with clothes, toiletries, and my new comforter for college, I stopped at the police station and smiled for my mug shot before heading the rest of the way to GWU.

I got off pretty easy, just having to do 50 hours of community service and it was expunged from my record, but it was pretty traumatic at the time. For the other consequence, see #5.

#5 – In high school, a cop told my parents that I was the “procurer of alcohol” for my town’s youth. True.

I was a really good at making decisions, no?

Please share something random about yourself or your past in the comments. I love to get to know my readers and other bloggers better!

20 Responses

  1. Oh small town Southbury 🙂

    Also, since you have never been on a hike, I think we should go when you come out here for the conference – some really beautiful hikes right outside town (I walk to them from my apartment) 🙂

  2. I got in trouble with the police for underage drinking too! I had to do alcohol classes and get drug tested afterwards.
    We should take a day trip to the Shenandoahs this summer and break your no-hike streak!

  3. Beth! what a story!!!

    I have never been arrested, but I have been tazed! I’ve also been drunk inside a police station on two different occasions.

    But those stories aren’t super exciting since I volunteered to do all of those things — they were all events that people could come and watch what the cops do. It was a blast!

  4. Wow – that arrest story is cray-cray! (I’m actually surprised they waited so long to come after you!

    One random fact about me (well, more about me and my sister, not just me)…We went to the same college for one semester, her freshman year, my “super senior” (5th year, fall semester). Anyhow, we were driving down the highway at about 10pm in my car – Tam was driving and i was in the passenger seat with the map light on because I was crocheting. Apparently it looked like I was packing a bowl or something because as soon as the cop saw us pass by with the light on & me fiddling with something in my lap we got pulled over! You should have SEEN his face when he saw the ball of yarn and a frigging scarf – I swear his eyeballs bugged out so far! Bet he didn’t see THAT one coming!

  5. Wow your teenage years were far more adventurous than mine! I spent a lot of after school hours on the math team and in the yearbook room. Random fact would be that I had a nose job when I was 15. Looking back, it seems young! But glad I did it then.

  6. Those are awesome stories!!

    Somehow I’ve managed to not get in any trouble as a result of my shennanigans, which sometimes I find very hard to believe. I think the stupidest thing I ever did was climb 2, 6 ft tall chain link fences while drunk and running across campus to find my friends who had left me. The fences were in my way and rather than trying to figure out a way around them, I just climbed them. Did I mention I was in a skirt at the time? And that I fell? And that the insides of my thighs were brusied for a month from getting hung up on top of one fence? I was a bawling mess by the time I got to my friend’s dorm, likely with eye makeup running down my face. Lovely!

  7. lol your stories make me laugh. I gave my parents quite the heartache during the teenage years. I was “difficult” to deal with. Looking back, I feel bad for them!

  8. Haha that’s so crazy! I’ve never really gotten myself in to trouble, so that’s good! I’ve gotten pulled over a few times for speeding, but no tickets!

  9. Those stories are too funny!

  10. I got my belly button pierced when I turned 18. It got so infected, it was horrible! Then during each pregnancy the scars stretched so bad, horrible decision on my part!!!!

  11. I also tried to pierce my belly button when I was 16. I say tried because it didn’t work…probably because I was using a safety pin!
    Where did these ideas come from…?!

  12. This is such a great post!

    As for me, I’ve had my belly button pierced twice only to find out that I’m allergic to all metals!

  13. Living in a small town can be so stressful, everyone finds out everything so quickly!

    Random fact about me, I am the only person in my family to not play hockey and the only person to break any bones – twice! My arm.

  14. Haha, the story of your arrest is hilarious! I especially like the end– the delinquent casually stopping by the police station to get a mug shot taken before heading off to college!

  15. I also pierced my own belly button when I was 16. I wore a safety pin in it for over week before it got horribly infected! I still have a scar. As for the arrest…I too thought I got away with something once only to get called into the station months later. The cop said they were a little behind on their warrants. lol

Leave a Reply

