• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

The Best One

Can I just tell you what a 180 today’s run was from last week’s? Granted, I only went 7 miles instead of 11, but if this gives you any indication, afterwards I felt like this:

Can’t fake that!

Rewind a little bit – last night I went to a little comedy show that I read about in the local paper at the Velvet Lounge in DC. It’s funny because the show was early (started at 7pm) and let’s just say the place wasn’t as impressive in daylight. The show, however, was AWESOME and only $5! It was 2 hours with 6 or 7 different comics, and my friend Jillian and I were right up front. It was HYSTERICAL. The headliner was Nikki Glaser who was on Last Comic Standing, and she is this cute little midwestern girl who is so raunchy. You would never expect her to say what comes out of her mouth by looking at her, and she had the whole crowd laughing the entire time she was on stage.

Because I knew I was going to run this morning, I didn’t drink at the bar (probably also why it was less impressive than by night). I had some seltzer and just kind of laughed along when each of the comics asked if everyone was drinking and the rest of the audience shouted YES! back. Glad to report I had an awesome time even though I didn’t have a sip, which is not something I usually do (go to a bar and don’t drink).

I was up a little later than planned last night, so was not thrilled when my alarm went off at 7:30am on a Saturday, but up I got. I toasted an english muffin before I set out on the run and didn’t bring a water bottle or Camelbak with me just so I could get out the door quicker. The weather was GORGEOUS and perfect for running, and off I went! I had a packet of Sports Beans (100 cals) that I ate from mile 4-5 and I seriously felt like a million bucks during most of the run – such a 180 from last week. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Mile 1: 9:16
  • Mile 2: 9:37
  • Mile 3: 9:31
  • Mile 4: 9:18
  • Mile 5: 9:17
  • Mile 6: 9:03
  • Mile 7: 9:07
  • Total: 1 hour 5 min 10 sec – 9:18 pace (!!!)

That is probably the fastest I’ve ever run 7 miles, and I felt amazing afterwards. I’m feeling a lot better about next Saturday’s half marathon and can’t believe I only have a 4 miler and 30 minute tempo run left before then!

After the run, I ate a piece of Ezekiel 4:9 toast with peanut butter made from peanut flour, vanilla extract, and water. (30 grams peanut flour = 16 grams of protein)

I also made a quick smoothie to go with it.

Coconut milk, frozen strawberries, and frozen mango. It was tasty, but missing something – a banana! I’m totally out of bananas and if I don’t eat one today, this will be the first day in MONTHS I haven’t had at least one. I have a banana every morning with breakfast (or for a morning snack) and sometimes another one later in the day. For smoothies, it adds such a creamy sweetness, so without it, it just feels like something’s missing!

I’m off to head to the conference for work for the rest of the day and will be staying at the hotel overnight, so you won’t hear from me until Monday morning. Make the most of your weekend!!

Is there any food you eat every single day?

28 Responses

  1. Great job on the run Beth! I have to have a Pink Lady apple every.single.day. I’m obsessed!

  2. yay for the run! you look fabulous too 🙂 i have to eat oatmeal every day. enjoy your weekend!

  3. Great run Beth!

    I have never seen any comics live, but last night I watched the Roast of Donald Trump on comedy central and I laughed my ass off. It was hilarious.

    Have a nice weekend!

  4. Aren’t those runs THE BEST!!? I ran for the first time outside this week –since Sept– and it was wonderful!!

  5. I haven’t gone to a comedy show in AGES. Sort of miss it because it was a thing my friends and I would regularly do in college…

  6. I definitely eat a banana every weekday (skip the weekends sometimes) and when I have them on hand, I’ll eat a hard-boiled egg every day! I just have to remember to boil them regularly enough. I also usually have milk in some form daily, though I’ve cut back a lot. I’ll either have it in a small bowl of cereal or a glass with peanut butter or something.

  7. I usually eat a string cheese and an apple at some point every day… congrats on a great run!

  8. I HAVE to have a salad made with fancy greens every day! I love your blog and have a request that you repeat the recipe for lentil loaf. I bought the lentils but lost the recipe!! Thanks

  9. Wow Beth – it’s so fun to see your runs averaging in the 9min/mi range! Seems like just yesterday you were posting about how fast 10+min/mi runs felt! I hope I can improve my speed the same way you have!

  10. you are a rockstar!! your splits are getting so speedy!

  11. Way to go on your times!!
    Greek yogurt is something I have every day!
    I am sadly now allergic to bananas… Darn adult onset allergies!! My smoothies are usually Greek yogurt, kale, fruit, protein powder and ice+vitamix=YUM!!

  12. AMAZING job on your run!! Love reading those stats since they are my inspiration and proof that I can get there, too!! I am also a banana lover, I have 2 a day…I mentioned in a post this week that I will have an anxiety attack if I don’t have my produce, and that is no lie 😉 I love my fruit, tofu pudding, oats, PB and some form of chocolate….it is just a party of my life!!!!

  13. Congrats on the beauuutiful feelin’ 7 miles! You’re amazin’ girl! And I know what you mean about smoothies feeling quite lackster-like when a banana isn’t in the picture. When I went off yogurt and blended fruit with rice milk, all I got was colorful, cold soup without a banana. But now that bananas are back in allll the smoothies I consume, I could never go without. Bananas are a-mazin! I eat 2 a day without fail, and sometimes act a little crazy beans and eat 2.5.

    Hope everything goes well at the conference!

  14. Hi, I wanted to thank you for the comment on my guest post for Fluffernutter Cupcakes on Jenna’s blog. It means a lot to me.

    Wow I’m impressed with your run! Great job. 🙂

    I eat an apple everyday 🙂

    Lindsey @ Gingerbread Bagels

  15. There’s nothing more satisfying than having a good run! Great job Beth!

  16. Congrats on the run! Being a post-op I have to get a lot of protein in every day and I struggle with a lot of the protein powders. With that being said I drink Click protein every morning and I really can’t live without it. It’s like drinking a coffee from Starbuck’s.. 🙂

  17. Great job! You are a running natural these days!

    I am the same way with bananas and spinach. Have to have both or I feel off. 🙂

    Have fun at your conference!

  18. How right you are….can’t fake that post run glow! I have 2 cups of Honey Spins (Wal-mart generic Cheerios) with 1% milk everyday!

  19. Probably bananas. Or tortillas.

    Great run! Strong running does so much to boost confidence. After just running a marathon in a crazy storm, I envy your perfect running weather.

  20. Beth, you can totally see your collar bone in that pic! Great job on the run. Gosh, I can’t imagine running such a consistent, fast seven miles. Way to go!

    And yeah, like you, I always eat a banana every day. But today is a sad day because I’m out of bananas =(

  21. Hi Beth. I have a question. I’m starting a running program this week. The famous “c25k.” I noticed that you have several runner’s watches. In this post you have a Forerunner 305 but I believe I’ve seen you donning a Garmin.

    Do you have a recommendation for me for a beginner runner. I’m not looking for anything pricey. In fact I don’t even know how much they cost but I can’t see them being over $100.

    Thanks!

    • Hi Kandi! I have a Polar FT7(doesn’t measure distance, just calorie burn, heart rate, and time) and a Garmin 305(does measure distance, heart rate, and calorie burn, but doesn’t work if you’re not moving ). The Polar is around $90 on Amazon and the Garmin $127 currently. I like both for different reasons. The Garmin is awesome when you’re running or biking outside because it measures distance and pace, but it stinks it doesn’t work inside/when you’re standing still. The Polar is awesome for measuring heart rate/calorie burn, but doesn’t track distance. I got my Garmin first, and then got the Polar several months later.

      • Thanks so much for the info. They need a watch that does heart rate, calories PLUS distance and pace. I think I’ll check out the Garmin.

        Thanks again!

        Kandi

  22. It is funny you say that about having to have your banana everyday…is it since WW made fruits zero points+ or have you always eaten lots of bananas? I ask because at a WW meeting in January, the leader was joking with us that prior to the change to points+, when they would empty the garbage pails after a meeting, they would be full of coffee cups, but now that fruits are free, the garbage pails are always full of banana peels! Seems nobody was willing to part with 2 points before, but now that they are free, everyone is loving their bananas again!! haha

  23. What an awesome run, good for you!

    I have a banana every single day in some form, either straight up or mixed into a smoothie or yogurt, it’s my absolute favorite fruit, I love bananas!

  24. […] to make sure you are good to go on race day with (hopefully) no surprises. I’ve definitely had my ups and downs with training, and most of it can all be directly traced back to how well (or poorly) I […]

  25. […] most intrigued by the peanut flour. I’ve seen Beth on Beth’s Journey (she’s my current blog favorite as she prepares to run her second 1/2 marathon tomorrow!) […]

  26. […] to make sure you are good to go on race day with (hopefully) no surprises. I’ve definitely had my ups and downs with training, and most of it can all be directly traced back to how well (or poorly) I […]

Leave a Reply

