• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Five Focuses

I realize that many items on the following list are things that I should be doing anyway, but let’s be real. There are many days when I stay up a little too late, have one (or five) too many cocktails, or don’t drink as much water as I know I should.

most-people

With my half marathon coming up on Saturday, I want to be extra strict about what I put into my body and how I treat it so that I can run the best race that I am capable of. I know that by now I’ve put in enough training for that, but following the things on my list will ensure that I’m also properly rested and fueled come 7am (yuck!) on Saturday morning.

Five Focuses

  1. Eat Clean. I try to eat pretty clean anyway, but there are definitely areas I still struggle with. I really want to focus on avoiding anything processed this week, eating tons of fruits and veggies, whole grains, and protein.
  2. No Alcohol. This one should be a breeze going forward since I have nothing really lined up, but I had two challenges with not drinking already – dinner on Saturday night, and a reception at the conference last night. Both times I stuck with seltzer with lime while others were drinking, when I normally would have been drinking too. Because I made my mind up before I even went it wasn’t too difficult and I was proud of myself for sticking to the plan.
  3. Lots of Water. Weight Watchers suggests drinking six 8oz glasses of water a day, so each day I drink at least 48 oz of water while at my desk at work, and then more when I get home. I know that I personally need more than that, so this week, my goal is to have 72 oz of water (3 bottles instead of 2) at work.
  4. Extra Sleep. I have been failing miserably in this department – staying up way too late and getting under 7 hours of sleep a night. I know some people can still function well off of just a little sleep, but that is just not me. I am a zombie and not fun to be around if I’m cranked out from not getting enough shut eye. My focus for this week is to be in bed no later than 11pm each night for this week (and I should stick with it afterward the race but we’ll see what happens).
  5. Stretching/Strengthening. I’ve been slacking in this department as well, but last Thursday I went to Bikram, and then yesterday I did The Shred (level 3 which was SO hard!!!). My plan is to try to go to Bikram this Thursday evening again, and make extra time for stretching after my runs, which should be doable since this week they are shorter than they have been (4 miles and 30 minutes tempo).

I want to finish the race looking at least this happy.

sohappy

With my first half marathon, my goal was just to finish. There was little pressure besides don’t die and hopefully be able to walk after, but this time around I have loftier goals so I have to be extra cautious about how I approach this week. I’ll do another post about my specific goals for the race (and goal setting in general) later this week, but bottom line is I know that I have to really focus to make them happen!

On average, how many (1) hours of sleep do you get a night and (2) much water do you drink a day?

41 Responses

  1. I average 7 hours of sleep per night. I wake up really early (though that will be changing), so I try and get to bed by 9:30 and wake up by 5:30, but that’s usually the maximum amount of sleep I’ll get. 7 is a good number for me though.

    I drink 32 ounces from my water bottle, then usually a can of LaCroix, then 1-3 glasses of iced tea. Does WW say anything about pure water vs. iced tea vs. carbonated water? I have heard some criticism that unless you’re drinking pure water, then it doesn’t count. I like flavor though, so I think as long as water is the only ingredient other than natural flavor or tea, it still counts!

    • Hi Stacy! I think it’s 6 glasses of any liquid, better if its non caffeinated. It used to be only water, but they changed it to “liquid” so that it includes seltzer, tea, and other flavored stuff!

  2. I usually get 6-7 hours of sleep per night — every once in a while I get more than that — and believe me I love more sleep!!!

    I drink tons of water — I have a Camelbak bottle that holds 24 oz and I fill that at least 4 times per day. Water is no problem for me!

  3. I usually get between 6 and 9 hours of sleep, it’s different all the time. I naturally wake up after around 6 hours, but end up going back to sleep, especially if it’s cold, lol.

    I drink lots of water, but usually only when I am thirsty or “hungry” or with a meal.

  4. I’m usually in bed by 11 and wake up between 6 and 7, sometimes earlier or later, depending on what I have planned for the day. As for water, I try to drink two water 24oz bottles at work and I usually drink at least another glass or two at home. I also drink unsweetened tea all the time, which I know doesn’t really count, but it is a lot of added liquid consumption.

  5. I try for 8, but I think it is usually closer to 6 or 7. I’m going to try to up it this week for the race tho, thanks for the reminder!

  6. I usually get between 6 and 8 hours a night. And surprisingly, I function better when I’m in the 6 range rather than 8! But if I drop below 6 I’m in a world of hurt.

    I keep a 24oz Tervis Tumbler (best cups EVER) on my desk & try to drink at least 3 per day. I can always tell if I’m slacking because I get really sluggish. the weekends are when I struggle – without the glass (or bottle) right by me I tend to forget to stay hydrated.

    • We are opposites! i’m a zombie with 6 hours of sleep and peppy and cheerful with 8! =) I have more trouble with water on the weekends too for the same reason!

  7. I typically get 7-8 hours of sleep a night, which I need. I’m a raging b*tch on no sleep. As for water I drink like 60 oz at least. I constantly drink water all day.

    • haha same story with me. I tried to put a positive spin on it but euphemism aside, you don’t want to be around me if I haven’t gotten enough sleep. 🙂

  8. I usually get 7-8 hours of sleep (except for last night’s measly 6!) and drink TONS during the day. I think I usually get 100+ oz of water a day. I’ve got a 20 oz water bottle that I fill up at least 4 times during the work day and then I drink some at home too. 🙂 Yay water!

  9. If I can get 5 good hours of sleep, I do okay. Water: ha, not near enough. You are doing great. I just began following you and can’t wait to begin running!

    • Hi Brenda! Glad you found me! =) Check out the “How I started running” post in the Top Posts section – I only started running less than 2 years ago and could barely go for 90 seconds! And I’m impressed – I would be a zombie with just 5 hours of sleep!!

  10. I usually get about 6 hours of sleep a night. I would love to get more, but its not going to happen lately.

    I also drink TONS of water during the week, but have a hard time on the weekend. I’ve gotten better by buying cans of seltzer. I luuuurve seltzer.

  11. I’m usually happy with 7 hours of sleep. Often I get maybe closer to 6-6.5, and that’s just “ok”, but a 7-8 hour night makes me feel just fab! 🙂

    I’ve cut out wine during the week and am slowing the drinking a little more in preparation for my upcoming race. Who knew when you’re not paying attention, how many times you actually drink during any given week?

  12. You will do great. I hear ya on the sleep. I am always tired around 9pm but I have gotten in a nasty habit of just staying up till 11 or 12 anyways. I have to learn to listen to myself!

  13. Hi! – I’ve been a “lurker” for awhile but decided to comment today~~ I am SOOOO excited for your 1/2 marathon! You are going to kill it! – I’m running my first one on May 1st so I’m reading every little detail you document about it~ Thanks!! BTW…you look amazing!!

    • Hi Jodie! I’m so glad you stopped by and said hi today! I hope I kill it and promise to dish out all the details. Good luck on your half – May 1 will be here before we know it!

  14. i’m planning on making my own list like this for Boston. I realistically do not think I can totally cut alcohol out, but I can definitely limit the amount I consume. Same with eating healthy foods.

    I usually am good about water consumption. i have a bottle at my desk that i refill all day. when im not at work, it’s a bit more of a struggle for me.

  15. Great focuses! I love how goal oriented you are; it’s inspiring 🙂
    I get about 7 hours of sleep a night and probably drink 6 glasses of water throughout the day!

  16. Anymore, I HAVE to get 8 hours of sleep or more or else I can’t function. It’s a far cry from the days I lived on 3-4…

    I am trying to drink more water and I do so well at work but it’s when I get home I slack. Even with a Brita, I HATE my borough’s water! Drinking multiple bottled waters seems like such a “waste” to me. I need to try making Crystal Light or something, I guess. Maybe that will help the taste of my water.

  17. I’ve been trying REALLY hard to drink more water. I don’t know why I am so lazy about drinking water because I like it. I’m just lazy. 🙂

  18. I get around 7 hours of sleep, less than that and I’m super crab the next day!
    I’m doing better on drinking more water than diet coke during the day, but some days it’s really hard!!

  19. I used to require a full 8 hours of sleep in order to function. That has been altered somewhat since I gave birth to my daughter just over 8 months ago! haha…for a while I was thrilled to get 5 a night and actually was okay! It is amazing how your body adapts, though, because now that she is sleeping through the night regularly, I am back to needing 8 myself! As for the water, I try to drink 8 glasses a day, but definitely view it as a chore.It is all I drink during the day besides my cup of coffee in the morning.
    I am still on the fence about signing up for the OC half on May 1st, but keep popping back up here to get some inspiration/motivation to do it! haha…excited your race is coming up so soon!

    • I can’t even imagine what will happen to my sleep schedule once babies coming along! It’s great only having to worry about me (for now). 🙂

  20. I wish I got more sleep – I’m ok GETTING to sleep, staying to sleep is my challenge. And water? I’m getting better and have a good 8 glasses or more a day. Good luck on the countdown to the race, you’ll be great!!!

    • I have a LOT of trouble staying asleep too! Last night my boyfriend said “lights out!” after I had already dozed off and I woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep for 2 hours. It sucked!!

  21. First, so excited about your half-marathon. You’re going to do great! 🙂 I think sleep has a lot (more than you would think) on health overall. I try to get anywhere between 7-8. I cannot function well otherwise. And, it just then trickles to other bad eating habits. Sleep is key. I also try to drink about 8 glasses of water but I usually range around 6.

    • Good point about the eating habits as they relate to sleep. When we’re cranky/sleep deprived its so much harder to resist temptations and want to eat well!

  22. YAY for the half-marathon! Remember, the most important day before a Saturday race is Thursday. Get a REALLY good night sleep that night and make sure you rest up! Don’t do anything too crazy at yoga, because muscles get sore 2 days after workouts and you don’t want to be tight on race day. Good luck!

  23. Good luck on your race! I’m sure you’ll do great! 🙂

    I get maybe around 6 hours of sleep…I tend to stay up too late and then drag in the morning. I also get embarrassingly little water. Like maybe 2 cups of actual water, a cup of coffee, and say 2-3 cups of tea per day! I really need to work on increasing this!

  24. If I don’t get at least 8 hours of sleep, I’m a total mess. I don’t drink as much water as I should, but I try to drink at least 3 20 ounce bottles a day, coupled with all the fruits and veggies I eat, coffee, etc. I do okay. I could definitely be better though.

  25. I usually only get seven hours…but I would love ten! Especially in winter. I do manage to drink lots of water though. Good luck during your race!

  26. great things to focus on beth! i really need 8 hours a night and i do not drink enough water……i know i should but it is tough! can’t wait for your race….i know you will do great!

  27. […] to take it easy-ish this week with the RnR coming up and all, my goals are very much in line with this post that Beth wrote.  Yoga, spin, last minute speed drills and mayhaps a Body Pump class are all on […]

  28. You are doing great!!! I get about 7 hours if I am lucky…usually interrupted but the babe has been good this week 😉 I drink 12-14 glasses of water a day. I aim to have 7 glasses done by the time I eat lunch…I may or may not be a little obsessive about being on schedule with my water intake…..;)

  29. I need a lot of sleep, too. I used to tell myself that I didn’t, but I think I actually need more than 8 hours to feel well rested. Most days of the week, I get in bed around 9 or 10 (it took awhile to develop this habit) and I wake up anywhere between 5:30 and 7:30, depending on how tired I am I guess. I drink more than a gallon of water every day. I don’t count, but I always make sure to have a full water bottle nearby and I sip out of it all day long.

  30. I am in bed at 9, and up at 5:30. So roughly 8 hours each night, because it takes me at least 30 minutes to fall asleep thanks to the snoring that comes from my husband and overweight weiner dog that are in bed with me.

Leave a Reply

