• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Choice Race Gear

They always say you should never wear, eat, or do anything new during a race that you haven’t tried out before. The weeks of training leading up to race day are not only to get your body physically ready to run the distance, but to also test out different fueling and hydration techniques to make sure you are good to go on race day with (hopefully) no surprises. I’ve definitely had my ups and downs with training, and most of it can all be directly traced back to how well (or poorly) I fueling during the run.

With that in mind, I thought I’d show you guys the gear I plan to wear tomorrow for my half marathon (and that I use for running most long distances in general). For shorter distances, all you really need is a good pair of shoes and some comfortable clothes, but once you get into longer runs (over 6 miles for me), you need to start thinking about hydrating and fueling during the run itself. Here’s what I’ll be sporting tomorrow!

1. Brooks Adrenaline GTS 10

Brooks Adrenaline GTS

I absolutely LOVE my shoes. I’ve tried a bunch of different ones, and these are the ones that fit me best and leave my feet feeling great after a long run. They are light, airy, and super comfortable with moderate support. I was actually wearing the wrong sized shoe for more than a year when I first started running in April 2009. I was wearing 9.5 instead of 9 wide, and it’s made a HUGE difference. Go to a specialty running store and get sized and buy the shoes at the store since they helped you. After you’ve found your shoe, you can buy replacements online for cheaper. I’ll be purchasing my third pair of these after my race!

2. Garmin 305

Now this one isn’t essential for everyone, but I just love my Garmin for outdoor running. It’s great to be able to see exactly how far you’ve run (to the hundredth of a mile!), your current pace, how fast your last mile was, calorie burn, and what time it is (it is a watch after all!). I wear my Garmin anytime I exercise outside (run or bike), but especially on race day, I want to be able to keep track of how I’m doing! (Mental note: Make sure this is charged!)

3. Camelbak Hydration Pack

camelbak-annadel-pack

I’ve experimented with and own many different types of water bottles including a fuel belt and hand-held water bottle, but the CamelBak is hands down my favorite for long distance running. It’s great not having to carry anything in your hands, and the one I have holds 1.5 liters which is perfect for any distance I’ve run to date. Though this seems counter intuitive, you can’t even tell its there because the fit is perfect, plus it’s super easy to drink from while you’re on the go. I didn’t wear my CamelBak during my first half – I just stopped at the water stations for water/gatorade, but this time I’m planning on wearing it so I don’t have to stop as much. It also has pockets to hold ID, keys, phone, and anything else you might need.

4. Spibelt

spibelt

I never knew how much I’d love the Spibelt when I first bought it if I’m being totally honest. It doesn’t move around at all while you’re running and holds so much more stuff than it looks like it would. I mostly use it for fuel during races and runs because it’s easier to access than if it’s in the pocket of the CamelBak. I’m planning on stuffing it with all the GUs and Sports Beans I need for during the race so they are easy to grab when I need them. Most race expos carry them – I got mine the day before my first half marathon and I’ve used it many, many times since then.

5. Sports Beans and GU

sportsbeans gu_vanilla_bean

These are my two running fuels of choice, and I’ve tried pretty much everything out there. I actually like the taste of the Sports Beans a lot and they really feel like I’m eating candy so it makes me happy, but the GUs are easier to take down quickly, so I will be using a combination of the two during my race. My favorite flavors are Lemon Lime for the Sports Beans (tastes like Gatorade Jelly Beans) and Vanilla Bean for the GUs. My plan for tomorrow is to have 2-3 GUs (200-300 calories) and 1-2 packets of Sports Beans (100-200 calories) during the race. I’ll have 4 GUs and 2 packets of beans with me just in case!

I have to freak out for one second… I can’t believe my half marathon is tomorrow!!! AHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

Ok, done. 🙂

What is your #1 most essential workout accessory? If you’re a runner, what is your favorite type of running fuel (beans, shotblocks, gus, gummy bears, honey, etc)?

39 Responses

  1. Good luck tomorrow! You will rock 😀

    I personally love coconut water!

  2. I have the exact same running shoes! Love ’em. Nice and cushioned.

    I guess my essential workout accessory is a swimsuit. Methinks that the pool management would frown on naked swimmers. Most days.

  3. I love sport beans and clif shot bloks. I’ve tried those honey packets but I don’t like the texture and my mouth just feels coated afterward and it bothers me!

    Well I have to go with my shoes as being my favorite accessory, but other than that I need water, chapstick, tissues, sport beans and my phone!

  4. The vanilla bean tastes like frosting. I sort of love it. :p

    Happy Friday!!!

  5. i love gu espresso love 🙂 you are gonna do great beth! can’t wait for your race recap!

  6. My #1 workout accessory is SUNGLASSES! I wear them on every run, even if it’s not very sunny. Mainly because I have a paranoia about being out there and getting something stuck in my eye, either from wind or from a car kicking something up.

    As for fuel – I use a mix of Gu Chomps and the Gu Gels. Perfect combo for me!

    Hope you have a wonderful race – can’t wait to see the recap!

    • Ohhhh good point! I need to add that to my list as to not forget them since it’ll be pitch black when I leave for the race!

  7. iPod! Don’t forget to charge that too 😉

  8. Good luck, Beth!!!

  9. Girl it looks like we have similar tastes in gear! Best of luck tomorrow, you’re going to rock it!

  10. We have almost all of the same gear – just a different brand of sneakers. You’ll do great tomorrow Beth! 🙂

  11. Wow I’m so excited for you! You are a very well organized person! You are gonna do so well tomorrow!

    My workout necessity: iPod!

  12. My husband swears by Brooks and they have done him well despite his foot pain issues in the past. I think my absolute essential running accessory is water. I feel like just having it with me helps. I usually leave it behind b/c I hate carrying it.

  13. Oh thank you! This is totally the post I was hoping that you would do! I have been so interested to see the types of gear you use for your running.
    So excited for you and your run tomorrow! Goooooood luck!!!

  14. Good luck tomorrow- you are so awesome!

    I always run with my spibelt and my ipod. I can’t imagine running without music.

  15. Good Luck Girl!! I’m so excited for you, I’ll be sending positive vibes your way tomorrow! ~ Can’t wait for the recap! Your gonna rock it!

  16. I have the Brooks Ravenna shoes and I LOVE them. They are like magic on my feet. I will never run in any other shoe!

  17. Good luck tomorrow!! Can’t wait to read all about it

  18. For newbie runners, I can’t help but emphasize the point about shoes. I was running in the wrong ones and because of foot and leg pain, never got past week 2 of the C25K program. But now with my shoes, I’m running pain free and it is life changing!

    Good luck tomorrow Beth! You’re going to do awesome!

  19. I would love a spibelt!

  20. I am not into long distances yet, but I always wear my camel pak. I seem to get light headed, dizzy and weak if I am not drinking water while running. Not sure what that is all about, but I just make sure to stay hydrated…I already drink 12-14 glasses of water a day so hopefully it will get better! Good Luck on your 1/2…that is SO amazing!!! I cannot wait to hear all about it :):)

  21. I’m so so sooo excited for you and your second half tomorrow!! You’re going to feel amazing and strong with all the training (mental + physical) you’ve downed, and I’m stoked for ya girl 🙂

    I have never run over 8 miles, so I haven’t experienced with on-the-run fuel yet, but I’m excited to play around during my half marathon training and see what suits me!

  22. Good luck tomorrow! I think shot blocks are yummy, but it’s so hard to chew and run at the same time!

  23. Yay, so excited for you!!!! You will do so awesome!

    My essential items are my iPod and Polar heart rate monitor, but I haven’t reached distances that require refueling on the road. 🙂

    GOOD LUCK! HAVE FUN!

  24. I trained mainly with GU Chomps (watermelon flavor) for my half marathon. But they take up a lot of space in a fuel belt. For the last few of my long runs, I tried GU Roctane gel (with caffeine). I disliked the taste, but loved the effect of the caffeine. To carry water, I used a Nathan fuel belt, but left it off for races. I also have an iFitness belt.

    For anything less than 10 miles, I usually don’t take anything with me, but I eat beforehand and stick to a route I know will have water fountains.

    Hope you had a good race.

  25. So great to meet you and can’t wait to read your recap!

  26. Hey Beth, so fun to meet you on Saturday! Looking forward to next weekend’s race. I’ll be there with my Shotblocks – definitely my fuel of choice. 🙂

  27. Hi Beth…I have a question for you. Does the camelbak water carrier have a place to hold your gels, keys, etc? Why do you still need the belt thingy? Or do you only wear the belt if you don’t have the camelbak with you for a run? Just trying to figure all this running gear out!

    • Sounds like you found the answer, but basically I use the belt just so I can easily access what’s in there. I have to take off the camelbak to get the stuff thats in there, but its great for holding phone, keys, post workout fuel, etc.

  28. nevermind…I didn’t read carefully and just saw your explanation!

Leave a Reply

