• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Awesome April

March turned out to be a pretty incredible month for me, especially since I’m still riding high from PRing at my half marathon this past Saturday. It was also pretty monumental for me because I started and finished training for Weight Watchers, and worked my first official meeting this past week. This was a huge long term goal that I’ve had my eyes on since I started following the program over two years ago, so I’m really happy it finally came to be.

Let’s take a look at last month’s goals and how I did with each of them.

Marvelous March Goals

1. Kill the half marathon on March 26th!! You can see the race recap here, but I PRed by shaving 5:32 off my time from my first half! I’d say check on this one!

finishermedal

2. Follow my half marathon training plan, continuing to focus on speed work and long runs! Check! I built up to the hardest run of my training plan – 5 miles of intervals – and went up to 11 miles on the long training runs.

3. Focus on strength training at least once a week, hopefully twice. Half check. I strength trained 3x during the entire month of March and wasn’t very consistent.

4. Post one new step-by-step recipe on here each week. March was an awesome month for new recipes! I had new recipes for Mini Mexican Casseroles, Spinach and Artichoke Lasagna Bundles, Microwave Risotto, Lentil Bolognese Sauce and Tostones.

5. Stick to under $75 per week in groceries and post the shopping trip goods on here to show how to eat well on a budget! Yup! You can see Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, and Week 5.

6. Get below 166 pounds – even 165.8 will be great. I didn’t reach my goal of getting under 166 at my official weigh in, though I did see it at home on the scale a few times. Running long distances makes me HUNGRY and I am very in tune with eating when my body wants it so I didn’t quite make it there.

7. Start researching marathon training plans to get excited about the full marathon at the end of October. The high from the half marathon is still making me feel pretty good about the full marathon, and I did start doing some research on training plans which says I’ll have to start officially training towards the end of June.

All in all, I think I did pretty great with my goals for this month and I’m really proud of all that I accomplished! I do think that setting the goal of losing any weight while I was in the final stages of training for a half marathon was unrealistic, especially since most people gain weight during training for such events. But now that that’s over…

Awesome April Goals

1. Meal Planning Mondays. Continue to stick to a $75 weekly budget for groceries, and post grocery store loot and meal planning ideas each week.

2. Continue to exercise 3-4 times a week even though I’m not training for anything. I created another shared document (feel free to check in on me!!) so I can keep track of my workouts and calorie burn for the month (each on separate tabs), and to keep myself in check. I tend to have a hard time staying consistent with workouts if I’m not training for something, so I want to be careful about that!

3. Enjoy Sunday’s Cherry Blossom 10 Miler. Enough said.

CherryBlossom10MileRunlogo

4. Strength train 1-2 times per week. No excuses. This will include The Shred, Bikram, and weights in the gym. I really want to get stronger and more toned!!

5. Continue to run 1-2 times a week so I don’t lose it, but also do cross training at least once a week so I don’t get burnt out from running. It should be getting nicer out this month so hopefully I can do a lot of biking outside!!

6. Focus on zoning into my goal weight. I’d like to get to my goal of 160 in April, but I’ll be happy even if I make some progress towards it and don’t get exactly to goal. I really want to start training to become a Leader for WW which I can’t do until I reach Lifetime.

7. Post at least one video during the month of April on here. I got a Flip HD video camera so I can make videos, and it’s time to do it! Feel free to leave any requests if there are specific things you’d like to see.

8. Watch less TV and read more. I only read one book in March (I’m With Fatty which was AWESOME) so I’d like to read two in April. (Suggestions welcome!!)

9. Reorganize my kitchen and blog about it! My pantry/cabinets are SO disorganized you won’t even believe it. Well, maybe you will. One of the big projects I want to tackle in April is to clean out and reorganize everything in there. I’m actually kind of excited about it!

Questions for today:

  • What was the highlight of March for you?
  • What’s your biggest goal for April?
  • Is there anything you’d like to see on here that you don’t see or topics you’d like addressed that I haven’t yet?
36 Responses

  1. I failed pretty miserably at my March goals — eek! That is why I haven’t done a recap yet…and I’m still thinking about April goals. I want to be sure to pick the right goals that will challenge me but not overwhelm me.

    Looks like you did great in March and I love that you’ll do more videos — I think those are a great addition to any blog post.

  2. I like your “after training” plan. It’s what I want to do after this half is over- run a couple times a week, crosstrain a couple times a week, and not overwork myself!

  3. I’m looking forward to your video Beth. Also, I am interested in strength training and haven’t started doing it yet. Could you blog or video about how to get started in strength training? Will you be using just weights or any particular machine at the gym?

  4. I need to do the kitchen thing too! I’ve been meaning to reorganize and blogging it will make me do it, I think.

  5. Wow, you had a great month! Congrats again on your huge PR!

  6. Highlight of March for me was trying wedding dresses on and realizing that I fit into the dresses and smaller sizes than I thought I would! It’s funny how you perceive yourself as you are losing weight, to me I’m still that HUGE girl but clothes and people tell me otherwise! Hopefully my mind will catch up with me in April!

    • Trust me I can relate to that!! I still struggle with it when finding clothes because I feel like I look a lot bigger than I actually am. If you figure out the trick, let me know! =)

  7. I think my biggest food goal for April is to cut down on mindless snacking. I end up eating a whooooole lot of crap driving around in my car that way!

  8. Looking fwd to your videos! Maybe a cooking one 😉

  9. My March highlight was finishing all these crazy projects I had for school. I’m sure going to be glad to be back in the kitchen and out of the classroom this coming quarter!

    My April goal is to get my ass in shape for summer. I just signed up for an unlimited month of The Bar Method, don’t know if you’ve heard of it, but I like it and I’m hoping it will keep me motivated!

  10. Wow you have a lot of great, achievable goals planned for this month! And congrats on accomplishing the majority of March’s goals. 🙂 I also need to start strength training more, but as my username says, karen LOVES cardio! Haha. Keep up the good work!!! Which full marathon do you plan on running?

    • Hey Karen! I signed up for the Marine Corps Marathon in DC. I’ve heard its a good one for first timers, though I’m definitely getting nervous at the thought of running 26.2 miles……

  11. What great goals for April! And i love how you post them monthly and check it off at the end of the month! GREAT idea! (that I should probably try! ahah)

  12. I’m not a big fan of cleaning but I got the urge to organize yesterday, so who am I to argue with that. I cleaned out the closet in my room and the one in my guest room, tossed a bunch of old notes off my bookshelves and put together 3 boxes of clothes and books to donate to Goodwill.

  13. […] by Beth – It’s going to be an AWESOME […]

  14. I totally failed with my March goals… I lost absolutely no weight. I had tried rejoining WW but the new plan just really wasn’t helping me at all. I literally lost 0 pounds in 6 weeks. I am trying to figure out what will work for me and am thinking about seeing a registered dietician. But congratulations on yours!!

  15. I like that you have a specific budget in your groceries. That’s the one thing Michael and I don’t do. We don’t have a food budget and often spend more than I’d prefer to.

  16. These are great goals! I’m totally curious about how working for WW is going! I think I would like to be a leader at some point too! 🙂 Have a great cherry blossom run! Sad to be missing it this year!

    • Thanks Chase! I’ll do a post about it sometime soon. I worked my first legit meeting this past week (near Eastern Market) and I train tomorrow at K Street because I’ve not yet done the computer training, and then I’m totally done. It’s been fun and I absolutely LOVE working for WW!

  17. My goal for April is definitely to keep training for my first half marathon which happens to fall on May 1st!
    Thanks for doing the recipes and meal planning..I totally keep stealing ideas from you!

    • Alright Amy!!! One month from today you’ll be a half marathoner!!!!!! That makes me happy too that you get meal ideas/recipes from here!

  18. Looks like you had a great March!

    I got a raise for my job, so that was probably the best thing that happened. Or when we scored a nice baby grand piano for $200. Both were good!

  19. I haven’t come up with my April goals yet, but they will certainly include continuing with c25k, consuming oats or smoothies every day, and getting to bed earlier. Plus some parenting goals, I’m sure.

  20. Hi Beth, found your blog via Laurie’s site. Just love it…good luck on all your April goals, and thanks for the plantain info yesterday! (I have one on my counter that needs dealing with) Have a great day.

  21. You really did have a great month!! And some good goals coming up too. I love the Flip Video. I got one from the Team 4all work and love how easy it is to use.

  22. Great job meeting your goals! Have a fun cherry blossom run! DC is so pretty in the Spring. Sadly I’m not going to get there until the cherry blossoms are gone and the heat is sweltering! lol

  23. You really did have a great March! Keep up the awesome work with everything. I look forward to your new phase of training!

  24. You killed your March goals! I just read your race recap from DC and loved it 🙂 Any ideas of what marathon you’re going to run in October? I ran Long Beach last year, but I am thinking of doing Chicago this year!

  25. You had an awesome March!!!!! I love making goals because it is so rewarding when you can check them off!! I had a pretty good March- my first 5k plus a second one, 4 5k runs on my own, moved to level 2 on the shred, incorporated more yoga, started up with turbo kick to change things up, AND did TRX for the first time. I got a lot more clean with my eating and have noticed a big difference in my overall tone and definition! I am still trying to get this shin in order I want to push past this 3.12 mile max that my body is falling into, will get the shin checked out and am waiting for my new shoes to arrive. Here’s hoping April brings me a 6 mile run 🙂

  26. You had a fantastic March! Good luck on the Cherry Blosson Ten Miler today 🙂

  27. You’re incredible for smashing all of your monthly goals in March!! That’s so beautiful, congrats! Hope the 10 miler was rad!

    Ahhhh October marathon!? I’m stoked for ya!!

  28. Congrats on such a wonderful month! I would love to learn more about your thoughts on working for WW – what kind of personality does it take, experience exposure, etc.

  29. Great job on your goals, I hope you have an amazing April 🙂
    No goals for me this month, only to make it through.

  30. Your goals from March and April are very inspiring! Now I see how you keep up your momentum for healthy living. I didn’t really have goals in March, but I am going to run a 5k- my first since starting to run again- on April 30, so I’m excited about that!

Leave a Reply

