• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Cheesy Kale Stromboli Recipe

On my trip to Trader Joe’s over the weekend, I purchased refrigerated whole wheat pizza dough and was excited to make something last night other than the usual suspects – pizza or calzones.

I knew I had some veggies in the fridge to use up, plus plenty of different kinds of cheese – and then it hit me. Stromboli! Though very similar to calzones and pizza, rolling it up so there are layers of filling throughout puts a fun new twist on it.

The great thing about this recipe is that it’s totally customizable to whatever you have on hand. Most of the time you make one large stromboli and divide it into slices, but I decided to make individual stromboli so they were pre-portioned and I could eat a whole one! =)

Cheesy Kale Stromboli

Printable version here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • Kale, torn into small pieces
  • 1 cup mushrooms, Chopped
  • Shallots, diced
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 15 oz. pizza dough
  • 5 Thin Sliced RF Provolone Cheese
  • 2.5 oz part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • Egg Whites

First, take the dough out of the refrigerator as soon as you can. The closer it gets to room temperature, the better. While the dough is sitting out, get your veggies ready.

I used kale, shallot, and mushrooms, and once they were prepped, heated up 2 tsp olive oil in a wok. Once that’s heated, add in the shallot.

Let that cook for 2-3 minutes until fragrant and getting soft, and then add in the mushrooms.

Let that go for another 1-2 minutes, and then add in the torn kale.

Cook until kale is wilted and bright green, about 2-3 more minutes. Add salt and pepper liberally to taste, and then remove from heat and set aside.

By now your dough should be close to room temperature and if it’s not, find something to do until it is. Winking smile

Measure the dough out into five 3-oz dough balls.

(This is the food scale that I have by the way, and I LOVE it. The price is right, it’s accurate, has several measuring units, and a long battery life. Check, check, check).

Preheat your oven to 375º, and then flour your countertop and roll each piece out into a rectangle as best you can.

Some turned out better than others but they all worked.

Next up, place one slice of provolone in the center of each piece of dough.

And then divide the veggie mixture in a thin layer evenly between the five pieces.

Finally, sprinkle 1/2 oz. of shredded mozzarella on each one.

Cheesy veggie goodness. You want to make sure there is 1-2 inches of topping-less dough all around so it’s easy to roll up.

Now comes the fun part – rolling up the stromboli!

Fold the bottom up over the filling like this:

And then continue to roll it over until you’ve covered all the filling, placing the roll seal side down.

Now tuck the edges underneath and press the dough together to seal.

Repeat for each of the stromboli and don’t fret if they are all slightly different sizes/shapes. It’s rustic…

Transfer them to a greased baking sheet or a pizza stone dusted with cornmeal.

Brush them with egg whites or egg wash.

And then make two gentle slits in the top of each stromboli to let the heat escape while they’re cooking so they don’t explode.

They are now ready to bake, so toss them in the preheated oven.

Even though they may look done after 12 minutes, they’re not and the middle will be doughy if you try to slice it.

Put them back in for another 12 minutes, so they get 25-30 minutes total baking time. (Notice there’s just four below).

Carefully transfer them to a cutting board or a wire rack to cool for 5-10 minutes, and then slice them up with a serrated knife.

Serve with a salad and marinara sauce for dipping, if desired. These babies had just 7 pts+ per stromboli, and are absolutely ooey gooey delicious.

Some notes:

  • Don’t cook them higher than 375º or else the outside will burn and the inside will be raw.
  • Go gentle on the toppings so they stay together even though you wanted them loaded with toppings – they will be, promise.
  • Make sure you cook any veggies or meat you are adding to them before assembling.
  • Use a serrated knife to slice them so they don’t rip apart.
  • Experiment with different flavor combinations, but make sure that the filling is well seasoned.

I can’t wait for lunch!

Where is your absolute favorite place to get Italian food? I’m from Connecticut originally, and the place I miss more than anything is Pepe’s pizza in New Haven. The BEST clam pizza. I haven’t had it in years… sad.

42 Responses

  1. OMG–that looks absolutely sinful, but just 7 pts! Wow.

    Your step-by-step recipe is really easy to follow =)

    Thanks for posting this!

  2. I can see so many possibilities with these! They look delicious!
    I definitely need to get my hands on a scale! It would make everything so much easier!

  3. I like cooking Italian so much better than going out. I never seem satisfied when I go out to Italian restaurants!

  4. Beth those look delicious! Thanks for the tips on the oven settings — I’d probably try to use a higher setting and end up with raw dough in the middle 😦

    Favorite place to get Italian — there is a great Italian place near the U of MN campus. I can’t even think of the name but their food is so delicious.

    • In Dinkytown? Vescio’s perhaps?

      I love how Italian food is usually very similiar between restaurants (at least in Minnesota), but each restaurant has subtle nuances. I also love homemade… I’ve been itching to try that TJ’s dough, so these may need to go in my oven soon!

  5. Those look DELISH Beth! I will have to grab some of the TJs dough this weekend!

  6. Wow!! They look delicious and so easy! Thanks 🙂

  7. Those look so good, Beth! Love the addition of kale!

  8. This stromboli looks at least 100x better than what I used to be served in the school cafeteria… you may have officially turned me back onto trying it! (seriously… the school lunch program scared me away from stromboli and sauerkraut… for real)

  9. Those look awesome. i’d be so intimated to try that — I am impressed!

    My favorite place for Italian, besides my in-laws house? 🙂 I like those family style places like Maggiano’s or Buco di Beppo.

  10. So making these for lunch or dinner today, just got back from Trader Joe’s and bought that pizza dough wanting to make calzones, but you changed my mind!!! I am going to add spinach (instead of kale) and chicken sausage! Thanks!

  11. That looks SOO good! Wow! Have you hate Pete’s Apizza? It’s New Haven Style Pizza..they just opened a location in Clarendon.

  12. That looks amazing!!

    I have the same scale – it’s awesome. Also, I tried making the egg salad/deviled eggs with hummus…I am in LOVE with this. I’ve eaten it every day this week. LOL I put it on top of a slice of the Ezekiel Sesame bread and it is so filling. I used the 3 layer hummus from TJ’s this morning.

    We have an Italian place here that’s been around forever called La Casa. They have this Neopolitan pizza that is awesome and unlike anything else I’ve ever had. They also have what looks to be amazing baked pasta dishes, but I always order the pizza, so I’ve not tried them.

    P.S. How do people get pictures associated with their comments?

    • So glad you like the egg salad idea!! It’s such a healthy/delicious alternative to using mayo! I honestly am not sure about the picture thing. I think it’s mostly other bloggers gravatar photo that shows up. You should see if you can sign up on wordpress.com!

  13. Yum, what a wonderful and smart creation!

    I love love love Chicago, deep-dish pizza. It is so ooey gooey delicious!

  14. Omg that looks amazing! when I was at school, they had this little place on campus that made the most amazing strombolis. I miss it so, I’ll have to try this as a healthier alternative!!

    There is a tiny itallian restaurante near me that makes the best pizza. It’s thin crust and really crispy, and all the ingredients just taste so fresh! I love it!

  15. Those look great! Love TJs dough. We normally just throw it on the grill but I might try this next time.

  16. WOW. Wow. wow. These are amazing…Thank you so much! I varied the ingredients, but never would have thought to make Stromboli! You are genius! Going to blog about it tomorrow and give you a HUGE shoutout!

  17. This has been bookmarked. WOW…thanks for sharing such an amazing looking recipe.

  18. Perfection on a plate!!!!!

  19. I love Trader Joe’s! I’d like to say that I would cook something like that, but I just don’t take the time to cook just for myself! It looks really good though.

  20. I love strombolis! So much better than calzones and pizza. Mmmmm…

  21. Mmmmm! Looks delicious! I’ll have to try that one sometime, too!

  22. WOW this looks like heaven! I didnt even know TJoes sell pizza dough!

  23. I have never even heard of these! How yum!!! Kinda like a calzone???

  24. Love that you made single serving bolis. I usually make one HUGE one that ends up being a big pile of mess. It never fails to be delicious though! I’ll have to keep working on the advice to go easy on the toppings! Haha!

  25. Wow this stromboli looks delicious! My favorite place to get Italian food, besides Italy, is NYC! There are a ton of authentic and wonderful Italian restaurants there!

  26. That looks delicious!! I’ll have to try this soon!

  27. That looks so yummy!! I cannot wait to be back in a regular kitchen and have access to a regular grocery store…tomorrow is the big day! What kind of scale is that, I really want a digital scale, accuracy is my best friend 😉 Do you have any suggestions for snacks while flying???? I am a little nervous about what food options I will have and I really want to stay OP as best as I can over the next 2 days of flying!!!

  28. YUM! I need to try these.

  29. […] have another to add to my favorite list:  stromboli from Beth’s Journey to […]

  30. […] Cheesy Kale Stromboli w/salad […]

  31. […] The last Cheesy Kale Stromboli […]

  32. I made these tonight! They were sooooo yummy! Thanks for the idea! I love your blog!

  33. […] Made With Italian Herb and Garlic Dough » grouprecipes.com, Stromboli Ring » bethsjourney.com Cheesy Kale Stromboli » livestrong.com Vegetarian Stromboli […]

Leave a Reply

