• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Easter Weekend Recap and a No Shopping Trip Meal Plan

Easter weekend was SO much fun and I’m slightly depressed that it’s over. I got to spend a lot of quality time with the fam, and especially my favorite (slash only) niece Claire. She is three and a half, completely hysterical and we are totally in love.

me and claire

I hung out with her for most of the day Friday and all day Saturday and over the course of those two days, we made Easter cupcakes, watched Shrek 3, played T ball, dyed Easter eggs, snuggled, and just generally had an incredible time.

Unfortunately, her brother Ben was having an allergy attack and just to be on the safe side, they couldn’t join us for Easter on Sunday. My other sister Wendy’s baby Harper (that’s a mouthful!) is still really susceptible to catching anything he’s exposed to since he was born 4 months early and his immune system is still weak, so we have to be really careful. On the plus side, that meant that I got to be super selfish with Harper and keep him to myself for most of the day yesterday. He is doing REALLY great by the way, and is off oxygen now so he’s a free range baby!

Me, Wil, and Harper

Trying to get a photo of everyone involved in this looking at the camera proved impossible, so that’s the best we could do. Smile

The Food

Wil got a fancy ham for the main course called a porchetta, which is basically a ham with the bones removed, wrapped in a whole pork belly.

From the front:

From the back:

You’d think we were feeding a small army, but that 16 pound piece of meat was for just 7 of us, one of which doesn’t eat meat (me). There were lots and lots of leftovers and no one seemed the be disappointed at that fact.

I had baked tofu in place of the ham, with the same glaze used on the ham consisting of orange juice, maple syrup, honey, and vinegar.

The sides we had were peroigies and a spring medley of local, organic veggies cooked in veggie stock, dill, and a little butter. It’s funny because my family could not BELIEVE I didn’t eat the ham/wasn’t tempted by it, but to be honest, it didn’t even cross my mind. I think I’ve accepted the pescatarian frame of mind (seeing as it’s been a year and a few months) so it’s not something I have to really make an effort to do anymore, it just comes naturally to me. I think if my diet (I use the term loosely to encompass everything I eat) made me feel restricted in any way, I’d reevaluate, but I really enjoy the way that I eat and it really doesn’t make me feel deprived at all.

If dessert was out of the question on my diet, that would be a whole different story and an immediate cause for reevaluation. 😉 Easter dessert was literally the best cheesecake I’ve ever had in my life!

Ricotta Cheesecake from a local Philly bakery. I’m not normally the hugest fan of cheesecake – I mean, I’ll eat it, but it’s not something that I crave really. This one though was light and fluffy because of the ricotta and the perfect amount of sweet. We served it with some fresh strawberries drizzled with a touch of vanilla scented liquor. Heaven.

Menu Plan

After the extended meal and dessert and lots of sitting outside and enjoying the gorgeous weather, we got on the road back to DC. It was almost 5 when we left, so we didn’t make it home until 8ish and I was just too beat to go to the grocery store. I wanted to just relax, order food, and watch TV, but I have a really busy week ahead and knew I needed to do a little bit of planning for the week, so I made a deal with myself.

I ordered delivery Indian food for dinner last night and took the time between ordering the food and it arriving to do a little prep and planning for the week. I decided to hold off on grocery shopping until further notice because my fridge is actually pretty well stocked and I had enough on hand to make several meals. I may go to the farmer’s market Thursday (first time this season!!) to restock on veggies, but I think I can make it through the week without even going if I don’t feel up for it.

In the 45 minutes that it took the food to come, I whipped up another batch of quinoa salad – this time the recipe basically halved, without kidney beans since the quinoa is enough protein on its own (slash I didn’t have any). I also broke down the pineapple I bought last week and didn’t use and separated it into containers for the week.

I think that was my first time ever cutting up a whole pineapple and it was actually quite fun. Here’s what I came up with for a plan, without a shopping trip this week:

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Monday Wheat Berries, Greek Yogurt, Frozen Fruit Quinoa Salad Pineapple, Apple w/PB Cocktail Party/Menu Tasting at Ris
Tuesday Green Monster – w greek yogurt, peanut flour, fruit Leftover Indian Food – eggplant with rice, raita Greek yogurt w pineapple, grapes Scrambled Eggs with veggies and dill
Wednesday English muffin w PB, apple The last Cheesy Kale Stromboli Cottage cheese with pineapple, grapes Dinner out at Founding Farmers
Thursday Wheat Berries w Greek Yogurt/fruit Quinoa Salad Apple with Peanut Butter, pineapple Baked Tofu with couscous and veggies
Friday Protein Smoothie Leftover Baked Tofu with veggies and couscous Cottage Cheese w Pineapple, Apple TBD

I can’t decide if it’s funny or sad that I’m freaking out a little bit about not having fresh bananas (I do have a few in the freezer). Bananas are something I have almost every day, and the thought of not having them is making me want to make a trip just for some bananas, but that seems a little pathetic. Let’s see if I can make it.

How often do you go grocery shopping? What’s the longest you’ve ever gone between trips?

22 Responses

  1. I’m not a big ham fan — I like bacon but a big slice of ham has never really appealed to me.

    Little Harper is such a cutie! Oh my. I’d hog him all to myself too 🙂

    I go grocery shopping usually 2x per week — one “big” trip and then a few days later I’ll go pick up more produce.

  2. Haha – I totally understand you about feeding an army.. and only having a few people. A regular occurance with my father. It was just the four of us for Easter – and dad decided we needed a 9 lb ham. Yup. 2.25 pounds for each of us!

    I got shopping every Sunday. It is a must!

  3. I skipped the ham yesterday too and didn’t miss it at all although it didn’t look as good as your family’s! Glad you had a good easter and that your nephew is doing so good!

  4. I do one “big” shopping trip to both Hannaford’s and Trader Joe’s each week and maybe one smaller one if needed.

    I would freak out about not having bananas too, I can hardly go a day without them, they are probably my favorite food!

  5. Do they sell bananas on the street in DC?? There are 3 fruit carts near my office. I actually forgot bananas at the store yesterday so I had to hit them up instead! I usually grocery shop at least once a week… sometimes I’ll do a few mini shops if I’m not sure how much food I need for the week.

    • You know I don’t think I’ve ever seen them sold on the streets, except individually at little food carts but then you pay $1 each and I can’t do that!! I honestly don’t know if I’m going to make it. I’m only a few hours into the week and already feeling antsy.

  6. Looks like a great Easter!!! There were 11 people here, and it was pretty crazy! I perfer smaller groups of people, too many and this girl gets a little anxious 😉 Great meal planning!!! I am heading to a health food store this week to stock up for the rest of my time here….I only have to drive 2.5 hours away….no joke, I am in the middle of nowhere 😉

  7. This entry made me laugh because we are on the same page. I didn’t get home until after 9 last night so I couldn’t go grocery shopping, but made a bunch of quinoa and eggplant for the week. I only have 1 very brown banana left and I don’t know if I can make it without them!

  8. I think it’s so worth it to go just for bananas. I would do it.

  9. Your meal planning skills never cease to amaze me. And I just died a little from jealousy over the dinner at FF. YUMMMMMMMMY. Enjoy!

  10. That is not strange at all to go on a bananas-only grocery shopping run! I have done it on multiple occasions! 🙂

    So glad you had such a nice Easter weekend!

  11. Your Easter weekend looks fun!
    I typically go every week to the grocery store but sometimes I’ll skip a week if I know we have enough to get by. Like last week we went on vacation, so the week before we left, I didn’t do any grocery shopping because I didn’t want anything left in the fridge that we couldn’t finish. It is amazing how if you tap into what you have already, you can really make it work (though I find it is sooo much easier to eat a healthy and well rounded diet if I can run to the store!).

  12. I feel your pain about the naners, I am so going to the store JUST for bananas today. I can’t be without them!!

  13. i like that you make a meal plan ahead of time.
    it’s a really good idea.
    glad i found your cute blog, looks like you had a wonderful Easter with great food!

  14. Looks like you had a great Easter!

    As for shopping, I do it once a week. Grab everything I need for the week and plan out my meals. Keeps it less expensive etc. I didn’t have a complete meal plan this week though and bought off the fly. It actually was kinda fun because I could purchase sale items and just make general changes to the “menu”. Good times.

  15. I understand about the bananas too! Last week, we bought 4 pounds of discounted, very slightly brown bananas, and I froze them for smoothies. And I still wanted to buy more fresh bananas! My aunt had a big bowl of bananas at her house this week, and I just kept looking at it, jealous. 🙂 Maybe I’ll add fresh bananas to my grocery list tonight…

  16. I love the pictures 🙂 Claire seems like such a cutie and I can’t believe how big Harper is! It looks like you had such an awesome easter. I would definitely have to go to the grocery store for bananas but thats easy for me to say because I work at one haha.

  17. Haha, that is so funny. I have small freak attacks when I don’t have any bananas in stock either.

  18. I’m a banana junkie too!! I think it’s clever to preportion out the pineapple so you can just grab and go! Makes life so much easier.

  19. […] Easter Weekend Recap and a No Shopping Trip Meal Plan […]

  20. […] Meal Planning Mondays. Check on this one! You can see week one, two, three, and four. I planned out my meals for the week and posted my grocery loot each Monday. I really have enjoyed […]

Leave a Reply

