• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

April’s Over?

I cannot believe tomorrow marks the end of the first third of 2011! I’ve barely accepted that it’s actually 2011, much less that we’re approaching the half way mark. Cah-razy.

At the beginning of April, I set some pretty lofty goals and didn’t do as well on them as I like to do. I do think I did a really good job with some things like being consistent with exercising, meal planning, and healthy eating for the most part, but I think that I set too many goals for myself to keep up with, so I’ll work on that for May.

So was it an Awesome April?

Here are the goals I set and how they went:

1. Meal Planning Mondays. Check on this one! You can see week one, two, three, and four. I planned out my meals for the week and posted my grocery loot each Monday. I really have enjoyed doing this on the blog and it seems like you guys like it too, so I plan to keep it up until further notice.

2. Continue to exercise 3-4 times a week even though I’m not training for anything. I’ve been doing really good with this one and have been loving NOT training for something. You can see my workouts here, but it was fun to change things up and not just be running as my only form of exercise.

3. Enjoy Sunday’s Cherry Blossom 10 Miler. Check plus! It was the best race I’ve ever run and I also finished the fastest of any long race.

cherry blossom 4. Strength train 1-2 times per week. Check! I’ve been MUCH more consistent about strength training now that I’m not training for a race, and I’ve been loving it. I’ve been doing The Shred, free weights, and a little bit of Bikram.

5. Continue to run 1-2 times a week so I don’t lose it, but also do cross training at least once a week so I don’t get burnt out from running. Check! I biked and did the elliptical for cross training and ran at least once a week for every week in April.

6. Focus on zoning into my goal weight. Fail. I am EXACTLY the same – 166. I have to lose 2 lbs to get to goal so that I can become Lifetime at Weight Watchers and hopefully become a Leader, but I literally made zero progress this month.

7. Post at least one video during the month of April on here. Yes! I did my first cooking tip video with how to chiffonade baby spinach.

8. Watch less TV and read more. This one gets a “meh.” I do feel like I’ve been watching less TV overall because I’ve been pretty busy this month after work, but I didn’t read two books. I started and got 2/3 through Fat Chance, but it was just OK so I haven’t finished it. I’m now reading The End of Overeating which is good but very fact heavy, so I’m having a hard time plugging through. (Notice a theme here in my book selections??)

9. Reorganize my kitchen and blog about it! Big fail. I did do a little pantry reorganization but I didn’t talk about it or show it on here whatsoever.

So again, I think I did OK with the goals, but just set a few too many for me to achieve them all. I am proud of a lot of things I did in April, including PRing 3 times (The Cherry Blossom 10 miler, and then two 5ks!) so I’m going to say yes, it was an awesome April! =)

May Goals

I’m a firm believer in setting yourself up for success, so I’m going to keep it a lot simpler for May. Here’s what I want to do:

  1. Develop a training plan for my upcoming marathon (!!!!!). Yikes.
  2. Keep up working out 3-4+ times a week. And keep it varied with running, cross training, and strength training!
  3. Post another video. I really had fun making the first cooking video and I think one a month is more than doable.
  4. Lose 2 pounds. This will bring me to 164, which is my goal weight. That’s .5 lbs a week average. I CAN DO THIS.

On goal setting: Do you tend to set a few weekly/monthly goals or have a big list? Which do you like better?

Specific to my blog: Is there anything you love that you don’t want to see go, or things you don’t see that you want me to start doing?

31 Responses

  1. I love your recipes and hope you keep posting them.

    I do monthly goals and will be doing my wrap-up tonight. I did HORRIBLE, seriously.

  2. omg I hear you! This month flew by, along with this year! Can’t believe it’s already May!

  3. I think you did well with your goals — those PRs are no joke!

    For April I made more broad goals, which I think worked better for me. It took the pressure off, but it still made me push myself.

  4. What a great month indeed. You are so impressive!! And dang, only 2 little libbies away from your goal weight? I’m sure it’s somewhere on here, but how tall are you, Beth? I’m just curious to get an idea because I have a goal weight in a similar range and since you look so amazing, it’s nice to think that I could someday too 🙂

    • Aww thank you! I’m 5’8, so I picked the highest healthy weight for my height which is 164. Realistically I’d like to be a few pounds below that – probably 155-160 eventually, but I’ve been hanging around 166 since January 2010. I’m ready to crack down and lose these last two!!

  5. Hi Beth! I’m a fairly new reader, but I just love your blog!! Congrats on your weightloss and only being 2lbs away! That’s such an accomplishment!! I saw that you’re reading The End of Overeating and I’ve read that as well. I recently found a book – actually thru another blog CarrotsnCake – and my sister and I are both reading it. It’s called Fit From Within. I’m only halfway thru it, but it’s amazing, and I feel like it’s the most helpful and simple thing I’ve read. Good luck on all your goals!! I think you’re fantastic!!

  6. I love exercising without training for something! Even though this is the first time I am training for a race – I kind of miss the freedom of doing whatever workout I want – taking any class. Sticking to consistent running – 5 days a week and only one day of cross training has been a little tough on me – so I am excited to mix up my routine post-race!

    I never really set goals – but now that I am reading so many peoples goals – it is motivating me to write some down. Instead of just going through the motions.. I will be working towards something!

    Happy Friday!!!

  7. Very cool that you are so close to your goal weight, and with your determination, I bet you’ll make it.

    Especially if that workout plan adds swimming :P.

  8. April really did fly by! You did great though on your goals and I like your goals for May. I feel like you’re realistic with your goals and are doing a great job of going after them. You’ll lose those 2lbs… just one step closer to being a WW Leader 🙂

    I usually set long term goals. I’m a calendaraholic, so I unofficially set goals each week by putting my workouts on my gmail calendar, setting up dates with friends/BF, and establishing “me time”. I’m definitely a list person and have goal lists all over the place…. sometimes it’s hard for me to narrow them down in order to stay focused.

    I love your blog and I think it’d be good to see more recipes/videos. Maybe even “take us for a run” (aka, video tape a part of your run, the DC scenery, etc.) or even a shout out from one of your races. Just an idea.

  9. Um…wow, I didn’t even realize that April was almost over. LOL ooops

  10. You did awesome!

    No worries on the tv resolution- surely once all the finales are over, this will be less of a problem? 😉

  11. woohooo!!!!! can’t wait to see you reach your goal weight! so awesome 🙂

  12. Great work with the goals lady!!! And two pounds, you got that, no problem:) And what marathon are you running???

  13. I can’t believe April is over tomorrow!! Great job on your goals. I really like the cooking video, too!
    When I started reading your blog a couple months ago, you were training for your half marathon and I had no thought of ever running one. Reading about your experience helped convince me to sign up for my first. Now my first one is 2 days away! Thank you so much for being an inspiration to me and so many others!

  14. You did great with your goals!! I didn’t make any goals for April because I knew it was going to be a tough month. I’ll be making my May goals this weekend and posting them on Monday.

  15. I’m reading “Fat Chance” too and it is just okay. “Fit from Within” is really good – maybe I should review that myself. Speaking of goals, I’ve learned that the simpler I make them, the better my success rate. For May, the main goal is to PR at the Cleveland half-marathon, then take some Bikram classes as my reward! I’m also looking to get my bike out and add riding to my cross-training for the summer.

  16. You did GREAT on your goals!!! and like you said – things were busy, so the couple that you didn’t fully get to is understandable. Plus, you killed the most important ones. Way to go!

  17. I’m new to your blog and love it. Please don’t change a thing!!! Congrats on the April goals! I’m sure you’ll meet or exceed your May ones. Have a good weekend.

  18. Isn’t it funny how hard it is to lose weight close to goal? They aren’t kidding when they say the last 10 pounds are the hardest!

    And marathon? Wow!

  19. I usually tend to set smaller goals and set out to accomplish then one by one. I feel they are not so overwhelming if you do it that way.

  20. Hi Beth, You are adorable in you video! I have a feeling we sound similar to each other – voice wise. Great blog and video!

  21. Beth, I love the Monday posts, recipes, videos, running recaps, food spotlights and pretty much every other post. I wouldn’t want you to delete any type of post!

  22. You had a great April! I know it was a busy month for you and you completely tackled your goals.

    I am going back to monthly goal setting for the month of May to help me stay on track despite not currently being in a weight-loss mode. I don’t just want to coast through the month, but make sure I accomplish some things.

  23. I’m amazed by you diligence and completely in awe of how much you are able to accomplish.

  24. Congrats on April! i love your recipies and weekly plan (it makes me do mine!) please dont get rid of anything:-)

  25. YAYAYAYAYAY! You posted a video! Good job! I’m so proud that you DID IT and accomplished your goals!

Leave a Reply

