• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Menu Plan Monday

Whew this weekend was a busy one! After my 8k on Saturday morning, we got on the road to visit Wil’s mom for the night and had a really nice time. We went to Joe’s Crab Shack for dinner which was pretty hysterical – the entire wait staff broke into dancing during the middle of the dinner rush. Apparently that’s just part of the whole scene of going there, and I found it quite entertaining. After spending the night and then brunch in the morning, we got on the road back to DC and made it home around 5. Wil’s company party was also last night (a little delayed for a holiday party, no?) so we were go-go-go and barely stopped to take a breath the whole weekend! It was fun to go out last night and put on some lipstick, though staying out until 1am on a Sunday might not be the best way to start the week.

Moving along, we did stop at Kroger’s yesterday morning to grab some stuff for brunch, and I couldn’t get over how cheap some of the produce was! You know me – I had to pick some up for the week when I spotted 99 cent organic apples. I only spent $14.99 and got a pretty good amount:

  • 2 white onions
  • 2 bags black beans
  • 6 organic gala apples (99 cents/lb!!)
  • large zucchini
  • english cucumber ($1!)
  • red grapes ($1.29/lb)
  • cherry tomatoes ($2)
  • Cilantro (59 cents!)

Where is the other bag of black beans?

I’ve been trying to figure out one dish I can make per week that serves really well as leftovers, and I’ve been craving these black beans because I hadn’t made them in a long time. While trying to figure out how I could possibly soak them and still do everything I had to do this weekend, I came up with a solution.

I brought this large tupperware with me, so I put the black beans in there with some water and soaked them while making brunch and driving home. When we got home, the beans were soaked and ready to cook!

A little crazy? Maybe. But I wanted black beans, and now I have ‘em. Smile

Since it’s a pretty length process to cook them (2 hours in total), I ended up putting them on to cook for the first hour and then running back out to the store to grab the last few things I needed from The Teet before getting ready for the party.

  • Bananas (!!!!)
  • Garlic
  • Corn Tortillas
  • Fresh Salsa
  • Salad Greens
  • 2 Large Mangos
  • Avocado

  • 2 tubs low-fat cottage cheese (BOGO free)
  • Cooking Spray
  • Roasted Almonds
  • Crumbled Feta
  • Whole Wheat English Muffins (BOGO free)

Plus…

Cheesecloth! I’m planning to use it to squeeze out the zucchini, and also know it’ll be useful any time I use frozen spinach.

At The Teet, I spent 32.99, plus the 14.99 at Kroger = $47.98. Way under budget!

Here’s my meal plan for the week:

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Monday English muffin w/PB, banana Salad w black beans, cheese, mango, corn tortillas, tomatoes, cucumber Cottage Cheese, Grapes Zucchini Cakes (Recipe to come)
Tuesday Protein Smoothie w/greek yogurt, milk, frozen fruit Leftover zucchini cakes w/salad Apple w/peanut butter, mango Black Bean Quesadilla w salad
Wednesday Oatmeal with pb + banana Black Bean + mango salad Apple w peanut butter, grapes Black Bean Enchiladas
Thursday English muffin w/PB, banana Leftover black bean enchiladas Cottage cheese, mango Salt and Pepper Tofu
Friday Protein Smoothie Leftover salt and pepper tofu Banana w/peanut butter, grapes TBD

I’m excited because the black beans are so delicious and SO versatile. I have a lot going on after work this week, so they’ll also come in handy for some easy dinners.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever witnessed at a restaurant?

33 Responses

  1. I witnessed a grown woman (about 30-40) pee her pants and all over a restaurant booth.

    I was then told by the waitress that this was not the first time it happened.

    That diner has been henceforth known as “The Pee Diner.”

  2. I cleaned out my pantry and fridge yesterday and found a bag of black beans that I had forgotten about! I’ll have to consider making your black bean recipe — it looks delicious!

  3. I love, love, love using zucchini to replace higher calorie items – pasta, some meats, etc. Are your zucchini cakes kinda like crabcakes? Becuase that would be awesome.

  4. I so wish my fiance liked beans! But he hates them so I never really think it’s worth it to make it just for myself.

    Craziest restaurant thing was when this customer yelled at his waitress and told her she was stupid etc. The manager came over to talk to the customer and he stormed out with his wife following behind. It was sad. The poor waitress was bawling.

  5. I tried the black bean recipe and loved it! I frozen some but put them in tuperware and now it looks like some have frostbite! I’ll need to put them in the ziploc seal bags next time.

    You look great in your Sunday night out picture! 🙂

    The craziest thing in a restaurant I saw was at a girl’s dinner at a nice restaurant that had all windows along a busy shopping street. All of a sudden we see 3 police cars come to a screeching halt in front of the restaurant and trying to handcuff this woman. She was beating on the police offers, so they pushed her up against the windows of the restaurant and everyone was just staring. She kept screaming “police brutality” but obviously she was the one who was hitting them. She looked like she was strung out. They left with her and we all went back to our dinners. LOL

    • Woah that is a CRAZY story!! I can’t believe it was against the windows so everyone could see. How hysterical.

      I’ve frozen some of them and they got a little frostbitten too, but I defrosted them and they tasted just fine. I kept all of the ones from yesterday in the fridge for now, but I’ll probably freeze some of them. They are SO good!

    • Freeze your beans in muffin tins covered in their cooking water. When they’re solid, pop them out of the tins and into ziplock bags. That’s how I freeze all my beans and have never had a problem with frost bite.

  6. The craziest thing I ever experienced at a restaurant was a breakup at the table next to me… in a restaurant where the tables were like right on top of each other. Well I guess it might not have been a “break up” but a guy telling a girl that he hooked up with one of her friends since she (the girl at the table) never answered his texts about whether they were exclusive. Then she started to cry. And he kept eating & finished his whole dinner. True story.

  7. Wow those black bean enchiladas look incredible. I am totally going to have to try that recipe out sometime!

    If you get a chance, I’d love for you to check out my race recap for my first ever half marathon this weekend. I felt very inspired to run it because of you and it turned out to be amazing!!

    • You should definitely check out the black bean/enchilada recipe. They are SOOOOO good! Checking out your recap now!! =)

  8. Awesome job with the meal planning. I have tried to meal plan before but it never really works out for us. I know I need to JUST DO IT though because it does work out better for our waistlines AND our wallets!

    I like the idea of making a big amount of black beans on the weekend that can be used throughout the week. I used to be really good about making big amounts of foods on Sundays – need to get back to doing that!

  9. I’ve worked in many a restaraunt and people are crazy. The funniest experience I’ve ever had happened last summer when I was running a tiny one-man takeout and a guy came in to order lunch.
    Him “Whats good?”
    Me “The chicken burger is highly reccomended.”
    HIm “Yeah. Does it taste like frogs legs?”
    Me “Huh?”
    Him “I’m joking. Can’t you tell? Seriously, what does it taste like.”
    Me “i don’t know. I don’t eat meat.”
    Him (astounded) ” You mean you’re one of those like uh vegetable eating things. What are you called?”
    Me “A vegetarian”
    Him (scanning me up and down with his eyes in a very creepy fashion) “Well you don’t look any different than normal people.”
    Me “So do you want that burger or what?”

  10. You are doing good with the weekly meal planning:) And way to stay under budget, that’s always the best!

  11. Hi Beth,
    My local grocery store has BOGO sales all of the time. But, it really means 1/2 price. So, I only need to buy 1 of the items. Might be useful if your store does the same thing.

    • That is good to know! I’ll have to check to see. For the cottage cheese, it doesn’t expire until June 6, so I know I’ll use both by then. And for the english muffins, I froze one pack and kept one in the fridge.

  12. When I worked in a restuarant I used to see some crazy things daily. From outfits – to people not making it to the bathroom in time .. I’ve got lots of stories.

    I love how you stay SO under budget. I wish I could do that more often!

  13. I saw a guy propose – he actually played her a song he wrote on the piano so it was very sweet.
    I can’t wait to see the zucchini cakes recipe!

  14. I love me some black beans! One of my favorite recipes is brown rice, black beans, salsa and a little plain greek yogurt…mix and devour 🙂

  15. The other day I was having lunch with my friend when the lady behind me went ballistic because all her sides wouldn’t fit on her plate so they put them in little bowls on the side. She was screaming “I am not a child! I will not eat out of a child sized dish!” I couldn’t help but burst out laughing. Yelling like a lunatic was not making her look very adult to say the least! Her husband looked so humiliated. I think he should’ve gotten up and left her! lol

    Other than that the guy who brought a full size Princess Leia cardboard cut-out into a sushi restaurant was the most interesting.

    You look so cute in your party picture by the way! 🙂

    • Hysterical! “I AM NOT A CHILD!” yet you are acting exactly like one! Sometimes you can’t help but laugh – I hope she heard you!!

      Thank you Ang!! =)

  16. I saw a marriage proposal at a restaurant once. It was great. She said “yes”. Yay you for planning such a yummy, healthy menu for the week. Have a good one Beth.

  17. I witnessed a family refusing to order anything on the menu for their son – and insisting that they be allowed to bring in McDonalds (to the restaurant) for him to eat because “that is all he eats” ?! WTF!!!!

  18. Cant wait for the new recipe!!!

    And I think Im going to have to try your black beans recipe !

  19. Love the red lipstick!! I a craving black beans now

  20. YAYYY for black beans! Seriously, the greatest bean ever created, I love them so much. And I have pretty good memories of you owning the whole sweet potato/black bean combo. The first time I ever tried it was after I saw it dozens of times on your blog, thanks friend!

    The only sliiightly entertaining thing I’ve witnessed at a restaurant is when our waiter forgot we existed and didn’t even bring us h2o… haha, we’ve tried to avoid that guy ever since (it’s been about 3 years!) and get nervous when he walks near us @ Olive Garden. Beware, friends, beware.

  21. You look so pretty in the above picture 🙂 I have a question…how well do you stick to your snacks when you do your meal planning?

    • Hi Katie!! I stick with snacks most of the time. I usually eat cottage cheese or PB flour turned into peanut butter with some fruit, so that I get a kick of protein. I also love cheese sticks, and recently have been making a little trail mix with 8 almonds, 2 tsp chocolate chips, and 1 tbsp raisins for 3 pts+ total.

  22. […] your meals will save you SO much money. And you don’t have to be as obsessive as I am with meal planning, you can just plan out 2-3 dinners a week to start and make enough for leftovers for […]

Leave a Reply

