• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Five Things for Friday

Since this week has been filled with a couple heavy posts, I thought I’d go a little on the lighter side today and share five random things that are making me happy right now.

1.) Farmer’s Markets

They are opening everywhere this week around DC, and I hit up my very first one yesterday. The one I went to is right outside my office every Thursday through November, and I’ve been eagerly waiting for it to start since… last November.

One of my favorite things to purchase at farmer’s markets is farm fresh eggs!

I love how they each are different sizes, shapes, and colors.

These three are all from the same dozen!

One huge brown egg, one small BLUE egg, and one large speckled brown.

I also got some gorgeous radishes there.

Love.

2.) Walking outside.

Since I’m not training for anything right now, I’ve been walking outside a few times for a week for my workout. Who says walking can’t be a great workout?

Now granted, that is WAY longer than I normally like to work out – I usually keep my workouts to under an hour unless it’s a long training run, but that time went by SO fast. I met up with my new friend Jessica, the one who invited me to that event at Ris, and we power walked 5 miles! The miles flew by as we were talking about everything under the sun, and before I knew it we were coming back to the starting point. It was so fun and I hope we do it again soon!

3.) Last night’s dinner.

The cons of having a chef for a boyfriend? He gets home at 8:40 on a Thursday. The pros? This is what I get when he says “Dinner will be on the table in 20 minutes.”

Fresh Red Drum, pan seared over a creamy looking but cream-less sauce, with fresh baby artichokes and pan fried rice croquettes. He had done some prep work/playing around with ingredients at work before he came home, so all he had to do was cook everything after getting in the door, but yeah. That was dinner last night, on the table at 9. =)

4.) Magazine Subscriptions.

I just got my first issue of Vegetarian Times yesterday, a new-to-me magazine.

I have been loving reading magazines on my commute lately because they’re so easy to throw into my purse and perfect for light reading on the metro. I have subscriptions to a bunch that come at different times during the month, which has been awesome. They are Women’s Health, Fitness, Clean Eating Magazine, and now Vegetarian Times.

5.) It’s Friday!

What more can I say? 8 more hours until the weekend, and NO PLANS. I am so excited to just take it easy, not travel, and see where the weekend takes me!

What’s one thing making you happy right now?

Do you have any magazine subscriptions? Which ones?

47 Responses

  1. Yup, those are five awesome things! There are definitely some perks to dating a chef 😉 That dinner looks amazing!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. What are you going to do with your radishes? I bought a bag of radishes at the store, and I have no clue what to do with them except slice them on salads. I fear they are going to go to waste. 😦

    • I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them yet besides use them in salads… For easter, my sister blanched radishes with some other spring time veggies (asparagus, carrots, can’t remember what else…) and they were delicious cooked! I’ve also heard you can roast them, so i might cook them up with some sweet potatoes and other random things in my kitchen. I’ll let you know if I come up with anything genius!

  3. I love the Farmer’s Market as well!! I go to the one in DC on Thurs often, but prefer the Tues one in VA!! I too have been waiting since Nov for it to reopen….LOVE fresh produce!!! Enjoy your purchases!!!

    • The one in VA in RIGHT by my house!!! I am bummed that my WW meeting is on Tuesday nights because I can’t ever make it, but i loved that one last year. Are you close to crystal city?? They just started doing free outdoor yoga Monday mornings at 7am – I’m going to try to make it as much as possible!

  4. I love farm fresh eggs. I always buy them when I can. I think they taste 100% better than regular eggs you get in the store.

    • Agreed. I think the difference in flavor is pretty incredible. I might make eggs for dinner now that I’ve been thinking about them all morning…

  5. I’m so happy it is Friday! This week has taken so long and it is finally almost over.

    Mag subscriptions: I have Women’s Health and Cosmo — they were each $5 for a yearly subscription so I thought it was worth it. I want to get a few cooking ones but haven’t made the move yet.

  6. Your dinner looks amazing! Lucky girl! 🙂

    One thing that makes me happy is that the weather is finally (somewhat) consistently nice. Not too cold, not yet too hot.

    I currently subscribe to Washingtonian, Northern Virginia and Cooking Light. But I have subscribed in the past to all four your current ones – they’re good ones.

    • I want to get Cooking Light but its always so expensive so I cringe at paying for it… I should just take the plunge!

      • Love me some Cooking Light! I’ve been a subscriber for a few years now. It’s worth the high subscription at first. When you renew (at least for me) it’s something like $15 for a year-which I don’t think is too bad considering all the awesome ideas/recipes you get. I keep mine, too, so I can reference them….and they’re pretty 🙂

  7. I love walking! It doesn’t burn calories super fast but I always feel good after a good hike/week.

    That meal looks amazing! I so wish my fiance liked to cook. But he doesn’t. So I’m the chef.

    Diggin that magazine too!

    • The calories don’t burn as fast as with running, but it goes by SO fast if you’re walking with someone. I could hardly believe I burned over 600 – it didn’t feel like a workout at all!

  8. Love love love farmer’s markets!

    I subscribe to a bajillion magazines, I love them! Health, Self, Shape, Fitness, Real Simple, Clean Eating, Bon Appetit, Food Network Magazine…I could go on for days 😉

  9. I am excited that it’s the weekend!!! I have a subscription to Food and Wine magazine. I love F&W because they don’t only share some great recipes but new trends in food, cooking, restaurants, etc. Enjoy your weekend!

  10. I went to the farmer’s market and spent wayyy too much money yesterday (especially since I bought meat for mother’s day festivities). I love them but I always go overboard.
    Enjoy your weekend of no plans! They are the best.

  11. TGIF, Going home tonight to watch my son’s play baseball. They have a 7:30 game tonight.. Everyone have a great weekend!!

    • Have fun at the game!! It’s nice out so I’m trying to convince myself to do something to enjoy the weather… but I am soooo tired. I just want to go lay on the couch. 🙂

  12. Happy Friday Beth!!! Hope you have a great day!

    Blueberry pancakes on my stove right now make me one very happy lady. Its the little things. 😉

  13. Wow ! Having a chef for a boyfriend sure does look amazing! I tend to be the chef in my relationship.. which does NOT always work out! Yikes!

  14. Wow, what an amazing looking dinner!

    I’m happy about truly warmer weather coming our way. Upper 70s/low 80s for the weekend!

    I get a couple of magazines: Clean Eating, Rolling Stone, and Fitness. I’m a little behind on them right now.

    Have a great weekend!!

    • Yes warmer weather should be on my list, too. It’s almost 70 and sunny here today and tomorrow. I was actually going to put that on my list, but when I checked the weather it said chance of rain.. so I didn’t want to jinx it! Happy Friday Jennifer! =)

  15. I think walking will become a major supplement to my workout since I will soon be without a gym… boo!

  16. I am pumped about the farmer’s markets, though I have a hard time getting to them. I’ve been using Washington’s Green Grocer after seeing your awesome box back a few months ago. So. Freaking. Convenient. Fruit and veggies delivered to my front desk while I’m at work? I’ve found heaven.

    Magazines are a MUST for metro commutes. I personally read The Economist (which I have a subscription to) on my metro commute. It folds up really nicely, like you said. Is there anything more ridiculous looking than some tool trying to read a newspaper while standing on a crowded metro train? I think not.

    • Yeah WGG is SO convenient, I totally agree. I’ll probably be using that more after the summer when the farmer’s markets die down a bit!

  17. I love these five things! I’m a huge farmers market person. Ours will start in a few weeks and really gear up in June.

    I don’t have any magazines right now. I actually went through a whole downsizing thing. I read a few on my ipad though.

  18. I love getting magazines but am terribly at staying on top of reading them all! Which is better, clean eatting or vegetarian?

    • I loooooove love LOVE Clean Eating Mag! I can’t tell you which is better though because I haven’t read veg times yet. I’ll let you know!

  19. It may sound silly that I love Fridays and the weekends, too, since I am a stay at home mom, but I still find myself looking forward to it because I know we’ll have more time together as a whole family!
    We have a ton of farmer’s markets near me in CA, but I find myself totally intimidated to go to them…not sure why. I guess I need to get brave and just go try them!
    Have a great weekend…can’t wait to try your zucchini thingers from yesterday!

    • Don’t be scurred of the farmers markets!! The vendors are usually SUPER friendly and love talking to people at the market because they’re so passionate about what they’re selling! It can be a fun thing to do as a fam because there’s usually a lot more than just fruits and veggies… meat, crafts, dairy, pastries, breads, etc!

  20. Those eggs ahhhhhmazing! I cannot wait until Farmer’s Markets start popping up around Chicago. Right now its still only in the 50s so I dont think Ill be seeing them til the end of the month. Im most excited by the fact tha its Friday toooo!!!

  21. I like the “heavy posts.” 😉

    I love Farmer’s Markets. there are a bunch in Portland and I can’t wait to start using them!

  22. The Falls Church Farmer’s Market is open all year-round, even in Winter! I lovelovelove it. You also just feel like such a more conscientious consumer when shopping at the FM. 😀

  23. […] me quickly admit that I love Beth’s post today, where she breaks out 5 things that are making her happy and I’m copying her. I hope she […]

  24. I LOVE fresh radishes – they’re so delicious!

  25. Oh man, Beth, I am a magazine junkie! I’ve been so busy I haven’t actually had a chance to get to many of them, so I have a GIANT pile that I dig into whenever I can. I subscribe to Self, Health, Bon Appetit, Cooking LIght, Saveur, Travel & Leisure, Budge Travel, Time Out Chicago, Chicago Magazine, AND Chicago Home & Garden. PHEW!

  26. I’m so jealous that you have a farmer’s market right outside your work!!!

    The foodie mags I subscribe to are Taste of Home, Food & Wine, The Food Network and Rachael Ray.

  27. I subscribe to the Vegetarian Times, too. Also All You because it’s filled with tons of coupons.

  28. I hope you had a great relaxing weekend Beth! There are few things that make me more happy than a weekend with nothing to do!

  29. Vegetarian Times! Thanks for posting this…I’m for sure going to p/u a copy next time I am out and about. Vegetarian since late December 2010!

    • I eat fish but haven’t eaten red or white meat since February 2010! Crazy its been so long. Another GREAT one is clean eating mag. It’s not strictly vegetarian, but a lot of the recipes are and I absolutely LOVE that mag. It has so many great ideas!

Leave a Reply

