• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Farmers Market Filled Weekend and a Meal Plan

What an awesome weekend!!! Rumor had it that Saturday was going to be gorgeous, and Sunday was going to be be rainy/overcast, but we ended up with TWO perfect days. It was so great!

Saturday

To start off Saturday, Wil and I went to the Del Ray Farmers Market for our first time there. This one is year round from 8-12 on Saturdays and only 10 minutes from our house, but we had never been to check it out. It was relatively small but super cute!

010

It was pretty crowded but I was surprised how easy it was to get around. This is a growers only farmers market, which means all the vendors grew or made whatever they were selling, which was refreshing to talk to the people making the food you’re about to eat! I ended up getting some beautiful produce!

  • Turnips ($2.50)
  • 2 large bags of mixed greens ($4 each)
  • 5 fuji apples
  • 4 baby cucumbers
  • Shallots ($2.50)

I couldn’t get over the shallots – I’d never seen them like this before with the green shoots attached. I did a little research and it turns out you can grow shallots just like scallions, which is what these are. They are ready to harvest earlier then the regular shallots, so that’s why these are ready and available but regular shallots aren’t yet.

So pretty. I cut one up – check out the colors!

All together, I spent $21 at the first farmer’s market – not too bad!

Afterwards, I made breakfast.

Everything local except for the Ezekiel bread! 2 eggs topped with some mixed greens, plus a breakfast hash with kale, sweet potatoes, and shallots. SO delicious.

Once I let that settle for a bit, Wil went to work and I went for an amazing 5 mile run outside.

The run was just awesome. I just wore my Polar FT7, which means I couldn’t see how far/how fast I was going, just for how long and the calorie burn. It was kind of nice to not be constantly checking my pace/how far I’d gone. Still not unplugged, but a step in the right direction. I didn’t bring any water with me, which wasn’t the best decision given that it was 72 degrees out, so I definitely was a little parched towards the end, but other than that it was incredible.

After my run, I ended up getting a mani/pedi and then going out to a derby party at my coworkers house, which was super fun and filled with mint juleps, derby pie, and bourbon punch!

Me, Kelly, Brian and Erin. Kelly and Erin were the hosts and they did an awesome job. I ended up being out reaaaaaally late, but you gotta do that every once in a while, no?

Sunday

Staying out so late Saturday made for a late morning on Sunday, but not too late that I missed the Dupont Farmers Market!

This was my favorite farmers market I’ve been to in the area. It had tons of vendors and so much variety in what was being sold – fruits and veggies, eggs and milk, meat, seafood, pastries, bread, crafts – you name it.

I think this one was a growers only market as well, so all the vendors I spoke with really knew their stuff. Check out these carrots!

They were ENORMOUS. I couldn’t pass them up…

The biggest downfall for this market was that it was PACKED. I meant to go early, but didn’t end up getting there until around 11am, which is peak time. I won’t make that mistake again, but definitely want to visit this market as much as possible this year. Here’s what I walked away with:

  • Kale
  • Carrots
  • Asparagus
  • Local Milk

The milk is UNREAL.

I can’t get over how incredibly delicious it is. I’m only going to be using it for my coffee, so hopefully it’ll last a little bit because the $3.50 price tag for a quart is a little high for me…

Total damage: $13

After the farmers market, I wanted to hit up the Teet for some fruit and a few other things. I also wanted to get in a workout, but couldn’t decide what to do, so I ended up running to the grocery store (1.5 miles), walking back with the groceries (1.5 miles) and then heading out for another 2 mile run once I dropped everything off. It was perfect!

  • Watermelon (79 cents/lb)
  • Bananas
  • Lemons (2 for $1)
  • Pears
  • Strawberries (BOGO free)
  • Peppered Tofurkey
  • Provolone

Total spent: $18

So, between both farmer’s markets and the Teet, I spent $52. Not too shabby considering how much local, organic produce I got. I ended up putting together a meal plan after shopping, yet again. Here’s what I came up with:

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Monday English muffin w/pb + a banana Salad w/leftover red trout and turnip greens, apple Cottage Cheese, Watermelon, hardboiled egg white Salt and Pepper tofu with garlicky kale
Tuesday Wheat Berries w/greek yogurt and fruit Leftover tofu and kale over a salad, pear Apple w/pb, watermelon Quinoa Salad w veggies + beans
Wednesday Wheat Berries w/greek yogurt and fruit Quinoa Salad wrap, watermelon Apple w/PB, pear, hardboiled egg Roasted Chickpeas and Asparagus
Thursday Protein Smoothie, hardboiled egg Tofurkey Sandwich w carrots + a salad Cottage Cheese w berries, hardboiled egg Tempeh Tacos
Friday English Muffin w/pb + a banana Leftover Tempeh Taco Salad Cottage Cheese, an apple, berries TBD

To prep for the week, last night I cut up the watermelon, hard boiled a dozen eggs, and made some quinoa to turn into quinoa salad for tomorrow night. I also chopped up some carrots and shallots, and all of that took only about 30 minutes – not bad to feel ready to take on the week!

Are there a lot of farmers markets in your area? What is your favorite thing to buy there? I looooove fresh eggs and milk, but also clearly the fruits and veggies. With the eggs and milk – the difference is incredible between getting it fresh and buying it at a regular grocery store. The only thing I normally steer clear of is the bread, just because I can’t go through it fast enough!

34 Responses

  1. The strawberry sales the past 3 weeks have been amazing. I think I’m going to turn into a strawberry. That’s fine.

    I love the Dupont farmers market, but because of coaching, I rarely get there, or to any other farmers markets. It’s unfortunate, because of the the Dupont vendors sells this ricotta cheese that’s so good you can eat it with a spoon.

  2. We’ve got quite a few in the area. Although I’m slow to get out the door on Saturdays and the one closest to me is over at like 11. Booo…

  3. I’m so jealous your markets are already open – Chicago is still struggling to shake off winter! 😉 Random question – I got into wheat berries because of your post but am having trouble calculating WWer points – 1/2 cup doesn’t equal the weight etools says. Any suggestions? Thanks!

    • Hey Leah! I usually just use 1/2 cup cooked and count it as 2 pts+. It’s probably more than 28 grams but I’ve never weighed it. If you want to be very careful, you can weigh in dry and go from there, but I think they’re healthy enough to assume its OK to count 2pts+ for a half cup! =)

  4. I’m not a milk drinker but for some reason that milk sounds so delicious and refreshing right now!

    I was too lazy to go to the Farmers Market this weekend — the 2 big ones are only 15-20 minutes away, but somehow I thought that was “too far” this weekend. I’ll go next weekend because I love their produce!

  5. I love our Sunday market here in Baltimore. It is HUGE and has everything from fruit to veggies to pickles (SO good) eggs, fish, falafel, smoothies, donuts, omelets….everything! Oh and of course, coffee from Zeeks. A Baltimore staple! I have not been yet this year but I have been planning my attack. I love how prevalent farmers markets are becoming. There is something so rewarding about talking to the person who planted, tended and picked the food I am about to eat.

    • Ohhh I didn’t realize there was such a great one in Baltimore! I’m going to be up there the weekend after next, so maybe I’ll hit it up on Sunday!!

  6. Wow those Shallots are crazy! I’ve been looking online for farmer’s markets up here – but it seems they don’t open until June. Until now – I’ve never really been interested in hitting them up!

  7. I have two more weeks before the farmer’s market near me opens up and I can’t WAIT! I love seeing all the fresh produce laid out. There is nothing better than fresh produce.

    • The taste is just a 180 from conventional store brought produce. though I will say, I dug into some of those strawberries from The Teet yesterday and they were DELICIOUS and perfect.

  8. All that fresh food looks so yummy!

    There’s a farmers market right outside my work. It’s not open yet, but I love buying tomatoes, apples and cucumbers from them.. It always tastes amazing.

  9. Wow what great deals for all that local yumminess!

  10. I wish we had more farmer’s markets in our area. They are so random here it seems. There are great ones more in downtown ATL area…but that is just too far.

    Your weekend really does sound just perfect.

  11. yey for farmer’s markets 🙂 I was so excited that ours opened this past weekend 🙂

    I took so many pictures!

  12. I love Farmer’s Markets! Portland has SOOO many. In almost every neighborhood. You got some yummy looking stuff.

  13. I’m so excited for farmer’s markets this summer! looks like you got some good stuff:) and we had a fabulous weekend here in RI too. Well deserved after a loooong winter. Oh, if you need any help with marathon training let me know:) Hopefully I have some advice to share!

    • I’d love help with marathon training! I’m currently putting together my plan now, based on Runner’s World beginner program. Ideally I’d like to run just 3x a week, with some yoga/strength/cross training in there. I’ll email you!

  14. I love looking at your meal plans! so creative and healthy.

    I havent gone to the farmers market yet, but I plan on going on Saturday!

  15. I live in kitchener near the somewhat famous St. Jacobs market. I went early last year and was somewhat dissapointed. A lot of the produce wasn’t locally produced 😦 and there seemed to be a huge emphasis on prepared food and cheap sunglasses. I do love the Kitchener market (which I’m hoping to get to this weekend for the first time) and the St. Lawrence Market in downtown Toronto. It’s such a crazy overstimulating environment, I feel like I need a nap when I leave it.

    • That’s the advantage of grower’s only markets – they have to grow their own food in order to sell it. I was surprised that that actually has to be a rule – I assumed all farmers markets sold local, organic produce – but that’s not the case! I’d check out localharvest.org if you haven’t already to see if there are any growers only markets in your area. Also, check out yelp.com for reviews – that’s where I found out a lot of info about which ones to go to in my area!

      And I totally get needing a nap after visiting one! That’s how I am post an Asian market visit!

  16. those shallots are awesome! i want some!!

  17. Do you metro or drive down to the Dupont Market? I’ve heard really good things and would love to check it out, but it’d be a hike on metro just for produce when there are closer options… and I’m always worried about parking when I drive into the city. But maybe on Sunday mornings parking’s not so bad? Might have to brave it!

    • I drove to the market on Sunday and didn’t have trouble finding parking right off the circle! you might have to drive around a bit to find a spot, but its totally worth it!

  18. I love buying eggs at FMs! But they are definitely pricey with the amount of eggs I eat.

  19. OH wow….what a great looking farmer’s market!!!! The color of those shallots is wild!! I’m really looking forward to ours getting in full swing soon. My favorite things to buy there? Definitely just picked tomatos later in the summer. There is just NOTHING like them!!! Have a great day Beth.

    • I can’t WAIT for tomatoes to be in season! There were a few vendors carrying them, but my boyfriend says its too early and I bought some anyway last week and they tasted kind of mealy. Come onnnnnn summer!

  20. I got into going to a farmer’s market last year. It was lots of fun, great produce and a chance to talk with the growers. The only drawback was that it is from 4-6 pm on Tuesdays – so I have to leave my office early to get there. I’m counting the weeks til it opens for the season. I even did a post last year about it, that’s how impressed I was. I’m waiting for the heirloom tomatoes, love the colors.

  21. great buys from the farmers market!!!!

  22. I just bought some rhubarb at the Old Town farmer’s market this past weekend!

  23. Yay for Del Ray FM, that’s the one I go to!!! Haven’t been to the Dupont one but there are some good ones in Silver Spring, Courthouse, Kingstowne, and Lorton.

    Just found your blog – it’s great and you’re a neighbor sort of, how cool!

  24. You inspired us to go to the local market this weekend and it was so much fun … we got tons of strawberries!

  25. I live in Montgomery County and we have great farmer’s markets here too – Rockville, Takoma Park, etc. The problem is I run on Saturday mornings and bike on Sunday mornings, so I can’t get to them early. Good stuff sells out quickly, but I really need to start getting in the habit of going right after my workout. Your purchases look amazing, and I admire your ability to plan meals so far in advance! I try to do that, but by the time the day comes I don’t feel that eating whatever it is I planned to eat that day.

    • Could you incorporate running and/or biking and the farmers market? On Sunday I ran to the grocery store with a reusable bag in hand, then walked back. I covered 3 miles, then went out for another 2, and hit two birds with one stone!

Leave a Reply

