• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Menu Plan Monday

Thank you guys SO MUCH for all the congratulations on hitting my goal weight last week. It feels pretty surreal and I’m honestly having a little trouble getting my head around it and moving into the maintenance mentality. I’m planning on doing a post later this week about next steps for me and how I’m going to change things now that I’ve hit goal, so stay tuned.

This weekend was amazing and, as always, too short. I did work at Weight Watchers on Saturday morning, but besides that I mostly just did a LOT of relaxing. In fact, I slept through my very first race yesterday! I’ve signed up for races before and not been able to do them, but yesterday I actually woke up after the race was over! Sad story. I did end up going to the gym and doing 3 miles of intervals and 20 mins on the elliptical yesterday to make up for it, but still.

That said, it’s time for another Menu Plan Monday!

This week, I’m heading up to Baltimore Thursday for FitBloggin’ (!!!) so I’m trying to use up everything in my fridge before I go. There’s a slight chance that I may have gone a little overboard with shopping this week given that I’m going out of town, but I’m going to try my best to work my way through it all. All the meals at the conference are being provided, so I’ll probably just bring a few snacks with me to be on the safe side.

For grocery shopping, I went to Trader Joe’s this weekend for the first time in a while and got a ton of stuff for so cheap! I ❤ TJ’s.

First up, the produce.

  • Green Peppers
  • Sliced Mushrooms
  • Black Mission Figs
  • 2 white onions
  • 4 lbs Anjou Pears
  • 6 bananas
  • Organic Broccoli Slaw
  • Organic Pea Shoots

  • Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Cinnamon Raisin Bread
  • Lavash Flat Bread
  • Whole Grain Flour Tortillas
  • Organic Firm Tofu (x2)
  • Nonfat Greek Yogurt
  • Garbanzo Beans
  • Frozen Pineapple Tidbits
  • Frozen Mango Chunks
  • Frozen Strawberries (x2)

The two new-to-me items I got are Ezekiel 4:9 Cinnamon Raisin Bread and Lavash Flat Bread.

Apparently, I like bread. Winking smile

I didn’t waste much time diving into either, and they are both AWESOME. The Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin is the same Pts+ value as the sprouted sesame (2pts/slice) and its so flavorful and delish. I toasted a piece and ate it with nothing on it because it was so good as is!  I’m also excited about the flat breads because they’re so versatile. I can make pizzas, wraps, egg sandwiches, burritos, square quesadillas… The stats are pretty good too:

For 1/2 a wrap, its 3 pts+, and a full wrap is only 5pts+ and they’re pretty huge.

The total damage for everything was also quite minimal.

$39.58! Insane, right?

The things I need to focus on using up this week are mostly the produce, because everything else has a pretty long shelf life. I see many pears in my future.

Here’s what I’m thinking for this week in terms of a meal plan:

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Monday Overnight oats in a jar (1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup skim, 1/3 cup greek yogurt) topped with sliced banana leftover Mexican Casserole (Sunday night) cottage cheese, pear, hard boiled egg Maple Tempeh Burgers (experiment) w/sweet potato fries
Tuesday Greek Yogurt, Wheat Berries, Frozen Berries, chopped pear leftover Maple Tempeh burger over greens apple w/pb, hard boiled egg leftover Mexican Casserole (after WW)
Wednesday English Muffin w/peanut butter, banana, hard boiled egg Mexican Casserole w/salad banana w/pb, cottage cheese Tofu Stirfry with soba noodles, broccoli Slaw + Peanut Sauce
Thursday OIAJ topped w/sliced banana Leftover Tofu Stirfry Travel Snacks – Banana, Pear, Almonds Baltimore!

Side note: If you haven’t made the Mexican Casserole yet, do it. Every time I make it I can’t get over how delicious, filling, and healthy it is. It’s also very budget friendly, and is GREAT as leftovers. I even got a little spunky and topped it with some fresh cilantro and crushed tortilla chips for a garnish last night.

Yum!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

28 Responses

  1. Highlight of my weekend? I’d love to say the time at the winery (because it was so much fun), but I really really enjoyed sitting and being anti-social on friday night… if we’re being honest…

  2. Oooh you will have to let us know how the cinnamon raisin ezekiel bread tastes! I always see it… and want to buy it.. but would be SO upset if it ended up tasting yuck.. and I spent 4$on it!

  3. The maple tempeh burgers sound really intriguing – can’t wait to see the recipe.

    We missed you at the race – find another 10k and we’ll join up with you for it.

    P.S. I’m totally guilty of overbuying produce right before going on work trips, and often end up eating like 3 tomatoes and a pound of zucchini for lunch the day before I leave.

  4. Great job on your grocery shopping Beth!

    Highlight of my weekend — running 19 miles on Friday and finding a great dress yesterday — I’m reading a bible passage for a wedding this Saturday and it has taken me a while to find the right dress.

  5. OMG, how did I miss that blog entry?!

    CONGRATULATIONS, Beth!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You are a role model for me. 🙂

  6. I think the highlight of my weekend was the blogger bake sale I participated in to benefit Share Our Strength. I was able to put a lot of faces to blogs and had a great time helping out!

    The flatbread look really good, I’ll have to look for it! My meals this week consist of:

    Tuna Cakes and Green Beans
    Skillet Lasagna
    Pasta e Fagioli with Brown Butter Asparagus

    Have fun at Fitbloggin’!

  7. The highlight of my weekend was walking in the pouring rain after dinner down on U street on Saturday. I forgot my umbrella and found no sense in running. It’s moments like those that make me happy— when you can’t control the elements.

    I also cooked a yummy dinner last night for my BF.

  8. my highlight for this past weekend was leaving work on Friday and going straight to Red Door in Great Neck (Long Island) and getting a deep tissue message then going to the local pub and having a drink and some chow. With my best friend!

  9. wow good for you! I’m so glad i found your blog 🙂 I just bought a ton of frozen fruit yesterday too! great for smoothies 😉

  10. I going to keep my eyes open for the bread. Highlight of my weekend? I’d say making it through one of the HARDEST power yoga classes I’ve ever gone to. I STILL feel it!!! Fun! Have a great week Beth!

  11. Beth — What does one do with the broccoli salad? Do you always stir-fry it? And congrats on the goal weight! Love the blog (I’m a new reader.)

    • Hi Darla! Thanks for the congrats and for the compliment on my blog!

      You can do a LOT with that broccoli slaw. I stir fry it sometimes, but its also really good raw with just a touch of vinegar. You can use it for coleslaw, for an extra veggie kick in wraps, salads, or sandwiches. Plus, it makes a great filler in omelets, or can be used as a pasta-esque substitute.

  12. I can’t wait to have access to TJ’s on the regular!
    Have fun at Fitbloggin’!

  13. Have fun in Baltimore! I love Baltimore! 🙂

    The highlight of my weekend was visiting with my best friends Saturday and doing absolutely nothing Sunday! 🙂 Didn’t even change out of pj’s!

  14. Highlight: definitely meeting my A goal and PRing at my second half marathon. The tiramisu on Saturday night comes in a close second.

  15. My highlight: My 10 month old baby girl started walking this weekend! Your TJ posts always motivate me to make a trip there! 🙂

  16. Congrats on hitting your goal weight. Very cool. Very admirable.

  17. Congrats on hitting goal weight! How awesome!!!

  18. Would you be willing to send me the recipe for the maple tempeh burgers??? pretty please:)

  19. I love how you are planning almost all your meals. I try to meal plan but it’s more like grilled chicken on Monday, pasta on Tuesday, etc. I tend to only plan out dinners, I guess! 😛
    Those Lavash wraps look fab!

  20. Highlight – completing the Rite Aid Cleveland Half-marathon, taking almost 6 minutes off my time! A new PR for me!

  21. I am ALL ABOUT the Eziekel cinnamon raisin bread – I eat it just about every day – delicious!

    I’ve been hearing a lot about the Lavish flat bread – excited to pick it up at my next TJ visit!

Leave a Reply

