• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Five Years Ago Today

I’m currently in Baltimore at FitBloggin’ for the weekend and will be back with stories and a tell-all on Monday! And if you’re here because we met at FitBloggin’ – hello!! =)

Around this time last year, my company had an intern who was on summer break after his freshman year of college. Several of us were in the conference working on a project together, complaining about getting old (we weren’t), not knowing what we wanted to do with our lives and how we couldn’t believe it had already been 4 years since graduating, when the intern asked the question.

“Well, have you accomplished all the goals you set for yourself for your first four years out of school?”

After the initial shock of the question wore off, we all burst into harmonious laughter.

Just wait, kid.

Exactly five years ago today – May 20, 2006, I graduated from the George Washington University with my BA in Psychology. It’s hard to believe how fast time goes and that it’s really been that long since I’ve been in college!

Instead of dwelling on how far I still have to go in life, I want to focus on the top five things I’ve accomplished and am proud of over the past five years.

1.) Hit my goal weight.

This is a recent one, but honestly, I didn’t know if I’d ever be able to do it. I’ve been overweight and then obese for pretty much my entire life, so the idea of actually having a BMI in the normal range just seems so unreal. Of course, the weight is just a symbol of how much healthier I am on the inside as well and I love all of the changes I’ve made. I worked very hard for it, and it’s something I am extremely proud of.

2.) Became a runner.

A lot of times people email me or leave comments and assume I’ve always been a runner. This is SO not true. When I look at my list of races, I’m still kind of in disbelief with the fact that I’ve run 14, including 2 half marathons and 2 ten milers. I’m also signed up for a full marathon later this year and am somehow looking forward to starting training!

3.) Figured out that healthy living is my passion!

This one is huge for me because I now know the direction I’d like my career to go eventually! They say your 20s are all about figuring out what you don’t want to do, so that in your 30’s you can pursue what you DO want to do. I’d like to use my passion for healthy living to help to motivate others to change their life and deal with the obstacles that come their way. I feel like I’m really getting there in terms of deciding on the field, but I still have to figure it out the details of exactly what I want to do.

4.) Learned how to cook.

This is a major accomplishment for me because my mom and older sisters were always the cooks around my house growing up, so there wasn’t really a place for me in the kitchen. Since I moved out on my own, I had a lot of chances to experiment with cooking and have actually gotten pretty good at it! Wil has helped me a lot to learn about different cooking techniques, cutting styles, and flavor combinations, and there has also been a ton of trial and error. Coming up with my own recipes to post on here every week is one of my favorite things to do now, and learning to cook has been a vital part of taking control of my health.

5.) Started this blog.

Beth’s Journey started as a freewebs page, and when I started writing more day to day entries in there, I switched over to this full fledge blog back in February of 2010.  This site has become my main venue for doing something I’m passionate about every single day. I love writing in here, sharing my struggles and recipes, and the fact that people actually read it (still blows my mind!). Most importantly, I love all the amazing people I’ve connected with since I started it from other bloggers, to readers, to the people I’m probably hanging out with right now! It’s driven me to pursue my goals even further and has served as a great tool to keep me on track with leading a healthy life. I can honestly say that this is something I am very proud of. I’ll also say that it takes a lot more work than I expected when I first started it and has turned into a very low-paying part time job ;), but I wouldn’t change a thing.

What about you? What is something that you are very proud of that you’ve accomplished in the last few years?

23 Responses

  1. Congrats on getting so much accomplished since you graduated Beth! The most important thing is that you are living such a healthy and rewarding life right now! I went to grad school, got married, and found a great career, so I’m pretty happy. Def had lots of rough spots along the way though 🙂

  2. I am very shy — and I am so proud of myself for joining a volunteer organization a few years ago — if I hadn’t I wouldn’t have met Jason and it really helped me start to break out of my shell. That was huge for me!

  3. So much has changed for you (in a good way!) in the past few years. Beyond the weight loss, I bet you fee amazing. And soon, you’ll be able to add “paid off credit card debt” to your list of accomplished goals and you’ll feel AWESOME. Because you are.

  4. Wow. I graduated in 2006 too, with a BA in PolySci. Has it really been 5 years? Whoa…

    I think quitting smoking was a big one for me. It was something that I had worked on for a long time, and then in 2007 all the right things came together and it has stuck since then. And no, I don’t miss it!

    My career goals have changed quite a bit since graduation, and I am very pleased to say that I finally know what I want to be when I grow up – a writer! I will be starting a MFA in creative writing and publishing design in the fall and I am really excited. One summer goal is to write more on my blog. Now it has one lonely post…my biggest block is figuring out what I want to say!

    Congrats on all your goals and welcome to Charm City Hon! It looks like the sun is coming out – I hope you are able to get out and explore – it’s remarkably different from DC around here!

  5. I also graduated in May 2006 with my psychology degree!

    I am proud that I have completed my masters, that I had the courage to move half-way across the country to a place that I knew no one (Texas from Ohio), and that I met the man of my dreams. All in all, it has been a good 5 years!

  6. I’m glad you started blogging otherwise we never would have met 🙂 Hope you are having a great time at fitbloggin!
    I’m proud that I have become a runner, quit smoking and saved enough money to buy a house (OK, co-buy a house, but close enough!)

  7. Congrats on those successes! I’m excited to hear how you’ll continue to pursue #3.

    I would say getting my finances in order has been my biggest success in the past couple of years. My only current debt is my mortgage, and I’ve managed to save 6 months expenses and I’m maxing out my 401k savings. If I really try I can have my house paid off in 5-7 years. This is a complete 180 from where I was 5 years ago when I was struggling to live paycheck to paycheck.

    I think your recipe and cooking techniques posts are great!

    Enjoy your weekend at FitBloggin!

  8. So many awesome goals that you have accomplished in the past 5 years!
    I am super proud of starting my blog – and being completely honest!
    I am also proud that I am living on my own.. in a place.. that is not being rented. Crazy to think that is the case!
    I have also saved a significant amoutn of money in the past 3 years.. and love it!

  9. I also graduated 5 years ago. Since then I would say my biggest accomplishment is raising a healthy happy boy on my own. I was pregnant and terrified when I graduated and I can’t believe he’ll be 5 in december!

  10. I’m much older than you but I’ve had similar satisfaction from my blog. I find blogging to be an outlet for sharing my passion in life – healthy cooking! We have another thing in common. I just became a Weight Watchers employee. I look forward to helping people on their weight loss journey (I lost 40 pounds). Thanks for making your blog a goal so we can all benefit from your experiences.

  11. Congrats on all that you have accomplished. You have done fabulously since graduating!
    I graduated 4 years ago yesterday, craziness I tell you.

  12. people sometimes think that I must have always been a runner too! (and beth knows me long enough to know that’s not the truth). TWENTY races later, including a marathon, 3 half marathons and a triathlon, a successful career in banking in Chicago and the man of my dreams…. LIFE IS GOOD! Beth, I’ve always known how strong willed you can be when you want to; your many many successes are no surprise to me. It feels good to know you are so happy and healthy. LOVE YOU!

  13. Congrats on all of your accomplishments…setting and reaching goals really is the key to happiness!! Have a great time at Fit Bloggin!

  14. My five year is next summer and I seriously can’t believe it has been that long! Have fun at Fit Bloggin!

  15. I left a job that was driving me crazy, went back to school, and found a career where I am happy!

    I too graduated 5 years ago, and it blows my mind sometimes how much I have changed and grown! Great post!

  16. That’s a great place to be, five years after graduating college. Actually, your post made me think back to where I was five years out of college versus where I am now (FOURTEEN years out, omg). I think I might do a post on that. Of course, I didn’t blog about my goals and things, so it would just be from memory, but it’s fun to think about how I’ve moved through the last fourteen years.

  17. what a great post! hope you are having a ball at fitbloggin. saw your pic on carrots and cake blog 🙂 i got my masters and moved up the ladder at work. it showed me that it is never too late to go back to school and do something different. so glad i did!

  18. You are such an inspiration! It’s been lovely meeting you!

  19. I’m just starting on this blogging journey. But I can’t help but be inspired by bloggers like you who’ve used them to initiate life changes! Keep up the great work!

  20. WOW- you truly are inspiring. I am new to blogging. An injuring and a surgery forcing me to stay off my feet for 16 weeks is what led me to the blogging world. I am so thankful I found it. I really believe with the support of the blogging community and blogging myself I can reach my goals. You are proof of that!!! Thank you!

  21. Hello! New(-ish) reader here — congrats on reaching your goal weight and rocking your goal dress!

    This post definitely resonates for me — thanks for sharing! I don’t know why, but I in my early 20s I didn’t really think much about goal setting. I had a few, but I probably could have been more ambitious.

    But now I am ready to crush my list of goals! Many of my current goals are ones that you have achieved — goal weight, racing, etc. I am excited…hanks for being such a great inspiration!

Leave a Reply

