• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

FitBloggin’ Favorites

I honestly don’t even know where to begin! FitBloggin’ was amazing and Roni did SUCH a great job putting the whole event together. I walked away feeling so inspired, energized, and excited to be a part of the healthy living blogging world! I have so much to share, so I’m going to break a lot of it up over the course of the week.

In case you’re not familiar, FitBloggin’ is a conference for health and fitness bloggers held in Baltimore, MD that has hundreds of attendees. The conference is two full days of informational sessions, as well as networking and fitness activities. There was everything from a zumba and pilates classes, to sessions on intuitive eating and branding yourself, to sponsored receptions. I saw a lot of people I had previously met at the Healthy Living Summit back in August 2010 in Chicago, but met SO MANY new people and it was awesome.

For my first FitBloggin’ recap, I’m going to share a few of my favorite things.

My favorite swag item.

You all know I love free stuff, and there was A LOT of it. I seriously walked away with three times as much as I came with, and I’ll do a full post on that later this week. But, hands down, my favorite item was the New Balance Easy Tones!

These are the new generation of shape up shoes where you work your core when you wear them, but they don’t look like orthotics with those really thick soles like a lot of them do. The sole of the shoe has a very subtle curve so you can’t tell they are shape ups unless you’re wearing them, but they’re just as effective.

The idea is you engage your core to stay balanced while you wear them, so you work your body a lot more than walking around in flat shoes. I haven’t worn them much yet but I’ll let you know how they go, and I just LOVE the colors.

My favorite session.

This is a tough one. There were A LOT of really great sessions and I learned a lot throughout the conference. My favorite session though was probably the keynote panel called Blogging From Hobby to Career? The speakers were Andrea Metcalf, Karla Walsh, Kelly Olexa, and Liz Neporent, and the session was moderated by Carla Birnberg aka Mizfit. Please excuse this crappy photo but it’s all I got because I was soaking in all the information and energy!

This one was my favorite because it got me really excited about being part of the blogging world. It’s such a new, cutting edge field and is just now gaining credibility and recognition as a true field for a career to stem from. The women on stage are all bloggers among other things in the healthy living/fitness world, and the energy and enthusiasm coming from the panel was contagious. You can find the liveblog (play by play) of the session here, as well as more information on the speakers.

My favorite blogger group shot?

Blogger Ladies

Courtney (photo credit to her!), Jaclyn, Brittany, Gracie, Gabriella, Moi, Theodora, Nicole.

My favorite learned tip?

Two answers here. Andrea Metcalf told me the best tip for any runner is to walk around on your heels after a run. I’d never heard this or done it before, and feels awesome after a run! It stretches out your calves, hamstrings, and the entire back of your legs, plus it prevents injury. Win-win.

Second, also courtesy of Andrea Metcalf, if you’re taking a photo with one or two other people, you know how the person in the middle tends to the look the widest, for lack of a better word, because the middle person is facing straight towards the camera and the people on the side are tilted a bit? Her tip is to turn your body to the side like you’re on the edge, and then square your shoulders back so you’re shoulders are facing forward. This tip in action:

Elizabeth, Me, and Jen. I feel like I look really thin in that photo and I should have had her take a straight on shot to show the difference!

My favorite picture of me being my weird self?

Me and Jen, THE priorfat girl. Winking smile In case you couldn’t guess it, she rocks. And I’m sure you’re probably already reading her blog, but if you’re not, go check it out. She’s extremely inspirational and very real with her writing. We got to spend a lot of time together this weekend and she was awesome!

So that’s it for favorites, but I will also say that it went by SO FAST. I couldn’t believe the conference was already over on Saturday evening, and was really glad I decided to stay Saturday night too so that I could ease myself back into real life. After a late night out with some awesome bloggers, I went out for a 4 mile run around Baltimore, which was a great way to end my time in Baltimore.

So tell me… If you were at FitBloggin’, what was your favorite part of the conference? If you weren’t there, what was your favorite part of your weekend?

25 Responses

  1. Beth you are looking so good!!! You look great in those maxi dresses.

    I have no doubt that you could turn your blog into a career — you are very passionate and it shows in your posts!

  2. Glad you had such a good time! And you look tiny in all the pictures!

  3. I admire you Beth! You look great! I know you must inspire so many folks out there!

  4. I started practicing that photo posing trick on Sunday, after you told me about it on Saturday night. It’s a good one!

  5. You look great! I need to remember that photo taking tip.

    I can’t wait to hear more about the conferece, especially a review of those shoes! Super cute, and you’re right, not as crazy looking as some others I’ve seen. I guess I want to know if they really work.

    We had great weather this weekend so I enjoyed spending time with family and friends.

  6. I love that group photo, too! And that photo trick…damn girl! 😉 Miss you already!!!

  7. Those sneakers look awesome! I love the colors, too!
    Walking on heels after a long run.. never heard that either.. but I am totally down to do it to see if I notice any differences in how I feel later on!

  8. My favorite part was Saturday morning when I was walking to breakfast and saw a bunch of people that I knew, who knew me and said a wonderful warm hello. I felt like I was finally there, rather than alone and trying to figure out this whole thing. Another favorite was chilling at the popchips tent Fri. afternoon. Loved Intuitive Eating and the Branding workshops. And, really enjoyed talking to you.

  9. Hi new to your blog but so glad I found it! I’ve been loving everyone’s Fitbloggin posts (I sadly wasn’t there) since I get to gain all the great blogging insight you all learned!

  10. Looks like FB was SO MUCH FUN! Love the New Balance sneaks. You looks so gorgeous in all of your photos! Thanks for sharing those tips.

  11. So jealous! I would love to hit one of these conferences up! And now I’m headed home to VT over HLS! Excited to see my fam but boo to missing another opportunity!

    I have those Easy Tones (in white) and LOVE them. They are so comfortable and I wear them all the time.

    Sweet amount of swag!

  12. You are looking good Beth!

  13. Wow! Looks like an awesome weekend! I can’t believe those new balance sneaks were part of the swag! Lucky! I think this just shows what a smart group of women there are in the healthy living blogging world that y’all are turning this into a career…way to strike while the iron is hot! Super smart!
    And you do look awesome in that dress!!

  14. what fun! I so wish I could’ve gone! Too much moolah right now. Glad you had such a great time. The favorite part of my weekend was getting some yard work done and the sun finally shining!

  15. Wow, you are so darn skinny!! Look at your collar bone in those pictures. I love being able to see mine in the pictures I take.

    I’m glad you had a great time and were able to meet Jen. I’d love to meet her someday. We live in the same state and not too far from each other. She’s a great inspiration to many.

  16. It was so great meeting you this weekend Beth!!

    For some reason I always thought the middle was the best spot to be in to looking slimmer?!? I always think I look bigger when I’m on the end – maybe it’s the way my arms tend to look?

  17. You look so slim! I love the long dresses! 🙂

  18. Beth, you look so pretty! It’s been so fun to read Fitbloggin’ recaps from different bloggers perspectives! Glad you had a great time!

    My favorite part of the weekend was eating a ton of yummy Indian food! 🙂

  19. What an awesome conference!

  20. Beth!!! I’m so glad we got to hang out this weekend…you’re pretty awesome 😀 Seeing that group picture of us makes me want to go back to Saturday night, haha! Oh, and you seriously rock the long dresses – just sayin’ 😉 xoxo G

  21. enjoyed the recap! wish i was there!!! have an amazing week!!!

  22. Hey I tried the walking on my heels today! It works! thanks for posting, Im a new aspiring runner, and Im learning how to deal with these new aches and pains.

  23. the photo thing is SOOOO true! I have been trying to remember that anytime we do group shots now.

    it’s funny that you think you have large feet, mine are a size 11!

  24. Loved meeting you! We got the same New Balance shoes 🙂

  25. […] two healthy living conferences, first the Healthy Living Summit last August in Chicago… and then FitBloggin in Baltimore in […]

Leave a Reply

