• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

New Recipe: Fish Tacos with Pineapple Salsa

When I saw that tilapia was on sale at The Teet for $3.99 a pound, I knew I had to have it. We’ve had a major heat wave here in DC, so I wanted to come up with a dish that was light enough that it could be enjoyed outside out on my balcony, and these fish tacos did the trick!

The fish tacos were substantial enough to keep me full, but light enough to be enjoyed in the heat. The worked perfectly with the pineapple salsa and crunchy broccoli slaw in lime juice, and looking at these pictures makes me want to eat them again now! Fruit salsas are one of my favorite things to whip up in warmer weather because they are loaded with flavor, but so good for you and versatile.

Delicious, simple, and cheap? Yes, please!

Pineapple Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 of a large pineapple, diced small (substitute mango, kiwi, strawberry, or anything you can think of!)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced small
  • 1/4 red onion, diced small
  • handful of cilantro, chopped (optional)
  • juice of 1 lime

Directions:

1. Add first four ingredients to a bowl.

2. Stir to combine, then squeeze the lime juice over the top and mix until combined.

Colorful, delicious, and super versatile. You can use this on chicken, pork, black beans, a salad, with chips, fajitas… you name it.

Fish Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 pound tilapia
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup panko bread crumbs
  • zest of 1 lime
  • salt + pepper to taste

To start, preheat your oven to 400 degrees, before getting your breading ready to go. Beat the egg in one bowl, and then add the panko crumbs and seasoning to another bowl.

For the panko crumbs, add salt, pepper, and the zest of one lime (perhaps the lime you use in the salsa above! make sure you zest it BEFORE you juice it though). The lime zest gives it more color than flavor, so you can add some lemon zest too if you want it citrusy.

Once those are ready to go, cut the tilapia up into similarly sized pieces as best you can.

I know some people say to do each piece one at a time, but I just put all of the tilapia pieces into the egg bowl and mixed it around until they were evenly coated and it worked perfectly.

When doing any breading like this, it’s really good to have one hand designated your “wet hand” and one designated your “dry hand.” So, one by one, use your wet hand to pick up a piece of tilapia from the egg bowl and drop it into the breadcrumbs. Then switch to your dry hand to sprinkle the bread crumbs over the tilapia and make sure its coated, and then use that same dry hand to move the coated piece onto a greased baking sheet.

Make sense? Repeat this process until all of the tilapia is breaded.

Don’t worry if some pieces are thinner, fatter, longer, or shorter. Tilapia is a pretty forgiving fish, so the cooking time is flexible. Place the breaded tilapia into your preheated oven, and cook for 10-15 minutes, turning once.

Make sure your baking sheet is well greased or else the bread crumbs may stick to the pan, which mine did a little bit. You can eat the fish just like that so it’s a healthified version of fish sticks, or you can do it up and enjoy fish tacos with them like I did.

These have some broccoli slaw in lime juice, the breaded fish, pineapple salsa, and a dollop of light sour cream. The entire recipe has 15 pts+, so this plate (which was 1/3 of the fish) has only 10 pts, and it’s a LOT of food. Points aside, these are DELICIOUS and melt in your mouth good. The fish got so crunchy from baking and held up perfectly in the tacos against the other textures and flavors.

The best part besides the delicious flavor? They are on the table in about 20 minutes! If you want a speed dinner, make the fruit salsa while the fish is cooking, and it should all be ready at the same time. Yum!

What is your favorite meal to have in warm weather?

30 Responses

  1. That looks so good! I’ll have to add it to my recipes!

    Thanks!

  2. Wow, Beth that looks AMAZING! Fish tacos on the roof balcony on a Wednesday night…what a life =)

    The tilapia looks like it was baked really well, and the salsa looks really awesome too! I wonder if you could pan fry the tilapia instead? You probably wouldn’t have to use much oil. Hmm…

  3. You should read this for background on tilapia: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/02/science/earth/02tilapia.html

    I only buy my tilapia at Whole Foods as a result where it is not farmed unsafely.

  4. I have tons of mangoes in my fridge. Totally making this salsa for my camping trip this weekend!

  5. mmmm i am gonna def try this fo’ sho’

    It may be immature but I laugh every time I see you buy food at a store named “The Teet” hah, why is it named that?!! I love it!

    I grill out 4-5 times a week from spring to fall, it’s my favorite thing to do. I love putting a dry rub on some steak and making chipotle tacos.

  6. In the summer I tend to eat a lot of uncooked and cold food. Salads, smoothies, collard wraps, overnight (or 2 hour as was the case last nigh) oats bean dips and nut cheeses. In particular I make a weekly grain salad (last week was a barley/lentil one with lemon tahini dressing that made me salivate) that I can then eat alone, as a topping to a green salad or on collards as wraps.

  7. I am yet to try fish tacos! It’s another one of those things that is always a second choice for me when ordering on a menu…

  8. I can’t wait to try these!! I live in South Florida (where there are 2 seasons – hot and hotter) and was dying for fish tacos last weekend. My husband and I went out for them and they were all wrong. They were totally greasy and covered in some icky mayo. I can’t wait to make these on Saturday after our standup paddle boarding adventure! Thank you for sharing!! 🙂

  9. Beth this looks delicious! I just love fruit salsas.

  10. Those look amazing, thanks for the recipe!

    I love anything on the grill when it’s hot out. Especially veggies! I can’t wait for corn on the cob season.

  11. those look great! if you like spicy – you may want to try blending 1 chipotle pepper in adobo with the yogurt. I always have a can of those and after you open them you can keep the rest of the peppers in the fridge for months!

  12. YUM! I love fish tacos. The one thing I am weird about, though, is fruit + meat. Can’t do it. LOL I’m sure it tastes just fine, but it’s a mental block.

    I pretty much try to grill everything I can in the summer. The one thing I haven’t tried yet is a grilled pizza.

  13. I tried my own version of tilapia tacos earlier this week. I put mango/peach salsa on mine. I will definitely be trying your version next week. Thanks for the idea!

  14. I just had someone come in my office while this post was up and they stopped what they were saying and said OOOO Pineapple Salsa!

    I concur.

  15. I looove fish tacos, I like the idea of the lime zest in the breading for more flavor. Lately I’ve been using parchment paper in the oven instead of greasing a pan and I haven’t had a thing stick, it’s my new favorite. Hope you give it a try, thanks for the great recipes!

  16. What a perfect meal for a perfect night 🙂

  17. I love fish tacos! I’m not a huge fan of tilapia for some reason though. I love fish that has a lot of flavor, which tilapia doesn’t. Its perfect for dishes like this though because the pineapple salsa can really be the star of the flavor show!!!

  18. Beth, this looks AMAZING!! I’m going to have to try this and I’m totally going to give you a shout out!

    My favorite summer meal is a burger! Whether beef, bison, or a veggie burger, there is just something magical about a burger during the summer. On a hot day though, there is nothing better than watermelon or a fruit salad! So refreshing.

  19. Long time reader, first time commenter. Beth, thanks for this recipe…I have Tilapia in my freezer (yes, you can freeze fish) and have been in desperate need for a recipe beyond garlic, butter and lemon. Thanks for sharing!!

  20. I haven’t tried tilapia yet, but these look so good! I’ll be trying them out for sure!

    My favorite warm weather meal is spinach and strawberry salad with roasted pumpkin seeds. So good!!

  21. Those look amazing, Beth! Tilapia is one of my favorite fish…it isn’t too expensive..and on sale, it is even better!

  22. That salsa looks amazing!! I make fish tacos with tilapia regurlary and always serve mine with black bean and orange salad! It’skinda like fruit salsa, but with black beans added! So SO SO tasty!

  23. I love fish tacos and these look so delicious!! I can’t wait to try making them!

    I love a big romaine and grilled chicken (with w/e mixins are around the house) salad when it is super hot

  24. Holy tacos Beth, these look amazing!!! Love the pineapple salsa recipe, thanks! I love salads and grilled chicken or shrimp when its warm out. I can’t wait for that to happen here…. Have a great day.

  25. I love salads or BBqs in summer!

  26. These tacos look delicious! I definitely love fish tacos, but I also love ceviche in warm weather. Yum!

  27. Mmm…I could definitely go for those tacos right now. 🙂

  28. That sounds great! I don’t eat a lot of fish, but I could fry up some tempeh and use the salsa on tempeh tacos!

    My apartment pool is open until 8, so during this heat, I’m definitely looking for recipes that can be made up quickly after I get out of the pool!

  29. Oh my gosh! I cannot wait to try these. Tacos + panko crumbs = heaven!

  30. Beth, what else did you do the tacos up with? Sour cream and looks like a slaw mix of some kind?

Leave a Reply

