• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

On Maintenance

Before I get into maintenance, I have something exciting to share.

Last year for Valentine’s Day, Wil bought me a beautiful work dress from Ann Taylor – something nicer than I’d ever buy for myself. It was a size 8, and while I loved the way it looked on the hanger, it did not fit at all in a way that it would be appropriate to wear the office. I tucked it away in the back of my closet, dubbing it my “goal dress,” but unsure if ever the day would come where I could actually wear the dress and look decent in it.

Fast forward to yesterday, and as I was wandering around my apartment getting ready, I spotted the dress tucked away behind several other dresses. I hadn’t tried the dress on since I got it last year and realized I should give it a whirl just to see. As I slipped it on and (awkwardly) zipped it up, I almost shrieked with excitement. It fits!

Me in my goal dress

And I’ve decided I’ll definitely never have a career in modeling…

Maintenance

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s talk maintenance. So far, it’s going really great! I explained the way maintenance works on Weight Watchers in this post in case you’re unfamiliar, but basically its exactly the same as the regular program, except you get 6 extra pointsplus per day.

My goal weight is 164, which I picked only because its the top of the range for a healthy weight for my height. This means I have to stay between 162 and 166 for six weeks, and then I get to have the highly coveted status of Lifetime Member. Once I’m Lifetime, I’d like to lose a few more pounds and get between 155 and 160 (I think), but I won’t be in a rush to get there.

My first time hitting goal, I weighed in at 162.6, so 1.4 under goal.

After one week on maintenance I weighed in at 162.0, so down .6.

After week two of maintenance (yesterday morning), I weighed in at 161.8, so I put my greek yogurt on the scale, stepped back on, and was 162.0. No joke.

So I guess you can say maintenance is going quite well.

What have I been doing differently?

Not much to be honest! I’ve been eating slightly bigger breakfasts and lunches, usually having around 15-20 pts+ total during the day before I leave work. I’ve been sticking to 35 pts+ a day, and I am LOVING that. It feels like a lot to be eating, and I kind of wish I had realized that I could up my points to 35 each day while I was losing, and then still have 19 extra weekly points to work with. I haven’t felt deprived at all and have made room for a treat every single day, usually in the form of dark chocolate, frozen yogurt, or gelato.

I took the weekend at Fitbloggin’ off from counting points just because it was hard to do when I wasn’t cooking, and I got home weighing about the same, so I consider that a success.

I’ll keep you all posted as I finish out the next four weeks on maintenance, but so far, so good!

Do you tend to keep clothes that are too big or too small for you, or do you get rid of them right away? When I was losing weight, I got rid of clothes immediately when they were too big, but I did hold onto the clothes that were too small as I regained the weight the second time. It was good to have those clothes because I felt like I had something to work towards, but I know some people don’t like to have anything in the house that’s too small for them.

48 Responses

  1. I am 1.6 lbs away from goal. I JUST went through my closet to get rid of clothes that are too big (mostly because I am moving, and don’t want to take them with me), but like you suggested in an earlier post I am keeping a pair of “fat pants”.
    I also kept clothes that were too small as goals. During my weight loss journey. I hung a pair of “skinny pants” on my closet door as a motivation! 🙂
    Glad to hear maintenance is going well! I am only a few weeks away! 🙂

  2. I kind of love that you weighed your yogurt. I, too, have the “goal dress” hanging up on my closet door – it’s the bridesmaid’s dress for my friend’s wedding in August. 🙂

    Way to hit that goal weight!

    SuzyQ

  3. The dress looks great! I love going “shopping” in my own closet 😉 best feeling in the world!

  4. So happy that your maintenece seems to be going great for you!!! You should be so proud of all that you have done! You look absolutey stunning in that dress!!

    I keep all of my clothes.. to small.. too big. Most of the clothes that I wear.. especially my pants are too big on me. I have a few pairs that fit perfect.. but still wear some that are too big. I don’t know why I don’t get rid of them. I guess it is because it would greatly downsize my wardrobe..and I don’t have enough money to replace it alL!

  5. I keep a few things called “if I get the confidence and maybe tone a little more I’ll totally rock this” clothes. Some I actually have, too. So that makes me happy. 🙂

    It’s a cute dress!

  6. I have clothes that are too big, too small and fit just right. Every couple of weeks I get rid of tons of stuff when I realize I don’t wear it! I do tend to keep dresses and such, because even if I don’t wear them again, a friend or sister might need to borrow something for more special occasions.

    Beth you look fabulous! I love the print on that dress.

  7. You look so good in that dress! I just called my co-worker over to check out your post. She’s been doing Weight Watchers, and she was equally impressed!

  8. super cute dress! I keep my too big clothing because I still fear I might need it someday. I don’t currently have too small stuff because I am at my smallest right now 🙂

  9. That dress looks awesome on you. You must be so pumped to be in single-digit clothing sizes! My size hasn’t varied too much – basically 4-8 with a very short time at 10 thrown in there – since I was 13. But, since I’m at the lower end now, I put all my 8s in storage to clear out closet space.

    Glad you are doing well with maintenance – it can be hard. Keep it up!

  10. Not only does it fit — it looks freaking FABULOUS!

    I’m excited to read more about your maintenance and lifetime journeys…

    I made it to maintenance and lifetime about 2 years ago — stayed there for a while but then started creeping up when I started doing more strength training.

    It’s hard for me because I would not be at my Lifetime goal if I went back, and I actually wouldn’t even be in my “healthy” weight range.

  11. You. Look. Hot!!!

  12. I love the dress and you look great!

    I have a variety of clothes that are too small for me now but I either used to wear and would love to wear again or I found on a really good deal and hope to wear. I am motivated to focus more on my health this summer now that my student teaching is finished and my only current commitment is finding a job. Oh, and I tried on a pair of jeans that were too small for at least a year this morning and they fit perfectly! So glad that I kept them around ^_^

  13. I definitely have a goal dress. It bought it in October and it is Vintage. I can currently fit into to it, but not in a way that I would like to wear out of the house. It’s so exciting you are wearing your final goal dress! You’re amazing!

  14. Congratulations! That’s awesome!!!!

  15. So amazing. Way to go Beth! You have worked hard and earned this lady! The confidence is shining through! xo

  16. That dress looks fantastic on you! Congratulations!

    I have a goal weight in mind, but I am ultimately hoping I can go beyond that so I am just keeping both to myself and seeing where this journey takes me.

  17. You look gorgeous Beth!

  18. The dress looks great on you. You go girl. Wil has nice taste. Hats off to him on the dress. You guys enjoy your Memorial weekend!

  19. You’re right!! Looks like I have a weekend project to rid of my size 16’s!! MUAH!

  20. You look fantastic in that dress! Congratulations, you must feel great. And I have to say I think it is wonderful that you are so open about your weight. I was commenting to a friend the other day that women are so secretive about their weights, and I think that is why we all think we weigh too much. I think everyone weighs 125, no matter their height or size, and that is ridiculous! I especially like watching the women on the Biggest Loser and seeing their weights, which is what real women weigh and they look phenomenal. We should all be more open about our weight, and maybe the young girls in our society won’t feel so much pressure to keep getting thinner.

  21. your dress it so cute! Congratulations. You look fantastic!

  22. My weight has tended to stay the same since high school. I did gain freshman 15, but lost it all that following summer. That was the biggest I’ve ever been, so all those clothes got donated to charity. I didn’t want to see them again! That’s awesome that you fit in your dress now too!!!

  23. You look great in the dress!! How exciting!!

    Congratulations!!

  24. Adorable dress! Love it!

  25. What a beautiful dress! Congrats!

  26. I get rid of my clothes as I lose weight. Holding on to them is like holding on to the past. I am all about moving forward on this journey.

  27. You look gorgeous Beth!! Congrats 🙂

  28. You look wonderful! I love the dress too. 🙂

  29. You are rockin the goal dress!!! I’m so excited for you.

  30. You look amazing Beth! And well done to your man for picking out that cute little number!

  31. You look so amazing in your goal dress! 🙂

    I keep a lot of small clothes unless they are just ridiculously small and I know I’ll never get there again and be healthy. I usually keep a few items that are a bit loose but wearable just in case I’m bloated or something.

  32. looks great!

    question: how tall are you?

  33. I just got rid of some of my clothes that were too big. It was kind of hard, because it really meant that I had no “back up” but it felt really good at the same time. I do keep clothes that are too small though because fitting back into them is wonderful 🙂

  34. Congrats on making it to the maintenance phase! You looked wonderful in your goal dress!
    To answer your questions about clothes, “what do I do about them once I have outgrown them”.
    1) sometimes I have gotten rod of them immediately (if I still had a smaller size in my closet)
    2) orher items Like PJ’s u held onto until I could not keep them up -literally! So I broke down & bought 1replacement pair until I could get to the next sizes
    3) my exercise pants I have sewn up & made much smaller. Trying to make due until I hit one more size down (I could not afford to buy new at every size- I have lost 47.5 pounds & have 53 pounds left to go)

  35. You look amazing in the dress !!!

    Love

    Mom

  36. You look amazing in that dress!! WTG!

  37. You look great in your dress!

    I tend to give my clothes to Goodwill as soon as they get too big…and I won’t let myself buy new clothes in a larger size if I put on a few pounds and find my old clothes getting t0o snug (:

  38. Maintenance is SUCH a challenge so I’m so proud of you and how well its going. awesome! You look great in that dress too. 🙂

  39. Great job getting to goal! That dress is really nice – he has good taste. BTW, can you provide link to the Health salad you made a few months back? Can’t find my copy and it’s not on your top recipes. Thanks so much.

  40. Love the dress! You are looking great. 🙂

  41. Great job on the dress – it looks great on you!

    I get rid of clothes too big, but hang on to smaller clothes – for that one day!

  42. I just started losing weight for the first time in years. I started a workout program in January called Turbo Fire. It was poor timing because I FINALLY got my professional wardrobe for hanukkah this year in december. and now none of it fits quite right. I actually look heavier when I go to work. Which is a bummer. I keep telling myself I am going to learn to alter them. I took a sewing class and learned to make a skirt – but that seems far easier than actually making my clothes smaller.

    As for keeping clothes that are too small? NO! I didn’t and now I regret it. I had one shirt in particular that I had forever – that was way too small but would probably look great now.

    p.s. you look fabulous in that dress! and were definitely meant to be a model 😉

  43. You look amazing! continue to revel in your accomplishments – you deserve it! =)

  44. […] read Beth’s Journey? I’m sort of a late follower to her story but I love her blog. She is on maintenance now, so check her blog out and read through her […]

  45. Fabulous dress! Congratulations lady!

  46. […] I haven’t really touched on it in a while. My first couple weeks on maintenance were actually really easy for me. I shifted to 35 PointsPlus a day and was enjoying being able to eat more food. Having my weight […]

  47. […] I haven’t really touched on it in a while. My first couple weeks on maintenance were actually really easy for me. I shifted to 35 PointsPlus a day and was enjoying being able to eat more food. Having my weight […]

Leave a Reply

