• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

An Unplugged Memorial Day Weekend

I completely forgot to announce the winner of last week’s giveaway on Friday!! I entered 1 through 299 into random.org and it came up with #118 – Katie, who said “I would love the Zumba DVD and of course the food coupons!” Katie – please email me your mailing address so I can get the goodies out to you!

This weekend I stayed away from modern technology the most I have in a looong time. I barely had my phone with me, didn’t check my email, didn’t take many photos, and didn’t blog or go on the computer for most of the three days. It was the first time in a long, long time that I spent so much time unplugged and I have to say – it was quite refreshing!

The weekend itself was the perfect mix of relaxation and fun in the sun. Friday night I had a work happy hour where I had one too many drinks, but I ended up waking up Saturday and cranking out 45 minutes on the elliptical first thing. I got a manicure/pedicure a little later in the day and then met my friend Amber for sushi. We both biked there and then back to my house, for 10 miles total – not too bad! Those two workouts were the only ones I got in all weekend, but that’s OK.

I put together a pretty ridiculous outfit for biking to sushi, but it totally worked.

Bike shorts underneath a cute summer dress with my black easy tones. I switched into flip flops when I got to Café Asia, but I felt a little silly while riding my bike in a summer dress. I did wear a helmet too – don’t worry!

Sunday morning I headed out to a new-to-me farmer’s market in Alexandria – the Mount Vernon FM.

It was super cute and I’m loving all the spring fruits and veggies that are finally coming around.

I ended up walking away with kale, mixed greens, green beans, farm fresh eggs, squash and strawberries for $22. The strawberries were $5, and totally not worth it in my opinion. They barely lasted the day and were a little on the soft side. I think it’s a little late in the season for them – oh well!

Wil’s daughter Charlotte and her sister Nora were with us for all day Sunday and Monday, so we spent most of the daylight hours hanging out by the pool.

charkeynora

It was SO hot both days but especially yesterday, so most of the time was actually spent in the water – except during “adult swim” when the kids weren’t allowed in the water which is when I snapped this photo. We also had a few friends over yesterday for some grilling and pool time, but it was pretty low key and I didn’t even take any photos!

Kind of crazy how quickly this weekend went by even though there was an extra day – I really need a vacation!!

Tell me… what was the highlight of your Memorial Day Weekend? And – do you tend to “unplug” on the weekends, or usually keep up with technology, phone and email? I usually spend less time than I do during the week, but most weekends I do check my email, read blogs, have my phone with me, etc.

27 Responses

  1. Beth, you look SUPER tiny in that picture!! 🙂

  2. Sad news about the strawberries. Bad strawberries are terrible.

    I swam 20k this weekend. Including 10k in one workout yesterday. DC pools are closed today. Sad.

  3. What a fun weekend. Love the bike shorts and dress.

  4. I love unplugging on the weekends. I do the shorts under dresses all the time. Except last time I wore really short shorts and I got some weird looks.
    My weekend highlight was a long hike in the Shenandoah!

  5. Actually I think that’s quite an ingenious idea for an outfit!

    My weekend highlight was not being at work 🙂

    Torri

  6. I had several highlights to the weekend. But hanging out with Megan @ Braise the Roof was pretty fab. We’re total nerds together. 🙂

  7. I was unplugged for most of the weekend as well. We went camping in an area of colorado with no cell coverage

  8. I tend to unplug a little bit over the weekends — but I still check my email and read some blogs, but if I’m too busy then I don’t. I took yesterday “off” of blogging and such and it felt so good to just do as I pleased!

  9. I’m glad you had a good unplugged weekend. I try to do that most weekends too, although I check my personal email and I few blogs.

    I had Thurs & Fri off of work, as well, and it felt like I was off forever with holiday, which was great. However, we had terrible weather. Colder and rainy. I got a lot of stuff done inside anyway.

  10. wow, ok, I need to go to that farmer’s market with you! awesome!

  11. I totally wish I could unplug on the weekends.. it actually might become a goal of mine. I feel like I am attached to my computer.. but some time away from it would do me well!

    The highlight of my weekend was my 8 mile run.. a PDR for me 🙂 .. and of course the fact that it was longer the all my other weekends!

    Love your biking outfit!

  12. I love unplugging. I pretty much do it every weekend. I’m in love with all of the farmer’s markets opening up around town!

  13. Isn’t unplugging the best? I was secretly hoping to have no cell service this week and although I did, I barely touched my phone. The highlight of my weekend was the weekend 😉 I went to Deep Creek Lake this weekend with my BF and 5 of our friends. We rented a beautiful house and did various things around the lake (kayaking, putt-putt, 2 movies, lots of cooking, and of course the hot tub). It was the perfect 3 day weekend!

  14. On weekends when I stay at home I usually still read blogs and follow some twitter. On weekends where I am traveling I almost always unplug!

  15. I wear dresses and skirts on my bike ALL the time! The only thing I worry about is getting off of my bike and giving someone a bit of a show…

  16. I unplugged too! I skimmed some blogs but for the most part just stayed away from the internet. It was nice to just have fun and not worry about taking photos of things for the blog. I did take some but not many. 🙂

  17. Sounds like a great weekend. Unplugging is TOTALLY necessary sometimes!

  18. I unplugged for the weekend as well, felt awesome!!!!

  19. Love that dress! You are super cute 🙂 I really want to get a bike!

  20. I tend to unplug on weekends too!

  21. The farmers market looks great! I still haven’t been to one yet, but I have advanced to the stage of entering the days and times of my local markets into my phone with reminders…I figure eventually one will have to fit within my schedule! That stinks about the strawberries…those are my favorite!

  22. You would fit right in in Boulder! Girls always bike in dresses, but that is probably because everyone bikes everywhere here! 🙂

  23. I actually stayed unplug sort of this weekend as well. Most I have in a long time… technology is so addicting!

  24. I love unplugging on the weekends. It’s so nice to not be tied to a computer. P.S. You look SO cute in your sundress with biking shorts underneath 🙂

  25. Wait – which farmers market did you go to? You mention the Mount Vernon Farmers Market, but the photo is of the West End Market, in Ben Brenman Park – that’s our “home” market! I love it, it’s just the right size for us… plus Great Harvest has a stand 😉 we haven’t been in town for it yet this year, but I’ll definitely be there this Sunday!

  26. I’m usually unplugged on holidays and most of the weekends too. Occasionally I’ll post something quick or read while everyone is still sleeping, but holidays especially, I try to make the most of that time!

Leave a Reply

