• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

May Reflections and June Goals

Wow another month gone. I can’t believe we’re almost to the half way mark for 2011! I still sometimes have to remind myself what year it is, but I digress…

For May, I tried to keep the goal list short and simple, and while it was a monumental month for me in that I hit one huge goal, I didn’t meet everything I set out for myself to accomplish. Let’s take a look back at May and how I did.

May Goals

1. Develop a training plan for my upcoming marathon. Check! Here is the plan that I came up with. The basic idea is that I will have 1 long run, 1-2 easy runs, 1 day of speed work, and one day of cross training. I built in a little bit more running than I want to in this plan, so that I can make adjustments accordingly and not feel guilty if I take extra rest days. I will be trying to do morning yoga on Mondays since there’s free outdoor yoga right near my apartment for one hour, and I think it’ll be a great way to start my week and get some stretching in.

2. Keep up working out 3-4+ times a week. Check. I’ve been keeping track of my workouts on this spreadsheet, and I think I’ve done a good job being consistent with working out and keeping it varied while I’m currently NOT training for something.

3. Post another video. FAIL. I have some ideas of new videos to do, but I just have to actually make them!

4. Lose 2 pounds and get to goal! CHHHHHHHEEECKKKKK. I think I’ve patted myself enough on the back for this one, but I’m proud. 🙂

May was a relatively low-key month, so I had a lot of downtime which was really nice. It was also the month of FitBloggin’, which was the best blog conference I’ve attended and so much fun!

June Goals

June though, not so much. I have stuff going on every single weekend for the whole month, so the main goal is really to stay sane despite everything going on!

  • June 3-6: Travel to Indianapolis for Work
  • June 10-12: My sister is coming to visit DC!
  • June 17-19: Going to visit my other sister in NYC
  • June 25th: Harper’s Baptism in Philly

Whew!

Really though, here’s what I want to do:

1.) Become Lifetime on Weight Watchers!! This will happen on June 23rd if all goes according to plan, because that will conclude my 6th week of maintenance since hitting goal.

2.) Continue to workout 3-4 times a week despite traveling a lot during the month.

3.) Start running 2-3 times a week (I’ve only been doing 1-2x a week) to get ready for marathon training.

4.) Do another giveaway on the blog! Giveaways are a fun way to show appreciation to you, my readers, and I’d like to get in the habit of arranging something about once a month.

5.) Arrange some guest posts to help keep up the blog despite the busy month. If you’re interested, please email me bethsjourneyblog@gmail.com, and let me know a specific topic you’d like to talk about.

6.) Try to embrace my down time. Since there will be less of it, I want to read a bit more and make sure I’m making time for relaxing as much as I can.

So that’s it!

What was the best/most fun thing that you did in May?

24 Responses

  1. Sounds like June will be fun AND busy!

    Good luck on your goals an dI cant wait for the “im a lifetime member” post! 🙂

  2. Isn’t it crazy how quickly 2011 is going by? It makes me almost nervous!

    June is one of my craziest months (when it comes to weekend plans) as well! I feel so bad because people discuss taking trips to Chicago and I feel so bad having to tell them I can’t really fit it in until July or August! Ugh…

  3. Isn’t it crazy how weekends book up in summer so fast?! It’s all fun stuff, though, so who am I to complain? I have a girls trip to the Caribbean coming up in a few weeks and I am beyond excited! In my cube at work I have postcards from all the places I’ve travelled (mostly islands) and I call it “The Wall of Why I Work”. 🙂

    Happy June!!

  4. Yikes June sounds super busy! It is busy for us too and I know the month is going to just fly by!

    I had the most fun putting together wedding stuff/going to the wedding, etc. I wish I knew more people getting married!

  5. Embrace your down time! I found in my life that is an important factor to keeping sane when my schedule is chaotic.

    I think the best things that happened in May were finally graduating, getting my teaching certificate and starting to have interviews and accompanying and seeing my High school students perform their concert 🙂

  6. Embracing your down time is a wonderful goal!!

    I can’t wait to read about marathon training, get it girl!!

  7. I have a lot of the same goals in relation to my blog. I didn’t know Weight Watchers had different memberships, but I’ve read about this a lot lately. Good luck on your way to Lifetime! Most fun thing in May…work slowed down and I got some friend and family time back! 🙂

  8. ahh thanks for this! I write my goals each week but i totally forgot about my monthly goals! I will have to put together a post for this evening.

    As for the best part of May? I have two – first and most significant was watching my little brother graduate college! and second, in honor of my brother’s graduation, my parents took us and my husband on a Caribbean cruise – which was awesome!

  9. Reaching goal weight is a GREAT way to end May!!!

  10. lovely goals and reflection my dear – keep up the inspiring work!!

  11. Wow, your monthly goals post always makes time seem to go by so quickly…I feel like you just posted your May goals yesterday! I think I’m feeling inspired to do a goals post as well for the month of June in order to refocus!

  12. I live near Indy & would love to meet with you if you have time. I have been reading your blog for about a year & you have inspired me so much!

  13. My June goals are to up my water, be happy, smile and laugh more, and to start my half-marathon training with full force! yay 🙂 Thanks for inspiring us all! xoxo

  14. Great job in May. It’s a May you’ll never forget 🙂

    The highlight of my month was switching from PM to AM workouts and sticking to it! I have felt great and am really enjoying my Spin classes.

    Have fun this month!

  15. I ran my first half marathon in May and then signed up for another! I’d say that’s the best thing I did 🙂

  16. My May was like you’re June- busy most of the weekends with fun things, but I totally got derailed health wise, especially from my exercise program.

    Interestingly, though I stopped counting calories while so busy, I lost 4 pounds in May. I guess I was too busy to eat! Among the highlights of my May was a trip to Japan, and walking a 12k with friends.

    Congrats on your major achievement in May! You can post about it as much as you want. Reaching goal is something to be very proud of!

  17. Congrats on those great May achievements.

  18. Great goals! And I love no. 6! I am hopeless at embracing down time!

  19. Great job on your May goals!!! I threw my sister a baby shower and that was definitely so much fun!

  20. May was a great month! My hubbys birthday, lounging by the pool, dropping sizes everything about it was good! !

  21. Totally apropos of nothing in your post, but your hair looks really cute in that photo! 🙂

  22. How did you decide on your training plan? I’m researching for mine that I need to start in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

