• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

First A Vent, Then Stuffed French Toast

Can I just share the most annoying thing with you?

Last week, I decided to finally take the plunge and order a netbook. I’d been contemplating getting one for a long time since I travel pretty frequently for work, and was looking forward to having something super portable to bring with me during my travels (mostly so I could blog on the road!).

Last night, I got home and the package had arrived!

I excitedly tore it open to reveal my shiny new (refurbished) Asus netbook.

Inside the box, along with the netbook, was a wall charger and a battery, so I started to put the battery into the netbook and realized something wasn’t quite right.

The battery doesn’t even remotely fit into the netbook and is the wrong one! ARGH.

So I tried to remain calm and called NewEgg.com, where I had ordered the netbook from, and after waiting on hold for 25 minutes, finally got a customer service rep on the other end. After giving her every detail about my order and my full contact information, I explained the situation to her and she was SO unhelpful and even chuckled on the phone. She said that when you order anything refurbished from NewEgg.com, you (apparently) agree that they will do their best to give you the appropriate “accessories” but that they don’t always have them on hand.

I did NOT realize that a battery was considered an “accessory” and there was a chance I’d get one that didn’t fit into the netbook! Her only solution was that I could send it back, and then once they received it they would send a replacement that would hopefully have the right “accessories.” You’ve got to be kidding me.

Then I called Asus directly and their customer service team was MUCH more helpful. I’m supposed to hear from them in 24-48 hours with an update and the CSR took my mailing address to ship a replacement battery to. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes, but…

DO NOT EVER ORDER ANYTHING FROM NEWEGG.COM!!!

I feel better already. End vent.

Onto more delicious things. Specifically:

Stuffed French Toast

I was flipping through Self magazine over the weekend while getting a pedicure and came across a simple recipe for stuffed french toast. It included using corn flakes to coat the french toast for an extra layer of crunch and I was intrigued. I made a mental note to try it, and after last night’s catastrophe (exaggerate much?) I decided breakfast for dinner was the only thing that would do.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Erewhon corn flakes (freebie from FitBloggin’ – SO GOOD)
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (or one egg beaten with a splash of water)
  • 2 slices cinnamon raising ezekiel bread
  • 1 banana
  • syrup of choice (I made some with peanut flour, vanilla extract, and water)

To start, pour the egg into a bowl that is wide enough for the bread to fit in easily.

If you’re using regular bread, I’d recommend adding some cinnamon, vanilla extract, stevia, or other flavorings of your choice to the egg. The bread I was using was flavorful enough on its own to not need anything but the egg!

Place the pieces one at a time in the egg and let it soak up about half the mixture.

Next, crumble about half the corn flakes on a plate.

Place the soaked bread on top of the flakes and then sprinkle the rest on top of the bread so both sides are coated.

Repeat with the other slice, and then carefully transfer them over to a preheated pan.

Let cook for 3-5 minutes, and then carefully flip over. Don’t worry if it gets a little messy – that’s encouraged.

Cook the second side for another 3-5 minutes, and then transfer one piece to your plate. Top with half a mashed banana and some syrup of your choice.

And then top with the second piece of french toast.

Carefully slice in half and serve with the other half of the banana, or your choice of fruit.

Though a little messy, this stuffed french toast TOTALLY hit the spot.

The cornflakes added a really nice element of crunch (Self magazine’s idea not mine) but they were a little difficult to keep on the bread during the flipping process.

I thought they might get a little soggy from the egg, but they stayed super crunchy and were a great contrast against the soft french toast. The middle layer of banana and peanut syrup was so creamy and really took this breakfast for dinner to the next level. SO good!

Do you ever eat breakfast for dinner? What’s your favorite thing to have if you do?

I have breakfast for dinner a few times a month, but almost always just eggs or an omelet. I rarely make sweet treats like this, but last night it was completely necessary.

35 Responses

  1. that’s a pretty ridiculous policy – a battery is 100% necessary to run a computer, so to me that is a required component, not an accessory!

    i don’t usually have breakfast for dinner because i don’t prefer most breakfast foods (i like them, just don’t prefer them. if i had my choice, i would have lunch foods at breakfast time). that said, we’re really low on groceries right now but have plenty of eggs, so we’re having breakfast for dinner tonight! spinach, chive, and goat cheese frittata and probably some pancakes 🙂

  2. I’m sorry you had such problems with newegg. My husband is an IT guy and orders from there all the time with no problems…I guess you have to know what types of items to order from them. Did you ask to speak to a manager?

    The french toast looks great, I might try that for brunch in the future.

  3. The french toast looks delicious!

    Sorry to hear about your bad experience with Newegg — we have ordered tons of stuff from them (including our TV and basically any computer we have ever had) and they have always been 100% amazing.

  4. I”m feeling agita just reading that. Wow! And waiting 25 min. on hold is like the icing on the cake.
    Keep us posted on the next move.

  5. That looks so good, I love french toast, especially with cinnamon raisin bread. I’ve never thought to make a french toast sandwich though…

  6. I’ve never heard of that site, but I’ll definitely avoid it.
    I think I’m doing breakfast for dinner tonight, mostly because I’m out of food aside from eggs and don’t want to grocery shop before my vacation!

  7. That french toast is a beautiful thing. Seriously Beth- nicely done!!

    Breakfast is always going to be my favorite meal. I do savory breakfasts for dinner all the time- but sweet, like pancakes or something like that, usually stay within the morning hours.

  8. That’s so annoying about the battery! I’m so impatient with technology so I would be so peeved!!

    That french toast looks AMAZING. I like breakfast for dinner, but I prefer savory breakfasts like eggs and toast. I prefer sweeter meals in the morning!

  9. Are you kidding?? Wow, that would infuriate me. I’m glad ASUS at least helped you.

    That French Toast looks amazing… whew.

  10. I would have been so frustrated. This post was like “bad egg verses good egg” lol. Can’t wait to try this french toast… looks super yummy.

    I hope everything works out with the battery. Just use the frustration to motivate you in a workout. Some of my best workouts come from frustrations that I have to get out.

  11. I am sorry to hear that about NewEgg. I hope everything gets resolved!

    There is a breakfast place here in Baltimore called Blue Moon and they make Capt Crunch french toast. People really love it, but I have not tried it. I think it’s the same principle as the corn flakes but on a much more decadent scale.

  12. Wow, I would be furious!! How can a battery (something you can’t fuction without) be an accessory??? Good customer service can make all the difference and it sounds like theirs sucks. Glad you put the word about about them.

  13. Shoooo that French toast would make up for any crappy pc company’s mistake.

    Eat the French toast… then take a deep breath and release your fury at that company. They’ll rue the day they crossed a blogger!

  14. WOW! I cannot believe how NewEgg handled this situation. How unprofessional. I would totally agree that a battery is NOT an accessory to a netbook. In fact.. it is requried for it to WORK! While there are many, many customer service reps who do a wonderful job, its the bad apples like this lady.. and this company.. who give a horrible rep to the entire industry! I am SO sorry that youhave a piece of equipment that you can’t use! 😦

    However.. that french toast looks AMAZING!

  15. Sorry about the netbook- hopefully you get it figured out soon.

    I love breakfast for dinner.. usually I make a veggie omelette

  16. I like you.

    a lot.

    and…I like your recipes.

  17. That’s absurd about the battery! I can’t believe it!

    And breakfast for dinner is my favorite. I don’t do it often but it reminds me of being a kid. About once a month my mom would surprise us with pancakes for dinner and it was the best thing ever!!

  18. I love breakfast for dinner! Any time I can eat something sweet for a meal other than breakfast, I am a happy camper 🙂

    Sorry to hear about your computer fiasco. I am so dumb with computers that I would be so confused trying to sort it all out!

  19. I’ve used Newegg in the past, but never had to deal with their customer service — I’ll keep that in mind. Oh, and I’ve never bought anything that was refurbished, so I’ll keep that in mind too.
    I have breakfast for dinner all the time! Mostly eggs, though. But when my kids were smaller we did have pancake night once every other week or so…mmm, pumpkin-oatmeal pancakes are on my mind now!

  20. That is so frustrating! Sorry, boo boo. But that stuffed french toast is making me drool.

  21. I seriously can’t believe how terrible their customer service is. That’s just not an appropriate way to handle a call, even if they do consider a battery an accessory (which it isn’t).

  22. Love breakfast for dinner! I will make pancakes (your chia cakes) or waffles but usually it’s an omelet with veggies. Fritattas are also good and help to clean up leftovers in the fridge! I’m not familiar with that company and will not use them after your experience. Hope it all works out.

  23. I do breakfast for dinner all the time! However, I’m more of a eggs and fried potato person. I like the savory breakfast more than the sweet.

    Sorry about the computer battery. I don’t think that is an accesory. That is definitely an essential.

  24. That looks so good! Banana and pb sound amazing!

  25. Wow, that is ridiculous about newegg.com! After a problem like that, I’d just return the whole thing and give my business to someone else!!

    Hmm, sometimes I do veggie omelets for dinner. Easy and healthy!

  26. I’ve never had a problem with NewEgg, though also never had to call customer service. I would suggest disputing the purchase on your credit card.

  27. LOVE bacon egg and cheese biscuits for breakfast.

    So sorry about your laptop…how frustrating!

  28. That stinks about the computer…you were probably so excited to use it! I’ve never heard of NewEgg before but I will be cautious about ever using them now!
    The french toast looks really yummy…we do breakfast for dinner a lot, but switch back and forth between some type of eggs and once in a blue moon, we’ll do a whole wheat pancake night…thinking of which, I may do it tonight and post up the recipe and pics!! Thanks for the idea!

  29. I had french toast last night too! Great minds think alike!!!

  30. Oh my. NewEgg has great pricing sometime but their return policy and CS has got to be the worst. I’m glad the manufacturer is willing to help you!

  31. […] Share: Healthy Whole Wheat P-cakes After reading about Beth’s stuffed french toast yesterday, I decided breakfast for dinner was just what the doctor ordered in this house of […]

  32. I hate dealing with any customer service that deals with computers. They always seem like the most unhelpful people out there. It’s super frustrating. I’m glad the manufacturer was more helpful.

  33. It’s odd that you’d have such a problem with Newegg, I’ve been buying computer parts and accessories from them for years without a single hiccup. It could have just been the customer service rep you talked to being new at the job and/or just being dumb. I honestly would have tried calling them a second time before calling the manufacturer to see if it was just the customer service rep.

  34. do you know how many points plus that would be?! I am new to weight watchers and would LOVE to try this`!!!!!

Leave a Reply

