• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Three Things for Friday

I have three random things to share today, so let’s get the least exciting item out of the way first and then work our way towards better things.

1.) This past week was really hard for me maintenance-wise.

I weighed in yesterday for the third time after hitting goal, and while the scale read 163.6, so still .4 under goal, I was up 1.6 pounds up from last week. The first two weeks I didn’t really have that much going on so it was relatively easy to stay on track, but this past week with memorial day and being surrounded by friends, alcohol, and bbq for the entire weekend, I overdid it big time. I even saw 170 on the scale on Tuesday morning which was obviously mostly water weight, but was still a major wake up call. I ended up going back to 29 pts+ for Tuesday and Wednesday (weight loss mode) and I worked out Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday morning for 45 minutes each time, which I try to do anyways. So while I was able to undo most of the damage, I hate being in that cycle of going way overboard all weekend and then trying to use the whole week to make up for it. Just wanted to point out that I am not even close to perfect.

2.) Slightly more exciting… I am heading to Indianapolis today for the weekend for work and will be back in DC on Monday evening.

One part of my day job that I love is that I get to go to places around the country that I wouldn’t travel to otherwise. We go to a lot of smaller cities for our conferences that showcase their downtowns, so every place we travel to has cool things going on and is a lot nicer than you might expect! To name a few of the places I’ve been over the last couple of years for work:

  • Reno, NV
  • Houston, TX
  • Oklahoma City, OK
  • Minneapolis, MN
  • Kansas City
  • Columbus, OH
  • San Diego, CA (I WANT TO GO BACK!!)

I do have a hard time staying on track while traveling, so I’m going to do my best to hold myself accountable while I’m gone and promise to give a full report next week. I also just read over my Top Tips for Staying Healthy on a Business Trip for a refresher… (there’s some good tips in there!)

And now, for the most exciting news…

3.) I’m speaking on a panel at the Healthy Living Summit!!

Healthy Living Summit

The agenda just got published last night and you can see it here. Tina from Faith Fitness Fun is the one who came up with the session and is organizing the panel that I’ll be speaking on and I am so excited to be working with her!! This will also be my first time speaking in front of a crowd about healthy living and it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a WHILE. I’m so excited!! Tickets go on sale on Monday and this year it’s going to be in Philadelphia August 19th-20th – you should come!!

Have you ever done any public speaking? If yes, where and for what? If not, would you like to or not so much?

29 Responses

  1. Beth, congrats on being invited to speak at the Healthy Living Summit! That’s awesome news! And thanks for sharing about your experience this week. I think most people–even the healthiest people–go a bit overboard on holidays/ weekends. The difference between between being healthy and being unhealthy is how quickly you jump back on the wagon. The fact that you managed to maintain your weight and get right back to exercising shows how far you have come.

  2. Yay HLS speaking! I’ll be speaking, too. I speak ALL THE TIME for work – in front of groups of 30-100 people – at least 30 times a year. As long as I am very familiar with the subject matter, I’m fine.

    Maintenance is hard. No two ways about it. BUT by weighing yourself often, you can catch slides faster. Good plan.

  3. Beth that is so exciting that you’ll be speaking! I hope I’m able to go (aka I hope I’m able to buy my ticket fast enough!)

    Public speaking — not a fan, but I’m actually ok at it as long as I know what I’m talking about!

  4. That is really cool, Beth!!! I’m sure you will do great at the HLS.

  5. That’s awesome – you are going to be great!

  6. That’s fantastic that you’ll be speaking in Philly! I may try to attend.

    Have a blast in Indy! Remember… just one step at a time and just take each meal as it comes. You can do it and make the right choices. You’ll do great!

  7. Don’t fret, Beth, holiday slip-ups happen, it’s life, but you knew to get back on track afterwards and that’s what got you to where you are today…..your goal of being a lifetime member at WW!!!!! You are awesome!!

    On another note, last night at my WW meeting (I go the one on 23rd St!!!) we were asked who inspires us. I mentioned yours and Jen’s (at PFG) blogs and how your advice & fun recipies inspire me to stay on track. So, BIG kuddos to you for being SO inspiring to me, and so many other blog followers!! Thank you!!!!!!! 🙂

  8. Congrats on being a panel speaker! I’m sure you’re going to have a great time this year! 🙂

    Sadly, I won’t be in attendance, so you’ll have to have an extra vodka club for me. 😉

  9. I’m so excited that you are speaking! I still haven’t decided if I am going, but look forward to seeing your presentation either way. 🙂

    I also think that you are doing great keeping yourself accountable for your eating actions. You show that there is no reason to beat yourself up for your induldging. Just figure out a new plan and move forward!

  10. I just moved away from Indianapolis! It can be hard to find healthy food options and non-smoking places. Let me know if you want suggestions!

  11. Wow, it’s awesome that you’ll be speaking at the Healthy Living Summit. I live in the Philly area and totally want to go…but it’s the same day as my friend’s wedding. Next time you’re doing something around Philly, count me in! 🙂

  12. Congratulations on this new opportunity! I have been involved in public speaking for several years – usually lunch presentations for various groups. My topics are often health/stress based ( my specialty areas) such as : Women – Take care of YOU!, and Handling the fear of Public speaking. Actually had an event today but I have been sick all week so had to reschedule. Let me know when you come back through Columbus,OH – would love to meet you!

  13. I saw that you were speaking there on the website! I am gonig to try my best to get tickets! It would be awesome to see you speak.. and to see you after all these years! 🙂

  14. Congrats on getting the speaker spot! So excited for you, Beth! You’re looking amazing, btw. I’m sure you’re so close to lifetime you can taste it!

  15. Yay! I hope I can attend HLS, too! Congrats!!

  16. How exciting that you’re speaking at Healthy Living Summit! I hope i’m able to get a ticket!

  17. Maintenance is definitely hard. Sometimes it’s more difficult than losing all the weight in the first place!

  18. I keep going back and forth between whether I want to lose 10 more pounds and get down to an even lower goal weight or if I’m comfortable sticking right where I am and trying to maintain 150 (after an 85 pound loss)…hearing everyone talk about how tough it is to maintain makes me want to keep losing! LOL
    By the way, you totally inspired me to cook bfast for dinner last night and I just posted my recipe for healthy whole wheat pancakes! They came out really yummy…now I just have to try the stuffed french toast!

  19. I get to travel for work/school too. Last trip was to Toronto. I found a small grocery store and picked up some bananas to keep in my hotel room. They were the perfect pre-run fuel. I always check out the local area via google maps and look up potential routes on mapmyrun. I’ve gotten to explore new cities that way.

    Since I’m in academia, I have to speak about my research every once in a while. I don’t get nervous, but I have to be well prepared with a script or bullet points and run through the presentation once or twice in order to have a good presentation. I can’t just wing it for that kind of stuff.

  20. Congrats on speaking, Beth!! I’m speaking TOO! I’m super excited and nervous at the same time…I can’t WAIT! 🙂

  21. I’m not in maintenance mode yet, but I do understand the making of the weekend all week thing. Congrats on speaking at the Healthy Living Summit!

  22. I’m glad our sessions aren’t at the same time!

  23. Three things from me:

    1 – Cannot WAIT to speak with you! Yay!

    2 – Maintenance is hard work. I know I have maintained before with the approach of still having to “diet” during the week because of overdoing it other times. Which is so not the point. I think its almost harder to do than losing weight.

    3 – Hope your trip is going well.

  24. Have fun in Indy! It’s a great little town. One of my best friends/college roommates lives there with her husband. They love it! (and they bought a fantastic house for a steal compared to DC prices!)

    So excited for your HLS session! I was thinking about attending but this definitely might tip the scales!

  25. I really struggle on the weekends too. Thanks for sharing your struggles. It’s nice to not feel like “I’m the only one.”
    Also, thanks for the link to your tips for traveling. We’re going to be going on 16 day trip and I’m worried about how I’ll do with my healthy eating/fitness while we’re gone. Those are some great tips!
    I have a degree in public communication so I used to speak in front of people all the time when I was in school. I’m also a singer and used to sing in front of many people on a regular basis. However, I haven’t done either in about 3 years and I think I’d be petrified now. Congrats on speaking at HLS. I’d love to be able to come to that.

  26. […] Three Things for Friday […]

  27. […] how I said that I had a hard time with maintenance last week? Well this past weekend took it to a whole different […]

  28. […] maintaining got a little harder with the craziness that was June and if I’m being honest, it hasn’t let up […]

  29. […] maintaining got a little harder with the craziness that was June and if I’m being honest, it hasn’t let up […]

Leave a Reply

