• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back on Track Plan of Attack

Remember how I said that I had a hard time with maintenance last week? Well this past weekend took it to a whole different level.

From the title of this post, you can probably guess how healthy living went in Indianapolis – not well. I always go in with the best of intentions and then end up failing miserably with business trips. I think it stems from working such long hours and then the temptations are just everywhere, and the lack of sleep makes them even harder to resist. I’m trying not to beat myself up, but I got home Monday evening feeling extremely bloated, exhausted, cranky, puffy, and just… gross.

Here’s a breakdown of the good and the bad.

the good and the bad

Apparently I really liked the bathroom in Indy. =)

First up, the bad:

  • I overate majorly. Most meals left me feeling past the point of full and just did a really bad job at listening to my hunger signals and stopping when I was satisfied.
  • I overdid it with sweets big time. I don’t even like sweets that much, and I had at least two desserts EVERY.SINGLE.DAY. There were delicious cookies, cakes and pastries around all the time and I just couldn’t resist.
  • I didn’t eat enough veggies or fruit at all, and my body is feeling it!
  • I didn’t get enough sleep (that was pretty out of my control, but still not good)

Now, the good:

  • I drank a lot of water every day that I was there. I brought my new water bottle with me (full review and giveaway coming soon!) and filled it up a few times a day with the fruit infused water at the hotel.
  • I started the trip with a great workout on Friday. I ran outside for 40 minutes with two of my coworkers, then did some weights and another mile on the treadmill back at the hotel gym, burning 666 (!) calories. That was the only workout I had time for during the trip.
  • I didn’t drink a lot of alcohol at all. One night I had three drinks, but it was very low key for most of the trip and that was a good thing.
  • I started off each day with a healthy breakfast. Lots of oatmeal, yogurt, berries, egg white omelets, English muffins, and nonfat lattes!

I don’t even think these lists do justice to how bad it really was.. I don’t even want to share what the scale said yesterday morning, but it was NOT good. But aside from the scale, I FELT bad, which is the worst part about it. As I said, I’m really trying to not beat myself up, and instead focus on the fact that 4 bad days is not the end of the world in the scheme of things.

So now, for the get back on track plan of attack!

Despite being pretty exhausted Monday night, I knew I needed to get myself to the grocery store to stock up on lots of fruits and veggies, and to get a workout in. I killed two birds with one stone by doing a power walk to and from the grocery store for 45 minutes total and about 2.5 miles. The way back included carrying the groceries, so it was a bit of a strength workout too. I burned over 300 calories on the walk, too – not bad!

I got a few non produce related items:

Non Veggies

  • Fage 0% Greek Yogurt (x2 – on sale for $3 each)
  • Stonyfield Low-fat plain organic yogurt
  • 4 cans albacore tuna in water (on sale for $1 each)
  • Israeli Couscous
  • Lightly Salted Peanuts (for my first attempt at homemade nut butter!)

But mostly, I got much needed fruits and veggies.

PRODUCE

  • Bananas
  • Broccoli
  • Zucchini
  • Cucumber
  • 2 limes
  • Fresh Ginger
  • Baby Spinach
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • Basil (that plant didn’t last long….)
  • Carrots
  • 4 plums
  • 5 peaches (99 cents/lb!)

All that for $35.50 exactly. And then, I came up with a super easy meal plan loaded with fruits and veggies:

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Tuesday Greek Yogurt, Frozen Mango, Granola Huge salad with chickpeas, goat cheese, and fruit salsa Watermelon, peach Veggie egg scramble with toast
Wednesday English muffin toasted with peanut butter and banana Huge salad with chickpeas, veggies, and croutons Greek yogurt with chopped peach Watermelon Soup (recipe to come!) with a feta salad
Thursday PB + Banana Waffle Sandwich Leftover watermelon soup with feta salad Fage 0% Cherry, plums Ginger tofu and veggie stirfry with soba noodles
Friday Greek yogurt w/granola and plums Leftover tofu stirfry w/sobas Cottage Cheese, frozen berries Dinner out with my sister!!!!!

All of those breakfasts, dinners, and lunches take under 15 minutes to prepare, so that allows me to get in lots of healthy meals despite being really busy this week.

Besides eating healthy, I also plan to focus on drinking tons of water to flush my system out and to get in some great, quick workouts. Here’s the plan:

  • Monday – 45 minute powerwalk – CHECK
  • Tuesday – 20 minute running intervals, 15 minutes free weights – CHECK
  • Wednesday – 45 minute elliptical – CHECK
  • Thursday – 20 minute hill workout, 20 minutes free weights
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday/Sunday – run outside one of the days

So really, the “plan” involves just getting back to my normal way of living. Not deprivation, just a focus on extra fruits, veggies, water, and workouts. I also plan to try to eat 29 pts+ a day (instead of the 35 pts+ prescribed for maintenance) until my weight goes back down.

So what about you? What’s the first thing you do after falling off the wagon to get yourself back on track?

35 Responses

  1. I love that water bottle! I’ve been spying it for a few weeks in Target but have been refusing to drop the money on it!

    When I’m trying to get back on track, the first thing I do is eat the largest, veggie filled salad I can create. Usually with chickpeas for protien. Then the next day I do it again. I really find that 1-2 days of forcing veggies into my body makes me crave them again!

  2. Don’t worry–bad healthy living days happen to all of us! I’m impressed you had the courage to step on the scale! When they happen to me I avoid the scale at all costs until I feel less puffy…usually like a week, haha. I’m sure a lot of the weight you gained is water weight, anyway, especially if you ate out a lot (and Im sure you did) on your business trip. Lots of sodium in restaurant food!

    Good job getting back into your healthy lifestyle! It’s very inspiring!

  3. Gigantic piles of veggies (especially green veggies) and a serious workout. And lemon water. It’s painful for 2-3 days but much better in the long run. I think it’ll be easier than you think. You can do it!

  4. Sometimes it’s hard to stay on track when you’re out of your environment. The first thing I do when I get home is have a salad and workout. It makes me feel better immediately. But mostly I just forget that it even happened. We all slip up.

  5. Keep it up! you will get back on track and back down to the weight you want in no time. I am telling you what I have been trying to get myself to believe since I kinda fell off the wagon this weekend! Its nice to know I am not alone. Thanks for the motivation.

  6. I do what you did: go load up on fruits and veggies!

    Honestly it sounds like you did pretty well — it is tough when you’re not at home following your usual routine.

  7. Traveling is so hard on healthy eating. But it sounds like you are well on your way to getting back on track. Good for you! 🙂

  8. Beth, I admire how while you pointed out some negative aspects of your weekend.. but then found the positives. Always look for positives, because when you look too hard at the bad, it is really hard to get back on track!!!

  9. I’m like you, the first thing I do is go to the store and stock up on healthy food.

  10. Traveling for work is SO HARD! I’m glad I only do it occasionally vs. regularly. It’s just hard when you’re not 100% in control, you know. I think you showed a lot of balance, though. Yeah, you had some bad eating moments but you also made a LOT of good choices, too. It’s done, step away from the train wreck, movin’ on!

    I’m like you, to get back on track I have to go to the store and stock up on good things. I always pick a few new or favorite healthy recipes, drinking tons of water, and love feeling the puffiness go away.

  11. I did exactly what you did after my recent vacation. Went to the grocery and bought a ton of veggies! My body was craving them and I need to get back on track.

  12. I’m in the same boat this week. Fell off the wagon last weekend and since Monday have been in the dumps. Hitting the gym hard in the morning. Going for walks in the afternoons. Trying to drink lots of lemon water and eating fruits and veggies. Hopefully by Friday I will be feeling like my old self! Hang in there!

  13. I hate to say this Beth but I love hearing about your mess-ups and get back on track plans. It serves as inspiration for me to do the same. As a full-time student I feel like I have very little control over my ‘free-time’ and I’ve made some pretty poor choices for the last few weeks. And for me, its not simply an issue of feeling off physically but also feeling off mentally, psychologically and emotionally.

    Here’s to a week of better choices.

  14. Hang in there! You didn’t completely sabotage yourself to the point of no return 🙂 And your plan of attack is already in motion and sounds GREAT! Deep breath 😉 You’ll be back to feeling more in control again soon! 🙂

    Sara

  15. First of all, I am a recent subscriber. Being a Weight Watcher’s member as well, I was happy to stumble across your blog.

    That being said, I had a weekend similar to yours a few weeks ago. I was in Dallas visiting a friend and made a lot of not so great choices and the scale showed it when I came back. I am a little over 5 pounds from my goal weight, so it is hard to have those kind of weigh ins.

    As for getting back on track, I have really focused this week on making sure all of my meals/snacks are healthy and that I am within in my points range. For me, I just have to refocus.

    And as for walking to the grocery store. Way to go! I have one less than 2 miles away. I should take your advice and walk to it every once in awhile. It is a nice way to get in a little extra exercise!

  16. Plenty of veggies fo’ sho’! Which may really throw your digestive system for a loop after a crazy weekend… but hey… it’ll regulate eventually. 😛

  17. Welcome back! You were missed.

    I think you have a fantastic plan to get back to feeling great. Loading up on fresh fruit and veggies will help you to feel so much better. The biggest piece of advice I have is just not to get down on yourself. You had to go on the trip and there are always lots of obstacles on those types of trips. Cling to the positives and move onto to the great things you’ll do this week! Maybe think of realistic things you can do to prep for your next trip.

  18. I think the most important thing to get back on track is definitely planning and getting back into routine. The day after I get back from a trip, I need to plan to get back to my regular routine. I never thought I would strive on routine so much, but I really do

  19. This post totally reminds me of my work travel! I usually do pretty well avoiding sweets and drinks, but it’s still REALLY hard to get in all the fruits and veggies I normally have- just a sign that our world isn’t exactly operating with health in mind. I usually get back on track just like you- head straight for the grocery store, and if I haven’t worked out in a week, I start back slow.

  20. A break once in awhile is okay! The good news is that you recognize it’s just a BREAK and you’re getting back on track. 🙂

  21. Great looking plan! Its always easier to succeed when you have everything planned out. 🙂

  22. Hey Beth — great job getting back on track (and rhyming like a champ to boot 😉 ). Don’t beat yourself up too much — remember a lot of what you saw on the scale yesterday morning was likely water weight! And remember my favorite WW adage: “feedback, not failure.” You’re continuing to learn what’s hard for you about business trips and with that you can figure out how to better prepare yourself and handle it in the future. Way to jump back in!

  23. Taking the good with the bad is the best way of approaching things I think! A good heart pumping workout is my favourite way of ‘getting back on track’. And rememebr – one week is really nothing when compared to a whole lifetime!

  24. OMG I just bought that water bottle at Target. I have had a hard time this week too. Went out of town this w/e and the restraunts we went to didnt have the “freshest” veg. I mean we are talking some were not recognizable!! I am trying to get on track the rest of the week by doing a little extra cardio 2x this week. Also better veg!! Tried to copy some yummy spinach enchiladas tonight, that I had this w/e, only healthier version. They were yummy!!

  25. Do you have a meal plan in mind when you go to the store or do you just buy what’s fresh/seasonal/on sale?

    • I kind of do it both ways – sometimes I’ll have an idea of what I want to make, like this week I knew I wanted watermelon soup so I got the limes, ginger, and yogurt for that, but I tend to mostly buy produce that is on sale and what looks good at the store. Sometimes I’ll do my meal plan before I go, but mostly I make it after I shop.

  26. I know its hard when you get off track but I find it really positive that you’re honest about eating too many cookies and not being able to resist when they’re around all the time (and then feeling bad and dismayed at undoing hard work)… as I feel the same! (side note – WHY at work events is there such an abundance of fattening foods!)

    So many health bloggers often seem to live perfect food lives…. so its ultra refreshing to hear someone being honest and then planning how they’re going to get back on track – it inspires me personally to see someone I can relate to a little more who seems more human! Well done for a great post! And as the other posters said, try to stay positive! (maybe listen to the awesome song by the hold steady for inspiration!)

  27. Travel is rough, especially when you are traveling with other people. There is a HUGE difference in the way I can eat/drink/workout when I’m traveling solo because I’m on my own schedule. But, that’s what salads and water are for!

  28. Great plan of attack! Get right back into it and keep going!

  29. […] maintaining got a little harder with the craziness that was June and if I’m being honest, it hasn’t let up […]

Leave a Reply

