• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Weekend Recap Part One: The Bronx Zoo

Picture heavy post ahead – you’ve been warned!

Before this weekend, it had been almost a YEAR since I’d been to New York City! I know to some people that might not seem like a long time, but since I grew up in Connecticut, I’ve always considered NYC “my city”. I used to go there a lot with my family when I was little to see shows, go to dinner and just explore the city, and my sister Heather has lived there for over 10 years. One of my best friends from college, Leah, also moved there right after we graduated, so I’ve always had lots of reasons to go and usually visit at least a few times a year.

I’ve owed Heather a visit for a while, and after comparing schedules we finally found a weekend that worked for both of us! Rather than taking up your whole day by recapping my entire weekend, I’m going to tell you about our trip to the zoo today and share some tidbits, highlights, and pictures from the rest of the weekend throughout this week.

The Bronx Zoo

Friday morning started bright and early before 6:30am, since my nephew Ben enjoys waking up just after 5am (I’m not sure who in my family he is related to). I decided to make the most of it by getting out for a run around Brooklyn first thing, and ended up doing about 5 miles. Running around a city I’ve never been to (or haven’t been to in a while) is always one of my favorite ways to explore, and I’ve only been to Heather’s neighborhood once before this weekend, so it was perfect.

After I got back from my run, my niece Claire was awake too, so Heather, Claire, Ben and I all headed to the Bronx Zoo for the day. My dad used to take me and my sisters to this zoo a lot when we were kids, and I hadn’t been SINCE I was a kid, so it was fun to go back! A lot of the things were just as I remembered them, and its always so fun to do things with kids because they get so excited and it makes me appreciate the little things in life.

Claire and Ben were very eager to get into the zoo and get started with our day.

We saw some beautiful animals.

We goofed around.

We climbed.

We rode a bug carousel.

We watched a 4D movie and wore funny glasses. (In case you’re curious – a 4D movie has the same visual effects as a 3D movie, but your seat also moves, there were bubbles that came out of the screen, and we got splashed with water and blown with air!)

We fed some animals.

We got some souvenirs.

And some of us passed out on the way home.

I’m not naming names on that one. Winking smile

Overall, it was SUCH a fun day and made me feel like a kid again!

Are you a fan of zoos? What is your favorite animal to see?

My favorite is definitely the zebras – I’m always blown away by how beautiful they are.

25 Responses

  1. I LOVE zoos! although, I get kind of sad seeing them all caged up…but still, it’s always a good time.

  2. Looks like fun! I enjoy it but my fiance hates it. He thinks they’re so boring haha.

  3. I love zoos too! Haven’t been yet this year but we usually hit up the Cape May County zoo when we go down the shore for vacation. I’d have to say my favorites are all the cats (lions, tigers, cougars) and I love the giraffes. They are so pretty!

  4. I love the Bronx Zoo, I always visit the sealions during feeding time.

  5. I loved your post. Zoos are so much fun… my favorite animals are the polar bears. By the way, you got me hooked on wheat berries. I’m officially addicted. Have a great day Beth!

  6. Super cute! Looks like you all had a great time. I love to get away once in a while.

  7. I always enjoy the Zoo, though I’m sure I’ll love it even more when I have kids or nieces and nephews.

  8. I love the zoo! I grew up near DC so the National Zoo was my childhood zoo and I love that one more than any other I have ever been to. (on a related note – because I spent childhood going to the Smithsonian I had no idea it cost money to go into a museum until I was about 16) The gorillas are my favorite, even though I cry sometimes when I see them all locked up. Sap, I know.

  9. Wow, these are great photos!!! Your niece and nephew are so cute! I’m glad that you got the chance to visit them in NYC =)

  10. What fun! I am sure that I have been to the Bronx zoo at some part of my life.. but I have no recollection of it. I think I was to young!? Guess I need to go back!

    And totally come to San Fran for the conference..because the city is amazing!

  11. Love The Bronx Zoo! I think my favorite would have to be the Gorillas! I love the Congo Gorilla Forest at The Bronx Zoo. I could spend hours in there watching them.

  12. I like zoos. Part of me doesn’t like that the animals are captive but at the same time I’d rather have them in a zoo than poached. 😦

    Elephants are my favorite animal!

  13. Looks like a fun trip…especially with the kiddos with you! Can’t wait until my daughter is old enough to do things like this! I agree with you too…zebras are almost magical looking! So cool!

  14. ooooh how wonderful!!!!

  15. What a wonderful time!!! Love all the photos, thanks for sharing.

  16. I LOVE zoos! I grew up very close to the Bronx Zoo and we seemed to go there at least 2x a year on school field trips.

    My favorite animal to see is…the peacock! Love the photo you took. I also really like the prairie dogs…I think they would make the best little pets!

    So fun to go to the zoo with little ones, too 😉

  17. No photo of the famous Bronx Zoo Cobra?!

  18. ooooh never been to bronx zoo before! gotta add that to the bucket list.

    lolz at the bronx zoo cobra comment above.

    I love Busch Gardens back home and their safari animals. The gorillas and hippos are da bomb!

  19. I love to watch the giraffes. I’m amazed at how they seem so balanced with that long neck.

  20. What a fun trip – and more importantly, what adorable kids! Your photos really capture their joy, and some beautiful animals!

  21. I am definitely a zoo fan! It’s been too long since I’ve been to one….I like any of the fish/aquatic animals. 🙂

  22. I don’t really love the IDEA of zoos, but I still like to go…my favorite is either Pandas or Elephants…or anything that just had babies! I love animals.

Leave a Reply

