• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

BYOB in NYC x2

When I was in NYC this past weekend, I went to not one, but TWO byobs. In case you’re unfamiliar, BYOs (or BYOBs) means Bring-Your-Own-Bottle, so they are restaurants where you can bring your own wine or beer (or liquor if that’s your style). BYOs are actually not that common in NYC, so it was kind of random to end up at them two nights in a row, but they were both awesome! It was kind of ironic too because completely unintentionally, I did a really great job taking pictures of the people at the first dinner but not of the food, and I did a great job taking pictures of the food at the second meal but didn’t get even one of the people.

Fu Sushi

The first BYO was Friday night, when I got to see two of my best friends from college that I hadn’t seen in AGES.

That’s me, Linds (who lives in Boston) and Leah (the NYCer). I hadn’t seen Lindsay since our friend Rachel’s wedding last August (!!) and it had been months since I’d seen Leah, so it was a treat.

We went to Fu Sushi in the Lower East Side, which was walkable from Leah’s apartment so another plus.

I did manage to snap this one picture of the seaweed salad I ordered, which was served so pretty in a martini glass.

Besides the seaweed salad, we ordered a bunch of appetizers to share including veggie tempura, fried shrimp dumplings, a house salad and a california roll. I also got a spicy crunchy tuna roll and an eel cucumber roll for myself (YUM), and all of the food was awesome. I HIGHLY recommend this place if you’re looking for good quality sushi at an affordable price, and like to bring your own wine and sake!

Our dinner table:

From the left – Harrison, Leah, Me Linds, and Jordan.

After dinner, we went back to Leah’s place for a little while and then out on the town until really late, which I hadn’t done in a LONG time.

I woke up really early on Saturday morning (7am) despite being out until 2 or 3 (?), and perhaps more shockingly didn’t feel so bad. That changed drastically when I went to a 90 minute yoga class with my sister a few hours later and was doing a lot of inverted postures that made my head pound, but it was worth it.

Saturday Night

My parents came to meet us late Saturday afternoon in Brooklyn, so we started off the evening with some champagne and cheese.

You know your family is full of foodies when your not quite 4 year old neice and not quite 2 year old nephew like stinky cheeses.

They had both already eaten dinner, but were going crazy for that cheese! We must be related. Winking smile

Heather ended up getting a babysitter for Claire and Ben and we got to go out to dinner with the five of us (Mom, Dad, me, Heather, Dan). We went to this cute little BYO that was walkable from Heather’s apartment called Petit Crevette.

Oh, hi Dad in the window.

As soon as we walked in, we got a full view of the kitchen which was tiny and completely open – always a good sign that nothing shady is going on!

Instead of having regular menus, the restaurant had menus posted up on the walls throughout, which I thought was a cute touch.

The menu was all seafood, with the exception of one beef burger, so if you don’t like fish, don’t go there. But, if you DO like fish, this place was amazing! We started off with four appetizers to share between the five of us.

Tuna Carpaccio

Salmon Carpaccio

Fried Oysters

And cremini mushrooms.

You probably won’t be shocked to know that the fried oysters were my favorite, but all four of them were awesome. The mushrooms didn’t seem that exciting, but they were VERY flavorful and delicious, and the carpaccios were both so fresh they practically melted in my mouth.

For my entrée, I got the seared scallops in a mustard vinaigrette with double veggies.

These were so sweet and tender, and absolutely delicious. They were supposed to come with mashed potatoes and veggies, but I don’t LOVE mashed potatoes so I went with double veggies instead.

Have you ever been to a BYOB?

If you had to choose between only having beer, wine, or liquor for the rest of your life, which would you pick?

No question for me – wine!

22 Responses

  1. That seafood place looks amazing. I’ve only been to one or two BYOB, more places should do that.
    I would pick wine for the rest of my life.

  2. We have a bunch of BYOs here in TX, but I’ve never been to any of them. For some reason, it still seems really odd to me to carry in my own beer to a restaurant! I should try it out soon, though.

  3. Love it!

    I usually go for the mexican BYOB’s around here, but the sushi places are next on my list!

    I’d totally go for wine for the rest of my life. At least I”d be able to switch it up from red to white every once in a while…

  4. If I had to choose?! Eek! Probably wine. Although it would depend on the beer. I’m not drinking Bud Light Lime for the rest of my life. 😉

    I have been to a BYOB. I actually went to one in Sonoma so we were able to bring a wine we had picked up that day. It was great!

  5. I would pick Yuengling for the rest of my life – hands down!! 🙂

  6. Beer all the way! I can take or leave wine, I will drink it if it’s available, but if I could only have one, it would be beer forever!

  7. I’ve had seaweed salad once and loved it! That makes me want to go back and order it again.

    Glad NYC was fun!

    I would definitely choose beer – you can drink so many different flavors that I’d have variety for the rest of my life!

  8. Wine for sure! Love reading about your NYC adventures. I lived in Brooklyn for 8 years! Love it!

  9. This is probably going to sound terrible, but I think I would pick liquor. I love me some vodka! Although I don’t drink much at all anymore, sometimes a dirty martini is awesome.

    Are you still coming to CO this month by the way?

    • Dirty vodka martinis (with olives) and vodka sodas are my two go-to drinks at bars, but i LOVE wine with food so I couldn’t give it up!

      Unfortunately I can’t come this weekend anymore… Harper’s Baptism is on Sunday and I can’t miss it!

  10. there are no BYOBS in the midwest. it’s my one major gripe 🙂

  11. What an awesome trip! I’ve heard of BYOB’s but I’ve never been to one. We have a BYOB movie theater in Texas 🙂

  12. I imagine my reaction to picking one type of alcohol is similar to what a mother would have picking her favorite child–impossible!

    But…if I really had to…I think I would go wine for life.

  13. I would not want to live in a world without wine!!!

  14. I’ve never been to a BYO. I don’t think they have any near me. If I only could pick one I’d probably pick rum. I can’t drink beer and I don’t like serious wine, only overly sweet wines. lol

  15. I have been enjoying your blog for awhile now so I thought I’d say howdy. I lost weight on Weight Watchers and am also in the “maintenance” mode. I love the program!

    To answer your question, I would also choose wine It’s so nice to fit it in my eating plan and not feel guilty.

  16. The answer to the question – Wine. Most definitely.

    The food looks delicious!

    Also, there are BYOB places all over Chicago. We pass by them all of the time when we’re there but we’ve never gone to one. I’m thinking we’re going to have to now when we’re up there in August. 🙂

    Great post!

  17. Love BYOB places!! For me, I would have wine for the rest of my life 🙂

  18. Hi. I just found your blog today. I’m in Oregon, and haven’t experienced a BYOB, or heard of a place that does it, but I’m sure there must be. Good job on your blog and your weight loss journey!

  19. We have lots of byob places in Austin. Most of them are bbq joints, but some serve other food. My sister-in-law just moved to NY and were planning on going to visit. I’m going to have to check out Petite Crevite. It looks great.
    Oh, and I couldn’t live with out liquor. I actually don’t drink much, but when I do I like mixed drinks (right now it’s Mojitos).

  20. […] out tomorrow to top it all off. AND, one of my other best friends from college, Leah (who I visited in NYC a few weeks ago) is coming down, so I am so […]

Leave a Reply

