• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Reunited

I cannot tell you how much I was looking forward to heading to Whole Foods after work yesterday! It was almost sad, but I hadn’t been there since MARCH (thank you blog) so it was definitely time to reunite. I checked out the weekly specials on the Whole Foods site, printed out some coupons, and drove to the store immediately after work. (Side note: if you are looking for tips on saving money at Whole Foods, check out Bargain Shopping at Whole Foods: It Can Be Done!)

After being away for the weekend, a bare fridge makes me cringe, but I literally had NO time to go on Sunday, so last night it was. I ended up spending just under $52, so managed to stay under budget, and here’s what I came home with:

Produce

  • Baby Arugula
  • Organic Kale
  • Organic Bananas
  • Organic Lemon
  • Yellow Mango x2
  • Organic Seedless Red Grapes

Everything Else

  • Whole Wheat English Muffins
  • Corn Tortillas (79 cents!)
  • Siggi’s Drinkable Yogurt
  • Cookies and Cream Organic Fro Yo
  • Nonfat Oikos Plain Yogurt
  • Low-fat Organic Cottage Cheese
  • Extra Firm Tofu
  • Organic Pizza Dough (1.5 lbs = $2.99)
  • Organic Shredded part-skim Mozzarella
  • Peppered Tofurky
  • 2 6oz portions of Wild Salmon (on sale for $5.99 each)

Some of the new-to-me items from this trip:

Stonyfield Cookies ‘n Cream Organic Fro Yo – 4 pts+ per serving, and I got it for $2.50. Full price was $3.99, plus $1 off from the Whole Foods store coupon, and 50 cents off manufacturer’s coupon.

Siggi’s probiotic drinkable non-fat yogurt. These were on sale for $3.50, plus the $1 off Whole Foods Coupon = $2.50 for the pack of four. The bottles are small, but only 1 pt+ each.

I’ll let you know how both of those are!

After coming home and sorting through my purchases, here’s what I came up with for a meal plan this week:

 

Breakfast Lunch Snack Dinner
Monday 2 Whole Grain Waffles w/PB + banana Subway veggie delite Veggie Orzo Soup Dijon Crusted Salmon
Tuesday English muffin w/pb + banana Other half of veggie delite, popchips Grapes + Siggi Yogurt Eggs w/cheese + veggies, toast
Wednesday Greek Yogurt w/frozen fruit + cereal Dijon Crusted Salmon over arugula Grapes, cottage cheese Individual Grilled Pizzas w/salad
Thursday English muffin w/pb+banana Leftover pizza w/salad Siggi Drinkable Yogurt + Grapes Kale Mozzarella Quesadillas
Friday Greek yogurt parfait w/fruit + granola Tofurky Sandwich w/grapes + massaged kale salad Cottage cheese w/banana Tofu + Soba Noodles w/peanut sauce + veggies

Since I didn’t get to go grocery shopping on Sunday, I went out and bought lunch yesterday and ended up getting a $5 Footlong (does that song come in your head too!?) Veggie Delite. I had half yesterday for lunch with chips, and will have the other half today with some Popchips from home.

This is another super busy week for me because I’m working Weight Watchers meetings tonight AND Thursday night since I’m switching to Thursdays permanently starting next week! If anyone is in the DC area and wants to come to the WW meeting at K street on Thursday nights, you should!!! =)

I’m also going away yet again this coming weekend, but this time it’s a birthday weekend away with Wil and should be VERY relaxing! My bday is one week from tomorrow (!), so we decided to make the most of the three day weekend and rent a cabin down in the Shenandoah Valley – can’t wait!!

What’s your go-to place for lunch out?

I usually go for Subway if we’re talking chains because I love that I can pile on as many and whatever veggies I want to a sandwich and it doesn’t cost extra! For a local place, I love The Juice Joint – their sandwiches are soooooooooo good.

20 Responses

  1. Lately I’ve been loving tokyo joe’s and jason’s deli. Not totally sure if those are national chains though

  2. My go to places for lunches are Panera (for the soups!), Subway, or Jimmy John’s (no mayo on the sandwhich!). Actually, now I’m craving a Jimmy John’s sub. Mmmmm.

  3. I usually do Subway, too if I eat out for lunch. I pack my lunch every day.. but sometimes forget it in the fridge (blonde moments?) … so then I will run to Subway.

    That stoneyfield Frozen yogurt looks amazing. I love cookies and cream! I may have to print that coupon and head to Whole Foods!!!

  4. Ah Whole Foods… I find it dangerous I live 3 blocks away from one. Pretty sure I’ll be hitting up that food bar more often than I used to…

  5. Your meal organization is always so impressive! We don’t have a Whole Foods where I live…but I wish we did, even though I have often heard it referred to as Whole Paycheck…

  6. I’m going to have to track down that fro-yo! Is it any good?

    I love subway for lunch too. So easy, cheap, and healthy.

  7. Woohoo! Must have felt good to be back shopping there. 🙂 Unfortunately I can only afford to walk through the aisles and gawk at everything they offer! haha

  8. I don’t go out to lunch much because there aren’t many quick gluten free options around me. I usually end up with a bunless chargrilled chicken from Chick-fil-a.

    Your b-day weekend sounds fun and relaxing! Cabins in that area are so peaceful! Enjoy it! 🙂

  9. I go in spurts with Whole Foods. Several weeks on and several weeks off. Its always nice to go back!

    Enjoy the birthday trip! Sounds wonderful!

  10. How is the tofurkey? I’ve been wanting to try something like that.
    I love Chipotle. I can get one soft taco with chicken and beans and veggies and be totally full.

  11. Plan my meals, too???

  12. Some of my favorite places for an easy, healthy lunch out are Whole Foods and Chick-fil-a. Yum!

  13. with corn tortillas at that price, i’d be tempted to get 2! what a steal! Totally wanna have one mixed up with some tofurky, mozza, sauteed kale, and lemon juice ❤

  14. @ Jamie: Jason’s Deli is a national chain. And there are a couple in the Washington DC area (including one near the Whole Foods on 7 in Falls Church). It’s one of my favorites too.

    I also love Panera especially the black bean soup and hummus veggie sandwich on tomato bread.

    As always Beth your meal planning skills amaze me!

  15. My favorite is called Tico’s Tacos. It’s not a chain but I can’t remember the last time I ate at a “fast food” chain, except for coffee. Hey, I was wondering: did you ever try the Gardein you bought? If so, what did you think?

  16. I tend to get a corn dog from sonic or a taco because I have the calorie count memorized and know they will be in the calorie range I need to be safe for weight loss.

  17. Nice! I actually just went to Whole Foods yesterday after some time away. I love getting to shop there. 🙂

    My favorite places for lunch: Lenny’s (like Subway but seems to be a Southern place), Chick-Fil-A, or Whole Foods.

  18. I am waay behind on this post, but I love the Juice Joint!

Leave a Reply

