• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Lifetime: Now What?

Since hitting Lifetime, I’ve gotten several questions from readers about what my plans are in terms of healthy living and involvement with Weight Watchers, and thought it’d be good to address them all in one post in case others are wondering the same thing.

Bottom line is, not too much will change from what I’ve been doing, and I will continue to blog, which has been another concern expressed. The whole idea of “Beth’s Journey” is that the journey is never over, so I plan to continue to blog through thick and thin and consider maintenance just another step on this journey to a healthier me.

Here’s a breakdown of each area and my plans:

Eating

Eating will stay pretty much the same for me, as I continue to try to eat a mostly whole foods pescatarian diet. I feel like I’ve found a good balance of eating healthy and splurging, though lately will all the travel on the weekends its been leaning towards “splurging” a little more than it should be. I know it’ll balance out a bit once things calm down, but not much will change in this department. I plan to try to keep posting a new recipe each Thursday because I’ve been really enjoying experimenting in the kitchen!

Zucchini Burgers

Exercising

To be honest, I’ve been majorly slacking with exercise over the last few weeks. I got kind of sick last week and had to go to the doctor, but I’ve used that as an excuse NOT to work out at all. Now that Marathon Training has (supposedly) begun, I’m going to try to exercise 4-6 times a week to get myself ready for the big day in October. A few notes about this program – I did try to put in MORE than I plan on doing so that there’s some flexibility if I want to miss a workout. At the minimum, I will run 3x a week – one short, one speed work, and one long run on the weekends. Training for races is always the best way for me to stay on track with exercising – especially big ones like this because the training lasts for several months.

Tracking

I used to absolutely DREAD tracking when I first started WW, but I know that it works. I now somewhat enjoy the comfort that it brings and don’t dread it nearly as much. In a weird way, tracking makes me feel safe. I will continue to track during the week, and occasionally on the weekends, but not religiously. If I have an overly indulgent weekend, I’ll probably go back to the 29 pts+/day for the following week, but I’m trying to NOT track when I’m away for the weekends and just mindfully enjoy myself. I feel like I did a really good job of that this past weekend, despite it being so crazy. As a WW employee, I get free E-Tools, so I really enjoy having the tracker open and just plugging my food into there as the day goes by. It seems silly NOT to track, when I have the tools for free and I know what happens when I completely stop.

Weigh-Ins

I confess… I am an almost-daily weigher. I know some people cannot weigh themselves every day because it makes them crazy, but I’m crazy anyways and like to know where I stand. I try to not be so hard on myself even if the scale shows I’m up a little bit. I try to use some of the same techniques for myself that I use for WW members when I’m working, and think about WHY the scale might be showing a higher number. I will continue to weigh myself almost-daily at home, and stick with the once a month weigh ins required to keep Lifetime status current, as well as required by working for WW.

As a side note, I received the EatSmart Precious Plus Scale for free at FitBloggin’ and I LOVE it.

It’s got step-on technology, which means you step right on it when the screen is off and it gives you your weight, rather than having it tap it and wait for it to balance at 0. Even though it’s only a few seconds – time is precious!

Meetings

I work one or two WW meetings each week as a receptionist, and I just don’t have more time than that to give to WW meetings. I try to listen in on the meetings to see if I can get any new ideas, but I’m not going to be attending meetings outside of the ones I work, at least for now. When I first started WW back in March 2009, I attended the weekly meetings religiously. But since I rejoined in December 2010, I’ve been more or less hoping around from meeting to meeting and haven’t really found the perfect meeting for me, so I don’t feel tied to one meeting. Who knows though, that may change!

Are you a daily, weekly, or non-weigher?

28 Responses

  1. Beth, congrats again on hitting lifetime! What an amazing accomplishment.

    I liked this post, but I guess I was hoping that maintenance/ being lifetime would be different from being in “diet mode.” Have you found that you can eat more? Is it weird not working towards a specific weight goal? Is it anything like Andie’s experience in Can You Stay for Dinner?

    • I definitely eat a little bit more than I did while I was losing weight, since I’m eating around 35 pts+/day instead of the 29 most days, but other than that the process is pretty much the same. I think one of the biggest mistakes “dieters” make is that they go back to their old behaviors after they lose the weight and then gain it all back – I know that from experience after I lost a lot of weight on Atkins, then started eating like I did before the diet and needless to say, it all came back.

      I think Andie might be further along in her journey than I am because I still feel very cautious about the way I approach food. She seems more confident in her ability to have just “one piece of pizza” and I’m just not there yet, and not sure if I ever will be.

  2. I’m also more or less a daily weigher. I DON’T think it’s necessarily bad and gives you a better picture of your weight trends than a weekly weigh in, where factors like water retention can skew the results. If you have a weekly rolling average in your head, it’s easier to see if your weight is creeping up and harder to make excuses. If it helps you and doesn’t make you crazy, DO IT.

  3. Congrats on making lifetime!! I’m also a lifetime member and am a daily weigher. I write down my weight everyday that way I can see the trends from day to day and week to week. I also keep track of my workouts on the same calendar. I still go once a month to WW so I can weigh (this keeps me accountable). I don’t stay for the meetings because I fell like after 7 years of weight watcher I pretty much have heard everything. I don’t track anymore (except in my head) but am always looking at foods as “how many points”. I feel like this works for me since I have been able to maintain my weight for over 6 years of lifetime with WW.

  4. I weigh myself weekly .. or less. I can get caught up on numbers sometimes .. so I try not to spend too much time on it.

    I think it is awesome tha you are so oragnized with what you are going to do now that you are LIFETIME. I love that yo uare going to continue with what has been working! If it ain’t broke.. don’t fix it 🙂

  5. Congratulations again! I am inching so close to my goal. (Less than 5 pounds now!) So it’s nice to hear what exactly comes with being Lifetime. I agree with you that Tracking makes me feel safe, too. I tracked religiously my first year and then slacked off a lot until the past month or so and I have really seen the weight start coming off again now that I am tracking again.

  6. I weigh myself almost every day. I haven’t figured out if that is a good thing or a bad thing. I’d like to be a weekly weigher, but I’m always tempted by that scale in my bathroom. Maybe I should just throw it out 😉

  7. “But I’m crazy anyways”

    I love that. 🙂 (Me too!)

    I weigh myself once a week or every other week. Whatever. Just as long as I hop on every once in a while to make sure I’m staying within my normal range. Because I’m like the peeps you mentioned- daily weigh-ins make me obsessive… silly trait of mine.

  8. I’ve recently finally stopped daily weighing. I understand the benefits of daily weighing through maintenance, but I’ve found in the last few weeks that my mood is much better without it. I didn’t think it was negatively effecting me, but after a few weeks off I can see it was. Now I’m doing once a week weigh-ins.

  9. Congratulations on reaching LIfetime! Such a great accomplishment!
    I’m a daily weigher & have been since 2009. This has helped me stay on track with my weight loss goals (30 lbs in roughly a year) and has helped me get through a plateau without letting it turn into a “gain”. (I’ve been basically flat since October 2010). I still have 30+ lbs to lose until I reach my goal, and while I know it’s going to be a long process like the first 30, the scale is definitely one tool I’ll continue to use during my journey.
    The trick for me was recognizing that my weight fluctuates daily & that I’ll have “heavier” weeks each month. I can see how easy it could be to get caught up in the numbers game – but I’ve learned not to let the scale affect my mood or self-esteem. As long as I’m “trending” in the direction I want to go…or at least not trending “up”…I know that the scale is working ofr me!

  10. I am a non weigher. Even when I was losing weight, I didn’t weigh myself. I’ve found that for me it’s just not good to know the number, so I just don’t worry about it. I know how I look and how my clothes fit and that’s what I go by.

  11. That is awesome you are running the marine corp marathon as I am too and it will be my first.

  12. I weigh in daily! Especially with this whole belly/possible gluten issue, I just need to know what is going on. I got on yesterday morning, had a horrible belly attack and jumped on again last night to see that the scale was up exactly 4 pounds from what it was in the morning….how is this possible? Even days when I splurge a bit, it will go up about 3 pounds for a few days…does anyone elses’ weight jump so drastically like that? It makes the splurges almost turn to binges because I feel so horrible to begin with…it is all a process. Now if only I could be losing weight instead of staying the same and having the bloating!! Hoping the gluten free will be helping and will start making a difference soon…then I can make my way to goal and feel the achievement of going for lifetime!!!

    • My weight fluctuates A LOT too. I’ve seen as much as an 8 pound gain on the scale from a day or two. I think people who are very salty sweaters (like myself) tend to fluctuate more than others because of water weight, because its really not possible to gain that much in such a short amount of time!

  13. I am an almost-daily weigher. It helps to keep me in line and to get immediate feedback for the mistakes (or good things) I made with my body yesterday.

    My weight does fluctuate a lot though, up to 3 or 4 lbs day to day

  14. I’m a daily weigher. It helps keep me focused for the week and motivated to work out more.

  15. I used to dread my weekly weigh-in’s and could not even fathom weighing everyday, but the last two weeks I have weighed everyday and I totally think it is helping me stay focused. If I see the number up one day I think back about the reasons and move on to the next day without letting the number weigh me down. I had stalled in my weight loss but since weighing everyday I am down another 4 pounds! And congrats on making lifetime you are such a wonderful, motivating person-I adore you!

  16. I am actually doing a “scaleless summer” http://coffeecakeandcardio.com/2011/06/21/a-scaleless-summer/

    I think we become too fixated on our scales and there’s a lot we can learn from listening to our body’s and focusing on our physical changes… not just the number on the scale.

  17. I’m a daily weigher. Lately it is driving me nuts because it is going up/down up/down and I don’t like that. I know it will change from day to day but I’m struggling with getting past 165 so its irritating me.

  18. Currently scale free but for a long time I was a monthly weigher. it worked really well for me and I’ll be resuming that soon.

  19. I used to be a weekly weighin, then daily, and now I’m avoiding the scale because I know I’m going to be horrified by the number I see. I know once I started weighing myself daily I would become obsessive that I couldn’t weigh more than Xlbs which was ridiculous because at the time I needed to gain weight (which I wasn’t doing). Can I ask which WW location you work at? Because I think I need to start going back to get back on track.

    • You should come to the meetings!! I start tomorrow at K street. The meeting starts at 5:30 and weigh in starts at 5:00. It’s a new meeting for me so I don’t know the leader well, but feel free to come check it out!!

  20. I’m a weekly weigher. I can flucuate and i don’t want to get stressed over a few pounds that would otherwise not show.

  21. I weigh weekly, with random “sneak peeks” during the week. I only “count” the weekly weight though, but I feel the random peeks help me think a bit more about what I’m eating and how I’m exercising. I don’t get emotional about it, I see it as helpful info/feedback.

  22. Hey Beth!
    I started WW 4 weeks ago and live in Arlington, VA (I had emailed you once before too) and wondered where you go to meetings or even which location you work? I have not found one I really like and can relate to ! In terms of times and nights, the one out in the Falls Church area seems to be good but not feeling the meetings. Just wondering!

  23. Love your plans! They sound very healthy and realistic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

