• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Foolproof Dijon Crusted Wild Salmon

When I saw that wild salmon was on sale for $5.99 per 6 oz portion (from 8.99 each) at Whole Foods this week, I knew I had to have it. I wanted to come up with a super simple foolproof way to cook the salmon, and this hit the nail right on the head. Wild salmon is very flavorful on its own and doesn’t need much added to it, but the mixture spread over the salmon added a wonderful flavor, and the crunch of the corn flakes on top added a perfect texture against the smooth salmon.

Dijon Crusted Wild Salmon

Entire recipe yields two servings, 7 pts+ each.

This recipe is so simple, it’s hard to even call it a recipe, but here is what you need:

  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Plain nonfat yogurt (greek or regular)
  • dijon mustard
  • crust of choice – I used corn flakes but you could do panko crumbs, saltine crackers, or anything else that’s a little crunchy
  • Plus of course, the salmon

To start, preheat your oven to 400 degrees, and then season the salmon with salt and pepper to taste.

Next, mix together equal parts dijon mustard and plain yogurt – I used 1 tbsp of each.

It turns into a thick, completely delicious sauce that you can use on LOTS of things.

But for now, spread it over the seasoned salmon evenly in a thin layer.

Next, top the salmon with your crust of choice – I used 2/3 cup crushed corn flakes. The topping will stick because of the yogurt/mustard mixture, so all you really have to do is sprinkle it on.

Transfer the prepared salmon to a greased baking sheet.

And cook for 10 minutes. It won’t look too different when it’s done.

Serve as desired, with veggies and/or a grain, or as I did over arugula with more of the mustard/yogurt mix for a dressing.

This salmon was incredible, albeit simple! It holds up very well as leftovers, too – I made it Monday night and then had the same salad for lunch on Wednesday and it was completely delicious. I love how salmon is also very healthy, and when its on sale, I have a hard time resisting!

Do you cook fish at home often, tend to order it only in restaurants, or stay away from it all together?

When Wil and I eat together at home, we almost always make fish because it’s something we can both agree on. I do tend to order it at restaurants often, and only cook it at home 1-2 times a week max.

22 Responses

  1. Thanks fo sharing this recipe.. I love Dijon anything.. and Salmon is one of my favorite fish! I’ve done something almost exactly the same as this.. except using chicken. Never thought use salmon!

    I actually prefer to cook it at home. Fish can get SUPER pricey in restaurants!

  2. Salmon, greek yogurt, and dijon are seriously like three of my favorite foods. Nice recipe. If Whole Foods puts their salmon burgers on sale, you need to get them. And eat them with dijon (which I do).

    I almost never eat at restaurants, so it’s homecooked fish for me!

  3. This looks delicious. I’m going to buy salmon soon!

  4. I only order fish out or get it precooked somewhere- it scares me.

    I know, I need to get over it.

    Like how you sort of diluted the dijon with the yogurt. I like dijon- but only in small amounts because it’s so strong!

  5. Awesome recipe!!

    I love cooking salmon at home (terriaki or with citrus).

  6. I love fish. I am trying to become more and more adventrous with fish in the kitchen at home. I find that I have been cooking it more and more. However, it is so expensive, so I often order it out at a resturant thinking it is a special treat.

    This salmon looks great. I will have to try it sometime.

  7. Wondering if my local Whole Foods in southern California had the salmon sale and I missed it. Sure looks delicious!

  8. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I have some salmon I need to cook but I’ve been avoiding it because I didn’t know what to do. I don’t like it plain but had no good recipe. I’ll try this!

  9. that looks delicious!
    I like fish but never buy it. I’ll order it in a restaurant but am not quite comfortable cooking it myself. Need to work on that.

  10. Love this! I TRY to stay away from restaurants, I think it’s a waste of money to order food and not REALLY know how it is prepared and the points. MUAH!

  11. looks great! i’m always on the hunt for new salmon recipes. we eat it all the time.

  12. I eat fish a lot. Probably a few times a week! Salmon is my fave!

  13. Sounds like a delicious recipe. I make fish occasionally at home but I have tuna (packed in water) almost every week. It gets tricky because I eat lunch and dinner @ work so I don’t like taking super smelly things (ie fish) to work. Though all my coworkers make fun of my love for tofu…lol.

  14. that looks amazing and super simple!!!

  15. I haven’t had salmon in SO long and this post is making me crave it! Thanks for sharing, Beth! I’m going to make this as soon as I get my hands on some salmon. 🙂

  16. That looks delicious! I tend to just order it in restaurants because I’m not good at cooking it, but I’m going to try this recipe!

  17. 1. I’m sure I could find a way to mess this up. I am a fool in the kitchen.
    2. I only cook myself shellfish; cooking flaky fish scares me for some reason.

  18. Great price on the salmon! I have done something similar with the crusting on another fish but I ground up the cornflakes. It was almost like dust. I like the idea of keeping it a bit crunchier for even more texture.

  19. Mmmm…that looks delish. I may just have to make this soon.

    I order salmon out sometimes cause it’s just so darn good! The only fish I ever make at home is tilapia filets – but I’m not too original with them, I just add some seasoning and bake it.

  20. This looks delicious! I am making this this weekend!!

  21. […] delicious looking salmon with dijon sauce and crunchy topping is exactly what I need in my […]

  22. I actually mix yogurt and dijon and put it on baked potatoes. It would be even better with salmon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

