• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Already July!?

It’s that time again… goal check in! It’s hard to believe it’s already July… I actually love July, which has nothing everything to do with the fact that it’s my birthday month. I’ll be turning 27 on Wednesday, and this weekend Wil and I are going away to stay in a cabin in the Shenandoah Valley to celebrate. We leave tomorrow morning and I’m so excited!!

I also love July because the humidity usually stays mildly in check in DC, and I can’t say the same for August so I have to enjoy it while it lasts.

Here’s what I set out to do in June:

June Goals

1.) Become Lifetime on Weight Watchers!! Check! You can read all about becoming Lifetime here, but I’ll just say it was a pretty monumental day for me.

2.) Continue to workout 3-4 times a week despite traveling a lot during the month. I started out really strong in this department, hitting 6x a week for TWO weeks. But then last week I got sick and lost my voice, and only ran once and walked once. I’m considering this a semi-success. Workout spreadsheet here.

3.) Start running 2-3 times a week (I’ve only been doing 1-2x a week) to get ready for marathon training. I ran three times a week for two weeks, and FIVE times on week, but then only once a week for the last week since getting sick. Another semi-success.

4.) Do another giveaway on the blog! Fail. I have a few lined up, but didn’t execute this one well. A giveaway for my birthday coming up next week. 🙂

5.) Arrange some guest posts to help keep up the blog despite the busy month. I only ended up using one guest post – Katie’s post on the Top Ten Ways to Get Your Groove Back. Even though I only used one, it did help me a lot that day!

6.) Try to embrace my down time. Check on this one. Despite having the craziest month ever with travel every weekend, I still got a lot of sleep and really enjoyed myself. I also am almost done reading a book – Julie and Julia – which I’d seen the movie before but hadn’t yet read the book. The book is AWESOME. Quick read, hard to put down, love.

All in all, I think I did pretty well considering how busy June was for me. I traveled or had visitors every.single.weekend, so keeping up with healthy eating and exercising was hard but doable! Maintaining my weight throughout the month was a big accomplishment, and I’m proud of what I did.

July Goals

July is a big month for me because it’s my first solid month of marathon training! I need to be really diligent about it so that I build up a good base for the longer runs to come in August and September. Throughout the month of July, I should be building my long run from 6 to 9 miles, which I’ll be proud of myself for doing considering the farthest I’ve gone since my half marathon in March is less than 5 miles!

1.) Stick with my training plan for my marathon, especially focusing on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday runs – easy, speed, and long. I’m OK with skipping the 30 minute recovery run on Sundays but I’d like to try to stick to plan as much as possible.

2.) Get to free outdoor yoga AT LEAST one Monday morning this month! There is free yoga OUTSIDE from 7a-8a every Monday morning right outside my apartment building, and even though it started in May I haven’t made it there once! This has to change.

3.) Really do a giveaway on the blog this month.

4.) Maintain my weight throughout the month. Losing a little would be fine, too. 🙂

5.) Read at least one book. Any good suggestions??

What was your FAVORITE part of June??

41 Responses

  1. What an awesome month you had with becomin lifetime.

    I also think being sick and having no voice is an a-okay reason to miss a workout or 2!!!

    In June – I love the fact that I finished my first year of teaching and am no longer a “rookie” and that I went to San Francisco – without freaking out about being out of my routine!

  2. Good luck with your goals, Beth! I have yoga and 3x-a-week running on my list as well to prepare for my half marathon at the end of the summer. Maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to do a full one.

    For book recs, I would suggest World War Z and The Help. These 2 stand out among books I’ve read this year. If you ever want recommendations, I post short book reviews on my blog fairly regularly.

    • Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve already read The Help but I’ll check out World War Z and look at your reviews!

  3. You did great in June and how exciting to start your marathon training!!!

    You have the same birthday as my youngest sister — she turns 21 on Wed!

  4. Happy (early) Birthday!! I’m a July birthday, also, so I love it too. Mine is the 23rd, but I’m a bit older than you 🙂

    June was awesome for me because I took a trip with 3 girlfriends to St Maarten and it was fan.tastic!!

    Good luck on your July goals & Happy 4th to you!!

    • Happy early birthday to you as well! St. Maarten is my FAVORITE island. My parents own a timeshare there so I used to go for two weeks every year when I was growing up! That must have been amazing to go with your girlfriends!

  5. My favorite part of June was my best friend’s wedding. The rest of it was a blur- I swear that month flew by!

  6. I loved my vacation that I had in early June. I can’t believe the month is already over! Where is the time going? I think I’m going to actually think out and write down some July goals. I feel like time keeps slipping away and I’m not making good enough use of it!

  7. that’s how i feel too – it’s july ALREADY!? congrats on a great month, and happy early birthday!!

  8. Another July Birthday here (the 24th). Happy Early Birthday to you!

    As for a book suggestion, the best one I’ve read lately is The Help.

    Good Luck on your July goals!

  9. I had an awesome June – finished graduate school, ran (and rocked!) my first 10k, upped my running — and yesterday I hit goal! Yay!! (I’m -re-reading your advice on what next – who knew it’d be so hard/scary to eat more points!).

    Happy Wednesday Birthday, Beth!!

    • Wow Leah!! Sounds like June was amazing for you! Congrats on hitting goal!!! Make sure you do something nice for yourself. 🙂

      • Thanks, Beth! I’m counting the clothes I’m getting for my upcoming trip to Italy (!!!) as the best reward ever!

  10. COngrats on your goals! Have you read The Help? It’s a great book!

  11. I just love your blog Beth!! Congrats on your amazing accomplishments! Your such an inspiration.

    I’m read Red Riding Hood…. not the fairy tale version… and its amazing! I can’t put it down!

  12. Congrats on meeting so many of your goals. If you need a guest post on lunchboxes, do let me know 🙂

  13. Have a wonderful birthday weekend. Sounds fun! I’m going to one of your favorite places – San Diego – for the weekend. June for me was a month of sitting back and thinking about what I want for the future . . . deep stuff. Feels good though.

  14. I like Emily Giffin’s books. Light and cheeky reads – great for summer! 🙂

  15. I love the Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo, it’s one of the best books I’ve read…super fast read too! Have a great time this weekend! I’m staying put in San Diego! Muah!

  16. Your June was pretty awesome!

    My June was pretty great too. Celebrated my 3 year anniversary with the bf, had lots of fun events. It was good!

  17. Hey girl the yoga is free to everyone, not just your building/buildings in that area, right?

    i’ve been thinking about making it to it for about 2 years now!

  18. LOVE love love love Julie and Julia! I read the book first, then saw the movie. I like the movie but get irritated by Amy Adams so I guess I only liked half of the movie. My husband got me a book of Julia’s letters between her and and Avis Devoto who became her editor called “As always, Julia”. I just started it yesterday but it is already wonderful. She is such an inspiration in so many ways and reading her actual words are so interesting.
    I second (or third, I did not read all the comments) the recommendation of “The Help” – it was really great. I am a little excited about the movie, but so often feel let down by movies made from books that I love. I just finished “At Home” by Bill Bryson. It’s non-fiction and terribly interesting, but you need to be ready to read something that goes all over the place. If you favorite collage professors were the ones who would end up talking about omelets in a class on international relations, you will love this book. It is basically about how the modern home came into being and all the ways in which our lives have been changed because of things like linen and stairs.

    Happy birthday early – have fun in the cabin!

    • Wow I hadn’t heard of As always, Julia – I’ll have to check it out! You know it’s funny I’m always let down by movies too after I read the book because I have such high expectations – so lately I’ve been doing it in reverse and seeing the movie first and then reading the book like I did with julie & julia, and plan to do with water for elephants. It works much better that way!

  19. Just read the comments – guess I was late on “The Help”!

  20. Great goals Beth!

    Looking forward to see you accomplish them!

  21. where in the Valley are you going??

  22. I recomend the hunger games trilogy. The movie is in the making now!!

  23. Good luck on your goals!

  24. “Friendship Bread” is a fun read! Love your blog and Happy Birthday!

  25. Yeah…becoming lifetime member is HUGE….way to go! My favourite part of June was finishing school for the summer as a teacher for the first time and having a whole two months off to look forward to!

  26. […] saw on Beth’s Journey this week that Beth uses a Google spreadsheet to track her workouts and miles each week (by the way – congrats on becoming a lifetime WW member, Beth! ). I […]

  27. Good luck with your July goals!!! And enjoy all the birthday celebrations that will be happening this week. Happy 4th!!

Leave a Reply

