• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Berry Almond Semifreddo

Thank you so much for all the birthday wishes from yesterday!! It was a fun one, but not sure how today will be… 😉

I’m not normally one to make dessert from scratch, or really to make dessert at all. I love dessert, but almost always I have an italian ice, ice cream, chocolate/peanut butter/banana combo, or something that involves little more than pulling something out of the freezer or pantry. But on the drive back from the Shenandoah Valley, I was flipping through the most recent issue of Clean Eating Magazine, and I was struck by the last recipe.

The recipe was for a semifreddo, which means almost-frozen in italian. The ingredient list was so short, and it seemed easy enough, so almost immediately when I got home, I made my own version.

Berry Almond Semifreddo

Entire recipe yields 15 pts+. If divided into 5 thick slices, 3 pts+ each. Printable version here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (or 3 additional egg whites)
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 cup each blueberries and raspberries
  • 2 tbsp sliced almonds

First, use a large bowl and combine 1 cup greek yogurt, the egg yolk, the agave syrup, and the almond extract.

Mix together until well combined, and it basically turns to the consistency of regular (non-Greek) yogurt.

In a separate bowl, place the 4 egg whites (or 1 egg white + 1/2 cup liquid egg whites).

Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites until they form stiff peaks.

(My electric mixer was $6.99 at Target if you don’t have one!) It ended up taking about 4 minutes to get the egg whites looking like this:

Now, you want to combine the two mixtures. Add about 1/3 of the egg whites to the yogurt and egg mixture.

Gently fold in, and then continue combining in about three rounds until fully combined. You don’t want to overstir so that you lose the fluffiness of the egg whites, but make sure its well mixed.

Now, add in your mix-ins.

Since I made this for the Fourth of July, I used blueberries, raspberries, and almonds, but you could do peaches and almonds like Clean Eating suggests, or any other fruit, nut, chocolate (!), or anything you can think of really.

Stir gently until combined.

Now, take a regular sized loaf pan, and line it fully with plastic wrap.

Pour in the mixture, and use a spatula to flatten the top if necessary.

Now here’s where the hard part comes in. Place it in your freezer, and wait THREE hours, until just frozen. You’ll know its done when both the top and bottom are frozen to the touch.

It’ll slide right out because of the plastic wrap.

So you can touch the bottom to make sure it’s finished. Once it’s done – slice it up and eat! Run your knife under warm water if you’re having trouble slicing it.

That size slice (1/8 of loaf pan) is only 2 pts, but it was seriously so good, we ate the ENTIRE thing between the two of us!

007

It was only 7 pts+ each, so it wasn’t the end of the world, but it was sooooooooooo good. I was really impressed with myself because it was the first time I’ve ever tried making something like this and it turned out great! I will definitely be making this again.

Now, I don’t know how good it would be if you froze it completely and then let it defrost a bit, so if you try that, let me know. I will probably make this again and half it if there’s just two of us, or make it for a larger crowd to eat in one go. I can’t wait to experiment with different mix ins – – just looking at this makes me want it again NOW!

Do you eat desserts a lot or just occasionally? What is your go-to?

12 Responses

  1. 1. This looks delicious.
    2. I think it would be acceptable breakfast food, since every component belongs in a healthy breakfast: egg whites, yogurt, fruit, almonds.
    3. I don’t eat “desserts” often, I usually just nibble on dark chocolate. Which is good for exercise recovery according to many recent studies. Or, if not that, I mix together greek yogurt and peanut flour, which is just about the best thing ever.

  2. That is a very interesting dessert!

    I have a dessert now and then — and I’m talking a REAL dessert, not a cookie — I have those more often than “now and then”. 🙂

  3. Looks great–I’m seriously going to try making that!

  4. I eat dessert every day. If I couldn’t have regular little treats, I wouldn’t stay on my healthy eating path. Yesterday I had a craving for carrot cake so I made my light version, ate a small piece, and I was satisfied. That’s how it works for me!

  5. That looks so good and easy to make! Do you have to worry about the eggs not being cooked?

  6. I could eat dessert every day but I am beginning to learn that I should stick with having it on special occasions. I have bake things recently to be the only one that ate it and ate it in a matter of a couple days. I just have a lot of difficulty with portion control when it comes to dessert.

  7. Desserts are my weakness! My go to is either freshly baked, homemade cookies or frozen yogurt!

  8. what a fun treat!!! i’ve never even heard of semifreddo until lately. looks delicious

  9. I’m only catching up now, so I’ll say happy belated birthday!

  10. That looks amazing! I will have to try this!!! Anything with greek yogurt is a winner in my book.

    I am sugar fan. I don’t ALWAYS eat it, but when I do I go big.

    I love frozen yogurt…but you already knew that 😉

  11. Mmm, that looks really good!

    I’m definitely a must-have-dessert-every-single-day kind of girl. It can be something as simple as a handful of chocolate chips or something really decadent that takes all day to make. But it almost always is a “single serve” dessert. When I make a batch of cookies or a whole cake, I eat it all 😦

  12. I LOVE semi-freddo, and yes, you can defrost it a bit and then refreeze. It’s pretty much the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

