• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Shenandoah Getaway: Part Two

So where did I leave off? We had just explored the property we stayed on and then spent a few hours exploring the gorgeous Skyline Drive and soaking in the scenery.

bethinshenandoah

That’s a legit picture even though it looks like I’m pasted in front of a scene. Wil was experimenting with the panoramic function on his camera…

Throughout our stay, the food was really nothing to write home about. It was such a strange concept for me because every trip I’ve ever taken in my life has been based around food and making sure to hit up every restaurant worth trying! It was definitely new for me to not have any restaurants or meals planned out, and to just sort of wing it. We headed out to “the place” to go – Artisans Grill. It was seriously nothing to waste space writing about, so I’m not going to, but after we wandered out of the restaurant, we saw signs for free live music so decided to check it out.

Every Friday night during the summer, Luray, VA has outdoor live music, and we happened to stumble upon open mic night. We heard some AWESOME music, and some not so awesome, but it was very cool to just stumble upon (free) live music. Terrible picture, but this was my favorite act of the night:

Wil almost got up to play some songs, but he didn’t have his guitar with him and the guy who said he’d lend him his guitar left before Wil could go, so we just watched. We ended up staying until 10pm or so, and then we were both BEAT and made the short trip home and crashed.

Sunday morning, we woke up pretty early and headed straight for tubing on the river! Unfortunately I got zero pictures because I didn’t want to risk getting my camera wet, but it was SO fun. Wil had never been tubing before, and I’d only been once, but it was so relaxing. I am actually very bad at relaxing, so it was kind of nice to be forced to do nothing but chill out on the tube for almost 4 hours while we drifted along the river! The big mistake we made was only having a snack before heading out on the river, and even though we didn’t do anything, we were STARVING by the time we got back, so quickly headed to Mexican for lunch/dinner.

Again, nothing to write home about, but the mango margarita Wil got was awesome!

Instead of tasting syrupy/overly sweet, it tasted like real mango, so I had to steal a few sips. I’m pretty sure there was mango puree in there – yum!

After getting some (mediocre) grub, we headed to an outdoor music festival.

Bluegrass! I had never really been to a bluegrass festival before, but apparently this was very tame. We heard about 1.5 hours of music, and were really close to the stage!

It was seriously a 180 from being in DC. Any time you go to any event here, you have to fight to even be able to see and people are just so pushy (myself included). In Luray, it was no problem having a front row view!

Unfortunately, it started to rain and then storm pretty badly after two acts, so they held off on the rest of the concert, and we ended up going to see Hangover 2 instead of sitting around waiting for it to come (or not come) back on. Side note: I really liked the movie and thought it was hysterical! I know a lot of people told me it wasn’t that great, but I’d recommend it..

After the movie, we headed back to the cabin, and then got back on the road first thing in the morning to miss 4th of July traffic. It was such a quick trip, but SO fun. Even though we did a lot, it was super relaxing and just what we both needed!

Are you into live music? What’s the BEST concert you’ve ever seen?

I saw Ween at DAR Constitution Hall in DC, which is an indoor venue but the acoustics were just amazing for the band. It was the best show I’ve ever seen! Runners up – The Hold Steady, Wilco, and The Pixies!

PS: I’m 27!!! And I started the day off right with a very hot and humid 4 mile run. Year 27 is going to be a good one. I can feel it!

18 Responses

  1. Happy birthday! Being in your late 20s comes with extra wisdom

  2. Happy Birthday 🙂

  3. I love live music! (not on the radio though) I’ve been to a TON of concerts but the ones who stick out for me are Tom Petty and U2…Tom Petty because he still sounds exactly the same and puts on a great show, and U2 because they play to the crowd and always have a really awesome backdrop.

    Looks like you had a great time! I love that panoramic picture, you should frame it.

    Happy Birthday fellow Cancer! (mine was Monday)

  4. Great way to start your year!! Happy 27th Beth!! 🙂

    I haven’t been to many concerts.. something I would like to do more of, for sure!

  5. Hi Beth! Looks like you guys had a great relaxing time!! Happy Birthday 🙂

    We went and saw Hangover 2 on Saturday and I thought it was funny! I think the first one was better but the second was very funny too!

    The best concert I’ve ever had seats for was The Killers my husband got me for Mother’s Day a few years ago. I kid you not, they were center stage, row 3. Freaking awesome!!

  6. I’m embarrassed to admit I’ve only been to 1 (free concert- Tom Cochrane) when I was about 12yrs old 😉

    Happy Birthday!!!

  7. Happy Birthday!!! Today is my sister Kim’s bday too!

    I haven’t been to a concert in years — My favorite concerts were Metallica (saw them twice!) and Modest Mouse.

  8. Happy Birthday Beth!

    My favorite concerts are festivals where you can see a big variety of performers. I have to say that The Roots are by far the best live band. I have seen them 3 times now, and each time I am blown away by how hard they work on stage. We went to the first Roots Picnic 2 years ago – a full day of music – QuestLove played drums for every band – probably 8 or 9 acts, in the sun, on a pier in Philly in June. Hardest working band in music!

  9. I live right up against the Shenandoah Natl Park.. it’s gorgeous!!! So happy to hear you had a chance for a nice getaway.

  10. Happy Birthday, Beth!
    My favorite concert was Taylor Swift…. Yea, I’m admitting that. 🙂

  11. Happy Birthday! I’ve never been tubing out there, but that sounds awesome.

  12. I LOVE going to live shows! I try to go to a concert once a month if there are bands coming to my area that I like.
    My favorite concert so far was the Uproar Tour which was more like a mini music festival and Avenged Sevenfold was headlining. They have some great angry music that helps me when I run, if you’re interested. 🙂
    Your trip looked beautiful and made me miss living in the Eastern part of the US!

  13. Happy birthday!!!

  14. […] Shenandoah Getaway: Part Two […]

  15. Happy birthday!! I’m 27 as well! It’s a good age I think…

  16. Happy birthday! For the best concert I’ve ever seen it’s a tie between Radiohead and Death Cab for Cutie. Both were incredibly memorable. Runner-up is Ben Folds– he is amazing on stage!

  17. […] Shenandoah Getaway: Part Two […]

  18. […] though I feel like I’ve already over celebrated my birthday with going away to Shenandoah Valley for the weekend AND a happy hour on the day of, I have more celebrating to do! One of my best […]

Leave a Reply

