• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Birthday Craziness

All over the place. That’s me, and this post. Enjoy.

Even though I feel like I’ve already over celebrated my birthday with going away to Shenandoah Valley for the weekend AND a happy hour on the day of, I have more celebrating to do! One of my best friends from college, Lianne, has a birthday three days after mine, so we are doing a joint pool party/dinner/night out tomorrow to top it all off. AND, one of my other best friends from college, Leah (who I visited in NYC a few weeks ago) is coming down, so I am so excited!

July Birthday Babies Lianne and Me from Wednesday night:

A few other photos from the night…

My good friend/coworker Emily and me (the one who brought you microwave risotto!)

Me and Matt:

Jackie, Emily and Me

And you know once I start making this face, it’s time to put the camera away and call it a night.

Also, almost every single time I go out drinking, I think ordering Domino’s pizza will be an excellent way to end the night. It always turns out that its not in fact the best idea. Without fail, I wake up the next day with the worst stomach ache – I don’t know WHAT they put in that pizza but something isn’t right. This situation occurred the night of my birthday after happy hour, and yesterday morning when I had pizza (and macaroni and cheese breadbowl – yuck) sloshing around in my stomach, I got to work and our A/C was broken and it smelled like burnt rubber. Wonderful day.

What did YOU do to celebrate your last birthday?

29 Responses

  1. haha too funny. The greasy food always leaves me with no hangover but I do tend to regret mowing down!

    My last birthday was laidback. We had a family thing we had to do so it was mostly relaxing.

  2. Greasy food is always so tempting after a fun night of drinking! I always fall into the trap and regret it later!

    Last Birthday, my fiance proposed and flew in my best friends from college. It will definitely be one for the books.

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!

  3. Looks like a fun happy hour – but maybe you could upgrade to better pizza than Domino’s. I suggest Pizzeria Paradiso. That would at least be worth feeling sick.

    My last birthday? I did a long swim workout and then shared chocolate-salted caramel cupcakes with my teammates. I’m a ball of excitement.

  4. Looks like you had a fabulous time, Beth! You look amazing in your pictures!!

    Last birthday was the quarter century mark! We combined it with our housewarming party.. had friend over to the new condo.. and then headed out in SoNo.

    The night ended poorly. (not for me). A very drunk friend thought he was in his own house and followed his regular route to the bathroom. Unfortunately.. that landed him in our living room.. peeing on a table.. and a person.

  5. My last birthday — I worked all day and then Jason took me out to dinner and to see Tangled! It was a really nice birthday.

  6. Last birthday I had a night out with friends ( and plenty of shots) a couple days before, then dinner and a movie with my boyfriend and son on the day. Ill be 29 this year, no biggie but I want to party like a rockstar for my 30th!!

  7. Beth- I have to say you look quite radiant. It must be the birthday glow. 🙂

    I’ve ordered Domino’s more than once with one girl that I occasionally hang out with. It’s awesome at the time. But I always wake up the next day going, “man, I wish I would have at least been sober enough as to remember what that half a large pizza tasted like…”

  8. I celebrated my 30th by having our second son … wished I could have gone away on a girls trip … but having him was the best present ever!

  9. OMG, I’m sorry, but I’m laughing at the whole Domino’s craziness. Glad you’re having such a fun time!

  10. My birthday I spent most of the day watching my niece and finding little ways to celebrate. I added sprinkles to my pancakes, we went to garage sales, worked on some art projects together and then my brother took me out for sushi and ice cream. A great relaxing day 🙂

  11. Atleast order good local pizza. Dominos is disgusting!

  12. Hahah oh no – that sounds like a pretty rough day! I have to admit though, sometimes I wouldn’t mind if our AC was a little broken – my office like an ICE BOX!

    To celebrate my last birthday I just hung out with family and friends. I’m not big on my birthday so I’m always happy to do something a little low key 🙂

  13. AHHH husband and I went to San Francisco,,,and had THE best time…and I had the 5 lb gain to prove it! You andyour friend look like sisters! HOTTIES!

  14. Looks like you had a great time! My last birthday I spent the day at the spa. It was lovely and everything I hoped it would be!

  15. You look fabulous!! I feel you on the late night bad choices. In college, we would always end the night at Denny’s and eat Moons Over My Hammy. Bleh. They need an app that prevents you from ordering icky food when you are tipsy. 🙂

  16. Happy Belated Birthday, Beth! Glad you had a great day! 😀

  17. Glad to you had an awesome birthday! love your face in that last photo. 🙂

  18. Love “extendo birthdays” that are celebrated more than once!! Hope the celebrations continue through the weekend.

  19. Hmm, my last birthday we did one of those boat tours on the potomac. i don’t really recommend it, so overpriced and the dinner wasn’t so good. the next night we went to rosa mexicano in the national harbor, which was fun!

    you look gorgeous in these photos! totally glowing!

  20. ohman you make me laugh.

    ♥Domi-NOS!

    You look like you were having a great time!

  21. Dinner at Zaytinya’s followed by drinks with wonderful friends 🙂

    Glad you had a happy birthday! What if you kept a frozen pizza in your fridge instead of ordering Dominos?

  22. The new dominos makes me sick! Ate it twice, sober, bc it was free at at events and both times I got super nauseous afterwards. And pizza never makes me sick.

  23. In college I was the QUEEN of the late night cheesey bread. It always seemed like such a good idea at the time…

  24. ❤ the straight hair!

Leave a Reply

