• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Slow and Steady

Happy Saturday!!

Just a quick post to share that I ran SEVEN miles today!!

Plus

Equals

Yay!

It’s funny.. I think regardless of how many races or years I am running for, I will always be proud of myself after a long run, whatever “long” is at the time. I haven’t run seven miles since my half marathon in March, and this morning was HOT. I was also out too late last night, so didn’t wake up at 7am as planned. I did wake up just after 8, but it was almost 9am by the time I got outside and was already almost 80 degrees and so sunny. There was also far less shade on the trail than I remember!!

The first mile was really hard because I think I was pushing myself to go too fast despite the heat. I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it through all seven, but it got easier as time went on because I took all pressure off myself to run fast, and just kept repeating “Slow and steady. Slow and steady.” That mantra helped me make it through all 7 and run the entire time, albeit a bit slower than I’m used to. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Mile 1: 9:49
  • Mile 2: 10:20
  • Mile 3: 10:36
  • Mile 4: 10:37
  • Mile 5: 10:30
  • Mile 6: 10:31
  • Mile 7: 10:21
  • Total: 7.0 miles in 1:12:51 (10:24 pace) – 838 calories burned

Yay!

I’m off to the pool for the day! What are you up to this weekend??

17 Responses

  1. Great job on your run today Beth! I just ran 3 miles and I was SO HOT!!! Yikes. I’m glad you pushed through and finished!

    Have fun at the pool — we’re going to a BBQ at a friend’s house — should be fun!

  2. Great job on the long run, Beth! I ran 7 miles this morning, too 🙂

    We are headed to a BBQ on a lake this afternoon.. should be fun!

    ENjoy the rest of your weekend

  3. Walking 5 miles MiraMar Lake!!

  4. Way to tough out seven miles in the heat! Way to go. Good steady pacing too!

  5. My pace definitely slows down as the temperature climbs too. I ran a race on the 4th with pretty close to 11 minute miles, but it was 90°

  6. Awesome run 🙂 I biked this morning on the George Washington trail which KICKED my ass. I haven’t rode a bike in years.

    Just wondering if you heard about Hot Chocolate 2/15K race in December? (http://www.hotchocolate15k.com/dc). My friend and I just signed up for the race. There’s a chocolate after race party 🙂 You can’t beat that!

  7. Omg, I don’t remember the last time I did a 7-miler… definitely hasn’t been since my half in April! Go you!

  8. YAY for you!! You inspired me to run but should have waited til I lost more weight, I have hurt my back. I am still encouraged by reading your posts though. What is that called that you wear on your wrist and is Forerunner the brand name? Thanks

  9. Running in the heat here in the summer sucks. I’m impressed that you did it. I was whining about how hot it was for an outdoor swim workout.

  10. This is so funny bc I had the exact same kind of run this morning. I did 8.5 mi starting @ 7am, also here in DC, and the past few Saturdays my long run has in volved fast starts but then walking struggling to finish. Today, I just told myself to keep it slow and steady so I could have a more even pace and run the whole distance. And I did! Yay!

  11. Good for you!!! That’s fantastic! I’m also here in DC and you know, if you don’t get out early you’ll definitely feel the heat. Last Saturday I was out at 7AM and there was like zero humidity, 2 hours later it was like we were in Mississippi! It was soooo humid.

    Happy Sunday! Enjoy your weekend!

  12. I just wanted to let you know I used your mantra today! I am currently “learning to run” and doing intervals and some times the thought of running even just five minutes just seems to much. But today I had a good run because of the mantra! Thank you so much for sharing and continuing to motivated me not to give up on this running things. I have just finished week four of the couch to 5K and I look forward to running an actual 5K at the end.

  13. Yay! Congrats on getting out there for your long run. Especially since it was so hot. Ick. I ran my longest run ever yesterday (14.4KM so umm 8.54Mi, I think) and it was awesome. I am slowly adding distance to every run and I hope to run a half marathon one day too. Happy belated birthday btw!

  14. Congrats!!!! I ran today around 1pm and thought I was going to dieeeeee – so hot/humid out!

  15. WOO! We both conquered our 7 milers! Hope you enjoyed the pool day. 🙂

  16. that’s great. You should be proud after a long run. I do the thread mill 5 times a week. Usually between 2 -3.25 miles since November 2010. How long does it take to get to a 5 mile run ? I can’t seem to brake the 3.5 miler!

Leave a Reply

