• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Detox Time

After having an overly indulgent several day stretch both food and alcohol wise last week, my body is craving a break. I use the term detox loosely, because for someone like me who is majorly prone to overdoing it, in no way do I restrict myself while getting back on track. I’ve written about this before, but it’s really important for me to make a conscious effort to forgive myself immediately once I’ve overdone it, so that I can move on rather than keep a destructive cycle going.

For me, step one in “detoxing” is going to the grocery store and stocking up on healthy foods. Having a stocked fridge with lots of options helps me to get back on track, with a special focus on fruits and veggies. On Sunday, despite being pretty worthless after Saturday night for most of the day, I dragged myself to The Teet to do some shopping so I could start the back on track process.

First up, the produce:

  • White Potatoes
  • Eggplant
  • Celery
  • Melon
  • Bananas
  • Vidalia Onions
  • French Green Beans
  • Butter Lettuce
  • Blueberries
  • Cherry Tomatoes

Have you ever seen this kind of melon before?

It’s called a crenshaw melon, and I’d never seen or heard of it so decided to pick one up since it was sharing a bin with the cantaloupes. Though the shape is slightly different, the inside looks very similar.

And the flavor is completely delicious. It tastes vaguely of cantaloupe, but has a slightly sweet and unique flavor that I highly recommend if you’re looking to try a new kind of fruit!

Besides the produce, here’s everything else:

  • Black Olives
  • Eggs
  • Shrimp (3.99/lb!)
  • Sashimi grade tuna (6.99/lb)
  • Nature’s Own Sandwich Thins
  • Blue Cheese Crumbles
  • Cottage Cheese
  • 2% Swiss slices
  • Tofurky
  • 2% Mozzarella Shredded

Side note, this brand of sandwich thins has just 2 pts+, even though most of them have 3 pts+ now, and they are actually quite good.

Even though I felt like I got a lot of pricey stuff, I ended up staying under my budget of $75 per week:

$57.86, with $15.21 in savings just from shopping the sales.

Here’s my meal plan for the week, which I’m actually quite excited about:

Breakfast Lunch Dinner
Monday Greek yogurt, banana, granola Tofurky + Avocado on sandwich thin, veggies Stuffed Eggplant (recipe coming Thursday)
Tuesday Cottage Cheese + strawberries, banana Leftover stuffed eggplant Shrimp + Veggies with peanut sauce
Wednesday Waffle Sandwich w/pb + banana Leftover shrimp + veggies w/peanut sauce Potato crust pizza (!)
Thursday English Muffin w/cottage cheese + fruit White Bean and Tuna salad over greens Buffalo Tofu w/blue cheese crumbles
Friday Smashed banana w/peanut flour on toast + banana Buffalo Tofu over salad with blue cheese + celery Chilled Potato Leek Soup

In case you’re wondering where the tuna went, Wil and I ended up making a delicious nicoise salad on Sunday night with grilled tuna instead of flaked, and that’s where the french green beans and olives went, too!

Also, please note, I never include EVERYTHING I eat. I almost always have dessert plus snacks during the day. Most of these meals will be served with lots of fruits and veggies on the side to help clean out my system. Here’s what I have packed for work-eats today:

Melon w/blueberries, carrots + celery, leftover stuffed eggplant, plain greek yogurt (this brand is great and very cheap too!), cottage cheese w/frozen strawberries, banana. And always just in case, I have snacks in my desk, too.

Besides eating tons of fruits and veggies this week, I also will be refraining from alcohol completely and drinking tons of water and tea to flush out my system. I plan to try to work out 4 times this week, but that’s pretty standard for me, and is completely necessary for my training schedule for the marathon. I also have some big news I’ll be sharing later this week which is another main reason I have to look and feel my best by Saturday morning…

Have you tried any new-to-you fruits or veggies lately?? Did you like it?

18 Responses

  1. Haha, I was totally scouring the meal plan to find out what you did with the tuna!

  2. I recently tried kohlrabi. It was pretty good. It kind of tasted like the stalk part of broccoli. I ended up just slicing it up raw in a salad, but I think it would be really great in a stir fry.

    I also bought some sort of zucchini squash at the Farmer’s Market this week, but I haven’t actually used that yet.

  3. Big news??? No idea what it could be!

    Great job on staying under budget!

  4. I tried beets recently and did not like them at all. However, I love most veggies and fruits so I’m ok with that. I love grilled zucchini.

  5. I tried Musk Melon. I thought it would taste like cantaloupe. I wasn’t a big fan but i did eat it anyway.

  6. I love that your menu always has so much variety!

  7. I use the term “detox” loosely, too. Likey many other things, I think we all have our own definition of it. Mine is similar to yours- fresh food (lots of salad) for the week…

  8. After an indulgent 10 days, my week is going to look a lot like yours!

  9. I love your meal planning. I think I need to do that to cut down on wasting food and knowing what I need to buy each week. But, I know I get cravings and will want to switch it all up.

    Congrats on your big news 🙂

  10. I tried fennel. It was interesting. I’ll probably buy it again.

  11. I love most veggies and fruits other than bananas, corn, and blueberries. I know, I know! Those are the ones that everyone likes. I really like how you’ve structured and planned out your entire week. That’s inspiring. It’s only Tuesday! I still have time. 🙂
    -Sarah
    fitango.com

  12. I tried jackfruit a couple of weeks ago. (they were giving sample pieces at an Asian market) It was good, but not sure if I’d buy it – it’s a bit expensive. OOOH….big news? Can’t wait! Have a great day Beth!

  13. I love your healthy perspective about forgiving yourself right away instead of letting guilt take over you from the inside. So beautiful, girl! All of your purchases look delicious and fresh! and I have never tried that type of melon before – I have yet to purchase one of my faaaavorite fruits of all time: cantaloupe in… years. Simply because I feel like I’ll want to eat the entire thing in one sitting. so I will. Must..resist.. I’ll stick to divine fruit trays with that fella 🙂

    Have a great week!!

  14. I tried lychee berries recently. I was not a fan at all, but my boys liked them.
    I’m going to do a detox next week (one that Tosca Reno blogged about). We’ll see how it goes because I’ve never done a detox before. Oh, I can’t wait to read about your news!

  15. I’ve never seen that type of melon before. I’m not a huge melon person though. The one thing I tried recently that was new to me was garlic scapes. So yummy!

  16. While I personally do not have the discipline to go through a detox, I’ve witness a couple of my coworkers completing a detox with AMAZING results in just 2 weeks!!! Your meal plan looks d’lish…..I’m most fascinated & intrigued by the chilled potato leek soup. Sounds perfect for the summer.

  17. so glad I found your blog! The workeats look amazing inspires me to get goin on my own plan.

  18. Your blog is great. Thanks for the great tips. Can’t wait to try some of the tips.

Leave a Reply

