• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Stuffed Eggplant

I’m glad to see you guys are loving my Larabar giveaway! Because there’s been so much interest, the kind people over at Larabar are allowing me to pick a second place winner who will get a 4-pack of bars on top of the first place winner who will get the variety box! Keep those entries coming up until midnight tomorrow and good luck!

Now I know many people are hesitant to turn on their ovens right about now, but I promise you it’s worth it for this.

Vegetarian Stuffed Eggplant

Recipe yields 2 servings, 5 pts+ each. Printable version here.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant
  • 1/2 large onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 shallot
  • 1/2 cup white beans (or other beans)
  • 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1 oz part-skim mozzarella
  • salt and pepper

To start, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Next, cut your eggplant in half length-wise.

Make diagonal slits through each half of the eggplant, staying about 1/4” (or so) away from the edge like this:

Now, make slits going the other way so they crisscross:

At this point, you want to remove the flesh from the middle of the eggplant halves. You can do this with a spoon:

Or you can pull the pieces out with your fingers. I did a combination of the two:

Don’t fret if you mess up and make a little hole in the eggplant shell like I did:

You can just patch it up with a little piece of eggplant from the middle like so:

No one will ever know.

Take your two eggplant shells and place on a greased baking sheet (or sheet pan if you don’t have a baking sheet like me…)

And bake in your preheated oven for about 15 minutes while you make the filling.

Chop up your veggies:

And also chop up the meat of the eggplant a bit so it looks like this:

To start the filling, heat a pan up over medium heat and then use some nonstick spray before adding in the onion.

After 3-4 minutes, the onion will start to get a little translucent and then you want to add the rest of the veggies – garlic, shallot, and eggplant.

Stir everything around and then cover it and let cook for about 10 minutes. You want all the veggies to be cooked through and the eggplant to start looking a little translucent:

Once it looks like that, add in your beans and some salt and pepper:

Mix to combine and let cook for about 30 seconds until heated through.

By now, your eggplant shells should have cooked for 15 minutes and are ready to be stuffed.

Divide the veggie mixture between the two halves:

Then top each one with half the cheese, 2 tbsp panko crumbs, and a touch of salt and pepper:

Now they are ready to go back in the oven, so place them in there for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. After those ten minutes are up, turn the oven up to 425 and let them cook for another 10 minutes until the top is browned and the stuffed eggplants are cooked through.

And then they are ready to eat!

These are seriously so delicious and filling, that I didn’t even eat anything on the side and I was satisfied for hours. They also hold up amazing as leftovers, and were just as filling for lunch the next day. The panko crumbs gave it a nice crunch, and the cheese got all melty and tied everything together.

Every bite is full of flavor and deliciousness, and the possibilities for flavor combinations with these are endless.

You can try them with different veggies, different protein, different cheeses, different spices, and I’m sure any way you do it they will be amazing, filling, and super healthy.

Enjoy!

Do you ever turn on the oven in the summer or do you tend to mostly do stovetop or no-cook meals?

24 Responses

  1. These look delish! My boyfriend and I both love eggplant and I’m always trying to come up with creative ways to serve it. This definitely hits the spot! It sounds really wimpy, but before I had central AC I ate A LOT of sandwiches and salads, ha. Now that we’re in a spot where turning on the oven won’t heat the apartment for the rest of the night, I’m all about the oven and stove, though we also grill as much as possible in the summer as well. Love this!

  2. Augh, I have been using my stove/oven EVERY day it seems. What is worse, we have no AC in our house, and it is MUGGY outside! I end up feeling like I am in a sweat house by the time I am finished cooking everything. To top it off, I make 2-3 different dinners every night in my house…one for me, one for the Hub and our youngest, and one for my oldest son..he can eat barely anything without having a meltdown about textures, etc. I think I should turn in my hat that says “I will do what everyone wants me to do”, then let them cook for themselves 😉

  3. As long as I have the AC on I have no problem turning on the oven — although I do try to avoid it as much as possible.

    This looks delicious Beth!

  4. I still use my oven all the time in the summers. I’m obsessed with roasted veggies and you can’t do those on the stove!

  5. wow Beth those eggplants look so delicious, I can’t wait to try making them. I always use my oven in the summer months, with central ac, it’s never hot in my kitchen.,

  6. That looks so tasty! I love your recipes…keep them coming 🙂

    I turned on my oven last Saturday night to make your lasagna bundles. My friends really enjoyed them.

  7. This looks awesome!!! I have turned my oven on a few times… although the food was rockin’, I regretted it afterwards… it just gets too hot.

  8. Wow. Where do you get these ideas? I wish I was this creative in the kitchen. Looks delicious!

  9. Looks delicious like always! Can’t wait to try them! Right now in California it hasn’t been too hot and I can usually use the oven whenever I need to without it being unbearable…but when I move back to upstate NY in a few weeks, I have a feeling that will change completely!!

  10. Oh Beth! This recipe looks like a KEEPER!!!! Thanks for sharing!!! (it’s been bookmarked into my “must try” folder! Have a great day.

  11. They look amazing!!! Oh my goodness! I need to make that asap!

  12. I use oven all year long… central air makes it possible! 🙂 Will have to try a version of that, eggplant makes my mouth itchy?!? It’s weird i know, but I might try it with zucchini! Thanks for the recipe, keep them coming!

  13. This maybe a stupid question as I have never had eggplant…. Do you eat the shell?

  14. Air Conditioning has saved the oven-cooked meal over the summer!

  15. I love eggplant! I’m so glad I gave it a second try as an adult. Love this! Looks so filling!

  16. I do use the oven all year round though I prefer not to.

    (and P.S. it completely boggles my mind that not everyone has HVAC. But at the same time, I know not every part of the country has heat like AZ, but STILL! I would die. That is all)

    🙂

  17. Love eggplant and this recipe looks delicious! I’m glad that leftovers are good because I have to make my dinner ahead of time during the work week so I need recipes that taste yummy reheated!

  18. I’m going out to buy eggplant asap…I’ll try it (eggplant and I haven’t had the best bond).

  19. I’ve got several eggplants in the garden that should be ripe soon. I can’t wait to try this. I cook in the oven about once a week during the summer. The rest of the time it’s mostly out door grilling or stovetop.

  20. My mom used to make fried eggplant when I was little and man did I love it. I’m thinking I definitely need to give these a try as they look delicious, and I’m sure much healthier than the fried version my mom used to make!!

  21. My friend, Jill, just introduced me to your blog (I’m on WW but she’s not), thank you for posting the points on this. I cannot WAIT to try this recipe…it looks and sounds AMAZING! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

