• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Highlights + Tackling Trader Joe’s

Monday already? Wahh.

Some major highlights from the weekend include:

First, a 2 hour photo shoot on Saturday morning at 6am. By 9:30am, I had already had 800 shots of me taken, run five miles, and showered, and then I proceeded to sleep for about 5 hours. I’m pretty sure five hours is no longer classified as a nap. Details on what the shoot was for to come later!

Second, a wonderful dinner out at Floriana with friends Saturday night.

Amadi, Anil, Me, Lianne, Parker.

Though I didn’t manage to take any pictures of the actual food, it was an amazing meal. We got bruschetta and calamari to share for starters, and were given bread with this amazing garlicky pesto spread that was almost too good. For the main course, I got a seafood pasta dish which had linguini loaded with mussels, clams, and calamari – so good but SO much food.

3.) After dinner was a fun (late) night out, which resulted in several hours spent lounging by the pool yesterday. At least I have an incredible pool… check it out.

Amazing, no? The best part is, it’s NEVER crowded, even on a day as perfect as yesterday.

After several hours napping by the pool came a fourth highlight…

Trader Joe’s!! I hadn’t been to one in AGES, and since I had left my car in the city on Saturday night, I went on the way home from picking it back up. It worked out well!

My favorite section in Trader Joe’s, by far, is the cheese.

It’s HUGE, and has so many different kinds from shredded, to sliced, to crumbled, to blocks. I also love how they have single serving cheeses!

Mini Brie Bites and Goat Cheese Medallions – both divided into single servings with 2 pts+ each.

I also picked up a new-to-me feta cheese:

Which also has 2 pts+ a serving. I’m excited to try it!

Another exciting find – quart sized greek yogurt!

I’d never seen this size before and was happy to realize that it’s a dollar cheaper than buying two of the pint sized containers. Score!

The last new-to-me find of this trip was these Pocketful of Fiber pita pockets:

They each have 3 pts+ and are a pretty good size – I’m looking forward to experimenting with these in different ways.

I ended up getting a LOT of stuff.

But even with the shampoo/conditioner, it still clocked in at only $72.88, so under my $75 weekly budget. Woohoo!

I didn’t realize how awful this picture was with the light in the middle of it until it was too late, so I apologize!

Non produce-items included:

  • Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Sesame
  • Pita Pockets
  • Whole Wheat Pizza Dough
  • Shredded Mozarella
  • Quart of Nonfat Greek Yogurt
  • Cheese Tortellini
  • Black Bean + Corn Enchilada (Frozen)
  • Cage Free Egg Whites
  • Goat Cheese Medallions
  • Mediterranean Feta
  • Salsa
  • Organic Soy Milk
  • English Muffins
  • Black Beans + Garbanzo Beans
  • Sardines
  • Tempeh (x2)

  • Bananas
  • Organic Fujis
  • Frozen Mixed Veggies
  • Organic Broccoli Slaw
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Shelled Edamame
  • Frozen Pineapple Tidbits
  • Frozen Blueberries
  • Baby Spinach
  • Broccoli Floretts
  • Mango
  • Frozen Strawberries (x2)

All that PLUS shampoo and conditioner for less than $75. And that is why I love Trader Joe’s.

And now, for the winners of the Larabar Giveaway! I used Random.Org to plug in the numbers 1 through 310… and #258 was selected!

Congratulations to Amanda, who said “I would like to see some vegetarian greek inspired recipes!” who gets a variety box of Larabars!

For the runner up, #174 – Tiffany, who said “I always love seeing recipes, as they give me motivation to try something new. I’m also training for my first half marathon in October. So, I nervous about fueling and not being hungry and snacking away my progress. So any tips or tricks you have about that would be fabulous!” She’ll get a four pack of Larabars to sample.

Congratulations you two!!!! Please email me at bethsjourneyblog at gmail dot com so Larabar can send you your loot! And don’t fret if you didn’t win – I’ll do another giveaway soon!

I know not everyone is as crazy about grocery shopping as me, but what is your favorite section of your normal grocery store?

If answering that question makes you cringe, tell me a highlight of your weekend!

32 Responses

  1. I love the organic section of my grocery store. I always seem to find new things to try there!

  2. It’s hard to choose, I LOVE grocery shopping! I could spend a couple of hours in a place like Whole Foods. I just like exploring new/different items. But just exploring gets me into trouble (too many $$, too much food) so I try to stick to my list. 🙂 I guess my favorite section would be the produce section, or like you, cheese.

    I can’t wait to see what you do with the pitas! How many grams of fiber?

  3. I love grocery shopping — my favorite section is the produce section, specifically the bananas because I love picking out the perfect bunch 🙂

    Looks like you had a great weekend — we spent yesterday in the pool too!

  4. My favorite section is def produce! I have to shop after work today and couldn’t decide between TJ’s and WF- after this post I am thinking TJ’s!

  5. I love grocery shopping and my favorite is the produce section most of the time (especially if I am at my favorite Whole Foods). I also go to Trader Joe’s and it’s so helpful that you included the points here as I do Weight Watchers too. I’ll have to give those pitas a try!

  6. My favorite is definitely the produce section. I love poking around in there. Then I always end up getting too much and veggies end up dying in my crisper drawer!

  7. I love grocery shopping, too! I’m not sure what my favorite section is though. I kind of like it all. I spend a loooooong time in the grocery store because I take my time and go up and down every aisle and check the P+ on new things that I see.

  8. My favorite part of my local grocery store would probably be the produce section, mostly because they have the most free samples and I love nibbling on apples and strawberries as I shop (prevents hasty, hungry decisions like HEY I SHOULD BUY A 12 PACK OF SHEET CAKES!)

    But honestly, I truly love my grocery store’s website, if only to ogle all the foods I’ll be eating later!

  9. Beth – you are such an inspiration!!! I love grocery shopping, but I especially love the fruit section, because I love all the colors (ooooh pretty colors!!! ::distracted::) Grocery shopping used to be a horribly scary thing for me because i would come home with $200 worth of junk food. Now I can actually go in there with a little willpower!!!

    Also, congrats on training for the MCM! I’m training for NYC, so I can completely commisserate on the nerves and excitement. (it’s my first). Keep up the awesome work!

  10. I just did some damage at TJ’s this weekend too! I love just about everything in there.

  11. I love grocery shopping. I could spend hours wandering the farmers market or Whole Foods but even on a normal day, when I’m slowly sauntering around my local discount food store, I love taking my time. I love the ‘ethnic’ aisle which features hard to find and specialty items from around the world. It’s so interesting.

  12. I love grocery shopping! It is weird, now that I have lost weight I love food even more! I think it is because I am eating the right food and not feeling guilty anymore! I actually crave the yummy stuff I cook now and not fast food anymore!

    At TJ’s I would have to say that the cheese and spreads/dips/hummus sections are my favorites! I love anything that adds awesome flavor to a dish! At other stores, I am all about the produce sections! Got to love all those 0 point+ fruits and veggies!

    Love your posts! I am totally making the stuffed egg plant when they are ready in my garden! Thanks for all the ideas and inspiration!

  13. I LOVE grocery shopping! Especially at Trader Joe’s 🙂 I don’t think I could pick a favorite aisle though – I can find something to linger over in almost every one 🙂

  14. I’m jealous of your pool!!!!

  15. LOVE TJ’s! I stopped in there yesterday too – so many yummy goodies to be found! I love the cheese aisle as well… TJ’s clearly marks (many of) their cheeses as having rennet or not, makes shopping easier!

  16. I long, lust, and desire a Trader Joe’s! There are none in Florida, with no hopes of getting one anytime soon.

    My favorite aisle/section of the grocery store is probably the bakery because it smells the best! I don’t really get much from there but I do love the smell of fresh bread.

  17. I absolutely love TJ’s. Is that pita whole grain? I didn’t notice it when I was there yesterday. I had my eye on the tempeh but was scared off. Just not sure what I’d do with it. I did get the teriyaki baked tofu though. Have you seen those pre-baked tofu blocks? They also have a savory flavor.

    • I believe the pitas ARE whole grain. I actually had that baked tofu back and forth between my cart and the shelf and then finally left it there. You’ll have to let me know how it is!

  18. What a great haul at Trader Joe’s!!! (I’m in Canada, and we actually make day trips to go over the border to TJ’s!) I LOVE grocery shopping. My husband doesn’t get it…. 🙂 Have a great day Beth!

  19. I went to my first Trader Joe’s this weekend and LOVED it! I was also pleasantly surprised with their prices, many items cheaper than what I get them at my regular grocery store…just wish one was closer!

  20. YEAH! That would be ME! I am emailing you right now from work.
    Thanks so much! I love larabars and your blog. I have tried so many of your recipes. WOO HOO!

  21. ahhhh such a fun weekend! but i have to ask, what is the photo shoot for? sounds SOOOOO exciting! much love girl.

  22. health food aisle with all the things that are a bit unusual!

  23. I looooove Trader Joes! Ive used that Shampoo and Conditioner before too! 🙂

  24. I love to grocery shop. The Scientist and I have a routine and a map we follow every single time we go!

  25. I’ve recently started going to Trader Joe’s, and I like it. I always want to fill my cart up too much, though. There are so many new things to try.

Leave a Reply

