• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

On Maintenance: Part Two

You guys have given some good guesses from the hints I gave yesterday! I will tell you two things. First, I am NOT going to be a Weight Watchers success story, even if technically I am I suppose. The second is, I am going to be in TWO magazines – one in September and one in October!! I promise I’ll reveal all the details on Friday after the second shoot!

On Maintenance

So I wanted to talk about maintenance again since I haven’t really touched on it in a while. My first couple weeks on maintenance were actually really easy for me. I shifted to 35 PointsPlus a day and was enjoying being able to eat more food. Having my weight stay the same for those few weeks just reinforced how I really thought I had it down and everything was going super smoothly. One time I even had to put my greek yogurt on the scale with me so that I wouldn’t be below where I was supposed to be!

Then maintaining got a little harder with the craziness that was June and if I’m being honest, it hasn’t let up since.

I’d always heard things like “Maintenance is its own beast” and “Losing weight is the easy part” and I never really believed it. I thought by now I’d have healthy living down pat and my body would be used to my new weight and new lifestyle. But, I was wrong.

Instead of having my weight stay the same, it’s been in an up-down-up-down cycle for weeks. I’ve basically been going overboard on the weekends because of being away (or at least that’s my excuse) and then my weight goes up so I spend the whole week making up for it to get back into the healthy range by going back to the 29 Pts+ a day. Then the weekend comes around and I do the same thing again.

My goal weight is 164 pounds, so I HAVE to stay below 166 to stay current with Lifetime and since I now work for Weight Watchers. The highest I’ve seen it since hitting Lifetime has been 172, so it’s not that out of control, but it’s just really annoying me that I haven’t yet figured out the balance of just staying the same.

I guess I’m getting to the point where I realize that weight maintenance is never going to be easy for me. I’m realizing that I am always going to have to try hard to keep myself at a healthy weight and probably will have to count Points+ (or calories) forever. I know I’ve touched on this before, but I really did think I would come to a point where it would just click and I wouldn’t have to fight for this every day. But I’m telling you now – I still do.

But let’s end this on a positive note. Last night’s shopping trip ended with some killer outfits, including this one with size 8 jeans (!!) and a pair of blue pumps that I LOVE.

Tell me something good about your week!

36 Responses

  1. Love the outfit, Beth! You look great!

  2. OMG Beth… YOU LOOK HOTTER THAN HOT in that outfit! I swear!!

  3. Beth you look fantastic!

    Something good about my week: I only have 2.5 days of work left — Friday is a short day thankfully!

  4. Ahh you look amazing in that outfit! You are so tiny!!! I think it is awesome that you are recognizing what is going on in your body! It may be difficult.. but you’ve already done SO much to help yourself evolve into a healthy beautiful woman. You are an inspiration and I know you will be a great success!

  5. I love that outfit! Super cute!

  6. You look great!!!

    I appreciate your honesty about maintenance. I have to say, it scares me a little when people say losing weight is easy, maintenance is hard. Because I think losing weight it hard. I need to continue to focus on the task at hand and not get caught up in tomorrow though. Right? 🙂

    Something great about my week: I have Friday off, and am headed out of town with my man to visit my friends who are hosting a birthday weekend for me. I’m blessed with amazing friends, and they really know how to spoil a girl!

  7. LOVE that outfit! You must be so incredibly proud of how awesome you look since you worked so hard!

    Something great about my week? After 5 today I am free til Monday!!

  8. Blue pumps! Love. My friend has a pair of blue suede pumps that are adorable- we call her Elvis when she wears them. 🙂

  9. Beth you look fantastic!!! Thank you for always being honest and sharing how hard it can be, no matter where you are in this journey.

  10. Seeing you in those blue pumps is a good part of my week! 😉 Looking good Beth!

  11. Keep on working hard, Beth, you will find your groove with maintenance. Right now you are trying to find the balance of enjoying life without feeling like a slave to counting points. It’s okay, you are a strong woman and will come out on top. As for the outfit, it’s super HOT:) Love it!

  12. You look so cute in that pic! Love the shoes.

    Maintenance is always hard for me too which is why I’m back up and trying to lose weight. Yet again. I’ve had to accept the fact that I’ll never be able to just eat whatever I want. I’m going to have to constantly focus on healthy choices and staying active.

    You can do it!!

  13. this post came at the PERFECT time for me! I am on ww and had my first gain in 4 months on program this week…It is reassuring to realize that it isn’t unrealistic to gain and that we just need to keep truckin’/trackin’! thanks so much, you are great inspiration!!

  14. THANK YOU for posting this! I’m on my third week of maintenance towards lifetime and have been struggling (up .6 both weeks while eating the 35/day so now I’m down to 33). I think especially as a receptionist-in-training for WW I am becoming even more aware of how hard it is to maintain – especially since you don’t necessarily get the same kind of thrill at the scale.
    And I must agree with everyone else – you look super adorable and fit and happy and healthy in that picture. Such an inspiration (and you know I’ll buy the magazines you’re in, so make sure to let us know when they’re on the shelves!)

  15. Beth, you look GREAT!!

    Hang in there maintenance does get easier. I’m been a lifetimer for over 6 years now and up until the last year or so I’ve always had to track. Now after all these years I know what I can eat and what I can’t also I try to run 4-5 times a week which helps. Also don’t beat yourself up about going overboard on the weekends. I think weekends are the hardest part (espcially in summer). I always alow myself a little more flexability on the weekends because I know during the week I can get back on track. It all seems to work out. I just wanted you to know it will get easier it just like everything else it takes time and you have to figure out what works for you.

  16. Love the outfit! Especially the shoes. I am sucker for shoes!

  17. First, you look great!!

    Second, I think you have to remember that sure, the number on the scale may change a few pounds throughout the week… but does it really mean that you are becoming less healthy? no. you are, for the most part, making good, healthy decisions for your body. so, i don’t think you should stress over a few lb fluctuation each week!

  18. love love love your new outfit. and so excited for you and all your new opportunities! you look fab 🙂

  19. Hottie patottie on the loose! Damn, girl.

  20. You look amazing! You are a skinny-mini in those size 8’s. Those pumps are awesome, too.

    Thanks for being so honest about maintenance and the difficulties of it. I’m worried about how I’ll do with it, since that is something that I’ve NEVER been successful at. Gaining weight- I rule at that, easily gaining 5 or more pounds a month if I don’t watch my calories (or PointsPlus). Losing weight- I’m pretty good at that, too, losing 4 pounds a month when I watch my intake/outtake… but maintaining?! I’ve never EVER done it.

    I’ve been on a yo-yo since age 11, and I think that my maintenance will probably be a constant battle, just like it is for you. So thanks for letting me know that I won’t be alone with that!

  21. Looking good Beth! Also thanks for talking about struggling with maintenance. I put on 10 pounds after reaching my goal weight. I cannot seem to get back to my goal and nothing is working for me. I can’t find a “diet/lifestyle” that I will stick to. I have tried everything… So frustrated. I hope that you can acheive long term success!

  22. Maintenance is “sort of” easy for me because I changed my lifestyle. I didn’t diet to lose the weight and the GOOD habits I formed have stuck with me. Sure there are times when it’s easy to get lazy and slip into the thinking “I’ve kept it off this long, I cant totally splurge…” Once in awhile it’s ok but not all the time!

  23. Maintenance ain’t easy as is sounds…7 year WW Lifetime. This, too, takes a lot of effort.

  24. Beth,
    I love your new outfit- you look GORGEOUS! I WANTED TO ASK- HOW TALL ARE YOU?

    And must say this posts bums me out. In January I started WW weighing in at 201, and now weigh 156.. Weight Watchers has been good to me, but I am STILL not at goal (140).. and I can HONESTLY say.. I was hoping that it would get easier… 😦

  25. Love your outfit!
    Maintenance is really hard! You don’t get all those rewards from losing weight – seeing the scale go down, fitting into smaller sizes, getting compliments from everyone you know – but have to work just as hard.

  26. I’m a big believer in the idea that if it’s worth having, it’s worth fighting for. And this is becoming more and more evident in my life. I see it in my running, my health, my academics and my battle with anxiety and depression. Having to work at something makes achieving it so much more gratifying.

  27. People really don’t appreciate how hard maintenance is – and how easy it is for 5-some lbs to creep on. But, your diligence will pay off, as will the wholesale lifestyle changes you’ve made. You can do it!

  28. Thanks for the maintenance post. I was wondering about it. How easy it was or if you stay the same weight or is always a weight range? I think I will always have to count calories and watch what I eat most days of the week. I look forward to more posts like this one.

  29. I really like your openness about Maintenance. So many times you never hear what happens once you meet your goal – or at least the tough parts. You are truely and inspiration – heck you’ve inspired me to try new foods and rejoin Weight Watchers – so just remember you are strong and you’ll get through this adjustment to maintenance!

    Good thing about my week – I finally made it back to the gym after about a month and ran 2 miles! I also have tried a new recipe this week (my own version of spring rolls) which makes meal time much more fun!

  30. I can so relate! I’ve been back to maintenance for about 6 months. I think it’s the 3rd time, maybe 4th, over the years. It has never been possible for me to “go off” the plan and maintain. I keep my points plus at 29 and eat all the weekly points each week and I maintain. I find it’s enough food and I love living this way. I vow not to have to start over again!

  31. I really appreciate your honesty about maintenance. Thank you.
    Btw, you’re outfit is amazing. So fun!
    A good thing about my week…tomorrow night we get to celebrate a friend’s birthday and enjoy some adult time! Woohoo!

  32. Congrats on the two magazine articles!! (you look amazing in your new outfit! Love the look)
    Maintenance is HARD! I lost just over a hundred pounds back in 2004/2005, and maintained for a couple of years, after some stresses–>binges and some unknown thyroid issues I gained back 20lbs, feeling defeated, I stopped caring till I reached 30lbs under where I started from, almost an 70lb gain! It wasn’t overnight, but it spiralled. I know I have to weigh frequently, or I WILL gain. I am back within 35lbs to my goal as I have been slowly losing again by eating clean and exercising, and know it is a daily struggle, well worth the fight! …a good thing about my week, is… I enjoyed a couple fun evenings with my family watching Harry Potter, and having a game night. For me, it’s the little things 😉

  33. Oh I can’t wait to hear more of the details about your magazine appearance so I can keep an eye out for you. Good thing about this week-I tried spin class for the first time. It was fun!

  34. Don’t be so hard on yourself! It will likely take months or years, not just weeks, to learn proper maintenance. Just like it took time to really understand weight loss. Congrats on your maintenance so far!

  35. Love the outfit especially those kick ass blue heels! I completely feel your pain: I realize that I will always battle my weight too. But hey, it makes us stronger people!

Leave a Reply

