• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Super Sweaty Seven

Happy Saturday! Just popping in to say that somehow I survived a 7.4 mile run this morning in the heat. I knew it was going to be a scorcher, so my friend Vera and I decided to meet up with a running group in my area and that turned out to be an awesome decision. But let’s rewind a bit…

The morning started with a 5am wake-up call… ouch. I actually woke up just before my alarm and started getting myself together pretty quickly. For pre-run fuel, I ate a banana with 2 tbsp of reduced fat chunky peanut butter.

I also drank an entire coconut water that I hadn’t gotten for free after a race a while ago.

The flavor was good, and even though I know a lot of people drink coconut water AFTER runs to rehydrate, I wanted to make sure I was going into the run super hydrated because it was so hot out. Plus, I saw it in the fridge and I wanted it. Smile

For fuel during the run, I brought two options with me:

Watermelon Sports Bean and a Gu. I’ve never tried that flavor of sports beans, but I love most of the other flavors of them, and the vanilla bean is hands down my favorite flavor of GU. It tastes like vanilla frosting to me. Yum!

And then, with a forced smile on my face, I headed out!

It was a little surreal to be in my car before 6am, not gonna lie.

But once I got to the site where we were all going to meet, it was refreshing to see so many other runners!

The group leader first led the runners through some warm up stretches, including running in place, butt kicks, high knees, and this move to stretch out the calves:

Then he walked us through the running route and where the water stops would be in case we got separated from the group.

And then, we were off! Vera and I left with the 10+ minute crowd, and it started out OK. Even at 6am when the run began, it was already 85 degrees, hot, and humid.

Physically I actually felt pretty good for most of the run, but mentally it was extremely challenging. It was just so hot and I was sweating profusely even before we began. I kept telling myself just to focus on the mile at hand, which always helps when I break the run down into segments. I ran for almost the entire time, but then walked up the last hill of the course which was a little evil. Here’s the breakdown:

  • Mile 1: 10:01
  • Mile 2: 10:11
  • Mile 3: 10:22
  • Mile 4: 10:38
  • Mile 5: 10:38 (ate the GU right after this)
  • Mile 6: 10:59
  • Mile 7: 10:48
  • Last .37: 12:03 pace (walking up the hill)

I seriously looked like I had jumped in a pool in my running clothes when we were done. I thought I would feel like I wanted to die when it was over, but I actually felt awesome and stretched a bit with the group afterwards before heading back to my car, where I promptly removed my soaked through shirt and drove home in my sports bra.

So even though waking up at 5am was not ideal, its only 9:30 and I’ve already run 7.37 miles, cleaned my whole apartment, and now blogged! It feels like it should be 3pm…

What are you doing to stay cool in the heat today?

18 Responses

  1. All I can say is wow!!!

  2. Good for you! I got 11 miles in today and ran the last 4 w/o my shirt; it was soaked through! The GU shot really helped at around mile 7.

  3. Nice. Serious dedication doing the long run outside today. Even biking, it was gross.

    Early weekend wakeups are the best, aren’t they? You can be super-productive.

  4. I’m heading down to the Gaslamp in San Diego and laying by the pool at the Marriott…of course after I go for a 5 mile walk!

  5. What do I do to stay cool? Not run. 🙂 Seriously though, I run inside around the track at my local YMCA. I’ve lived in the midwest all my life and I’m used to the heat, but I don’t want to make myself despise running, and that’s what will happen if I force myself to run in these temps. Soon enough though I have to decide if I’m going to do a half at the beginning of September, then I will have to start running outside again (at least for those long runs).

  6. Fantastic! I am so impressed. I could only manage an indoor elliptical sweat today because just walking into the driveway brings on enough sweat.
    AWESOME!

  7. I always feel like I’ve accomplished so much after I get up and run early, too. Because even if I tell myself I’ll come home and go back to sleep, it never happens.

    I break my runs into segments like that also. I can’t do it by miles (until I get my running watch…hopefully soon!), but I have little segments on the trails that I run on. And it does help.

    Way to go on the run!

  8. Nice job, Beth! I’ve found that running groups are incredible for tackling longer runs and keeping me motivated. Good stuff.

    Now two random things:

    1. I noticed you have the Forerunner 305. Do you like it, and would you recommend it? I use Nike+ but have been thinking about making the leap to a GPS watch. I can’t decide between the 305 and the 405.
    2. (very random) Judging by your photos, I think we have the exact same car. Haha. Mine is grey on the outside. 🙂

  9. so inspiring…I didn’t run all week because of the heat. I just can’t breathe in it.

  10. And that is why I LOVE getting up early!!

  11. I did a 9 miler on Friday and was drenched. o also took Gu – I love that stuff. haven’t tried the beans yet.

  12. You amaze and inspire me, every post!

  13. Amazing dedication Beth! I have been sleeping in lately, and wish I would get my butt out of bed earlier so I can get more done in a day. This having the whole summer-off lifestyle from work is doing nothing for my house, or my waistline!

  14. […] Super Sweaty Seven […]

  15. I want to try out a running group hopefully for one of my long runs this upcoming week. the one you went with looks like a great and supportive crew.

    Also – love that feeling of being done with workouts early in the weekend. I like having the whole day open!

  16. Kudos on your dedication! I need to join/find a running group here in DC – I’ve been so nervous to show up to the Pacers and Lululemon fun runs because I’m worried I’ll be so much slower than everyone. This post is giving me the motivation to just summon the courage and SHOW up.

Leave a Reply

